Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
First-year Texts and Supplements
Many of these books are standard course books for first-year legal writing classes, but each has a slightly different focus or approach. These books are listed in alphabetical order.
A Lawyer Writes, 3rd ed. by
Call Number: KF 250 .C683 Law Main Stacks
Publication Date: 2018-07-01
This book puts the reader in the place of a first-year attorney faced with real life assignments. It explains concisely the expectations of lawyers regarding organization of legal analysis and then explicitly shows law students how to meet those expectations. The frequent examples are a great complement to a clear and accessible text.
Legal Method and Writing 6e by
Call Number: KF 250 .C345 Law Main Stacks
Publication Date: 2011-02-02
Used as a text in many first-year legal writing programs, this sophisticated yet accessible book takes a comprehensive and practical approach to teaching writing and analysis skills anchors basic skills to familiar examples -- many drawn from contracts and torts -- and ties them to interesting cases covers different types of legal writing.
Legal Writing by
Call Number: KF 250 .N484 Law Main Stacks
Publication Date: 2011-03-07
this streamlined text, designed for basic legal writing courses, takes a student-friendly approach and provides concise but complete explanations of writing skills.
Legal Writing and Analysis, 5th ed. by
Call Number: KF 250 .E378 Law Permanent Reserve
Publication Date: 2019-03-15
Legal Writing and Analysis is a required textbook for the first-year legal writing program at LUC.
The Legal Writing Companion by
Call Number: KF 250.M865 Law Main Stacks
Publication Date: 2019-08-01
The book is intended as an assigned supplement to a Legal Research and Writing textbook or as a handbook for students working independently to strengthen their legal writing.
Examples and Explanations for Legal Writing by
Call Number: Available online via Wolters Kluwer Online Study Aid Library
Publication Date: 2019-02-15
Part of the popular E and E series, this text is designed to complement legal writing textbooks. Each chapter is divided into four sections: "What You Need to Know," "How to Do It," "Examples and Explanations," and "Checklists"
The Legal Writing Survival Guide by
Call Number: KF 250 .S625
Publication Date: 2012-09-01
The Legal Writing Survival Guide is for any law student or lawyer facing legal writing's most common conundrums, including: the document that is too complicated, the memo that didn't find the “right” answer, the brief that must deal with bad law, and the email that has to deliver bad news. Covering predictive writing, persuasive writing, and correspondence, it offers practical tips, tricks, and tactics.
The Mindful Legal Writer: Mastering Predictive Writing by
Call Number: KF 250 .B76 Law Main Stacks
Publication Date: 2015-01-26
This book offers law students and junior lawyers a step-by-step approach to learning the scientific framework of written predictive legal analysis, while at the same time encouraging them to consider the artistic nature of communicating through the written word. It also proposes that students consider the basics of the concept of mindfulness in the legal writing context a recent movement in legal education to encourage law students to be fully conscious and aware of one s actions and surroundings, and pay attention, on purpose, in the present moment in order to be a better legal counselor to clients.
Preparing for Practice: Legal Analysis and Writing in Law School's First Year by
Call Number: KF 250 .V67 Law Main Stacks
Publication Date: 2014-08-04
This coursebook combines practice-oriented case files with more theoretical background text. The three cases included in the text teach students new skills and give them the chance to practice ones they've already learned. The case files are meant to represent the type of information students will encounter in practice, and are also similar to the File and Library found on the Multi-State Performance Test (MPT).
Professional Writing for Lawyers by
Call Number: KF 250 .J64 Law Main Stacks
Publication Date: 2012-07-01
Professional Writing for Lawyers is a stand-alone legal writing text for first-year law students. Readers learn to approach-writing as a process of thinking, outlining, drafting, revising, and editing to produce a final draft. Examples of common writing assignments, an office memorandum, a client letter, a demand letter, a complaint, a memorandum evaluating responsive pleadings, a motion to dismiss, an oral argument, and an appellate brief, are included to help the reader see and understand this process at work.
The Pre-Writing Handbook for Law Students by
Call Number: KF 250 .G725 Law Main Stacks
Publication Date: 2013-06-27
This book is ntended primarily for use in the first few weeks of the first-semester legal writing course. The Handbook is designed to help students focus on and become competent in the process of legal analysis that precedes their work on a written product. The Handbook is uniquely designed to help students gauge their own progress as they work through the pre-writing process.
Successful Legal Analysis and Writing: The Fundamentals by
Call Number: KF 250 .C53 Law Main Stacks
Publication Date: 2010-03-22
This work is a practical legal analysis and writing handbook. designed for first-year students. The book features fundamental advice, a problem-solving perspective, illustrative examples and templates, and an easy-to-read approach. Each chapter is designed to stand on its own or be supplemented by a professor's own materials.
