LibGuides: Business Organizations Law Research Guide: Databases

About

The listed law-related databases are also available through the Law Library's Web site. Note that IICLE Online is available to the Loyola Law School community only. Bloomberg Law, LexisNexis, and Westlaw require user IDs and passwords. The other resources are available to any users who have a valid Loyola ID and password.

By placing your cursor over the Databases tab, you will see separate pages where you can access the resources within these databases which are devoted to Business Organizations Law topics.

Subscription Databases (Law)

Bloomberg BNA Subscription Databases
The Law Library currently has subscriptions to the full set of Bloomberg's Bureau of National Affairs (BNA) newsletters, available only to members of the Loyola Chicago Law School community through the Law Library's "A-Z Databases" page. Bloomberg BNA publications include relevant primary law, analysis, and current events, updated in a timely fashion.

Bloomberg Law This link opens in a new window
Bloomberg Law is a full-service legal research service that provides access to U.S. federal and state primary law, Bloomberg BNA commentary and analysis, news, company information, dockets, and more. Current Law School students and faculty are assigned individual passwords which permit full access to the site's content year-round (including during the summer months) and for six months after graduation, with no academic use restrictions.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline contains full-text, scanned images of U.S. law reviews and journals back to their inception. In many cases coverage continues to the current year. Articles can be printed or downloaded as PDF files. Selected journals devoted to the law of business organizations are included in the "Journals" tab.

IICLE Online
A searchable, online version of publications by the Illinois Institute for Continuing Legal Education (IICLE). IICLE publications are practice-oriented and focus on Illinois law. Downloadable handbooks, seminar course materials, and QuickGuides make up the bulk of the collection. Many IICLE publications contain downloadable forms. Available only for Loyola Law School faculty, staff, and students.
LexisNexis
LexisNexis is a comprehensive legal research system consisting of legal and business-related databases, which are all full-text searchable. Primary and secondary materials, including case law, statutes, administrative materials, treatises and more are included.

Practising Law Institute - PLI PLUS This link opens in a new window
PLI PLUS is an ebook platform that provides access to treatises, course handbooks, and answer books on a variety of topics from the Practising Law Institute (PLI), a highly-respected non-profit continuing legal education organization. You can search the collection by keyword, book or chapter title, author, or subject. You can even create a free PLI account (using your LUC email address) to save favorite titles and to highlight and annotate content.
Relevant PLI treatises on Business Organizations Law include Corporate Compliance Answer Book; Directors’ and Officers’ Liability: Current Law, Recent Developments, Emerging Issues; Initial Public Offerings: A Practical Guide to Going Public; Public Company Deskbook: Complying with Federal Governance & Disclosure Requirements; and Soderquist on Corporate Law and Practice.
VitalLaw (Wolters Kluwer/CCH) This link opens in a new window
VitalLaw is the new Wolters Kluwer legal research platform, fully replacing Cheetah as of November 1, 2021. VitalLaw provides easy access to statutes, cases, administrative agency materials, and secondary source materials from the following practice areas: Antitrust, Banking & Consumer Finance, Bankruptcy, Energy & Environment, Government Contracts, Health Care, Intellectual Property, Litigation, Products Liability & Insurance, Securities, Corporate Law, and Transportation. VitalLaw usage is limited to current Loyola Law faculty, students, and staff for academic (i.e. non-commercial) purposes only.
For more information on using VitalLaw, you can refer to the VitalLaw Quick Start Card, available at https://tinyurl.com/vitallawquickstart.

Westlaw
Westlaw is a comprehensive legal research system consisting of legal and business-related databases, which are all full-text searchable. Primary and secondary materials, including case law, statutes, administrative materials, treatises and more are included.

Subject Guide

Joe Mitzenmacher

Email Me

Contact:

Reference & Electronic Services Librarian
Philip H. Corboy Law Center
25 E. Pearson St.
Chicago, IL 60611

312-915-6844