Writing a Legal Memo by
Call Number: KF 250 .B766 Law Main Stacks
Publication Date: 2008-02-21
Written by a Loyola professor, this book is required reading for the first semester Legal Writing class at LUC.
Writing for the Legal Audience by
Call Number: KF 250 .S35 Law Main Stacks
Publication Date: 2014-01-10
This book guides lawyers, paralegals, and law students through sensible, practical advice for writing to a dozen legal audiences, from supervisors to appellate judges and from clients to opposing counsel. Each chapter focuses on a different audience for legal writing and presents three concrete recommendations for satisfying that audience.
Legal Writing Style by
Call Number: Available Online via West Study Aids subscription
Publication Date: 2018-03-29
Upper-level Texts and Supplements
These books are listed in alphabetical order.
Advanced Legal Writing: Theories and Strategies in Persuasive Writing by
Call Number: KF 250 .S62 Law Main Stacks
Publication Date: 2008-08-11
With a practical focus on persuasive writing strategy, the author identifies and explores three processes of persuasive writing:logos, pathos, and ethos. And, he provides a thorough introduction to the elements of rhetorical style using detailed how-to guides and plenty of examples.
The Complete Legal Writer by
Call Number: KF 250 .C46
Publication Date: 2016-01-06
This title offers everything legal writing students need in a textbook, including citation literacy, research skills, writing process, a wide range of legal documents, and more. Using the Genre Discovery Approach, this book teaches students to guide themselves through the process of writing unfamiliar legal document types and thereby prepares students to write independently in upper-level classes and the workplace.
Effective Lawyering: A Checklist Approach to Legal Writing and Oral Argument by
Call Number: KF 250 .P37 Law Main Stacks
Publication Date: 2012-01-01
This book is written for practitioners and law students who want to be refreshed on the basics of effective lawyering: fundamentals that they most likely learned in the first year of law school, but perhaps have forgotten. The book also assumes that most practitioners (and, for that matter, law students) lack the time to read lengthy discussions of all the subtleties of legal method. it provides the reader with a series of checklists to turn to when undertaking a writing project or preparing for oral argument.
Legal Writing by Design: A Guide to Great Briefs and Memos by
Call Number: KF 250 .R35 Law Main Stacks
Publication Date: 2013-07-23
Through easily understandable hypotheticals, outlines, graphics, exercises, and writing samples, many garnered during the authors' combined forty-plus years of teaching legal writing and appellate advocacy to law students, Legal Writing by Design comprehensively demonstrates how to transform ideas into exceptional writing. It demystifies the writing process by explaining the design of (1) deductive and inductive reasoning, (2) analogical thinking, and (3) relevancy. Once that design is understood, writing becomes easy.
Persuasive Legal Writing by
Call Number: KF250 .S54 Law Main Stacks
Publication Date: 2015-01-20
Persuasive Legal Writing offers complete instruction, exercises, and examples to teach students how to frame and assert arguments. Starting with an introduction to classical rhetorical devices and the psychology of persuasion, the authors explore every aspect of persuasive writing, from structuring sentences and paragraphs to writing style, tone, storytelling, audience analysis, the ethics of argument, and citing authorities.
The Tao of Legal Writing by
Call Number: KF 250 .S85 Law Main Stacks
Publication Date: 2009-08-01
The Tao of Legal Writing is designed for upper-level law students, paralegals, and practitioners. The book's goal is to help teach "the way" of legal writing in the Taoist style: legal writing becomes easier when you work with—rather than resist—what already exists in terms of expectations, structures, and resources. It is an advanced legal writing book, but one that focuses as much on concepts as on mechanics.
Academic Legal Writing by
Call Number: KF 250 .V65 Permanent Reserve, Law Main Stacks
Publication Date: 2016-02-22
Designed to help law students write and publish articles,
this text provides detailed instructions for every aspect
of the law school writing, research, and publication
process. Topics covered include law review articles
and student notes, seminar term papers, how to shift
from research to writing, cite-checking others’ work,
publishing, and publicizing written works.
Older copies of this book are available in the main stacks at the same call number.
Making Law Review: The Expert's Guide to Mastering the Write-On Competition by
Call Number: KF 250.H46 Permanent Reserve
Publication Date: 2008-09-01
This book explains how the law school write-on competition works, and reveals the surprising and innovative techniques students have used to excel in it. The author interviewed dozens of current and former law review members at many of the top law schools to learn their secrets to success in the write-on competition. This book synthesizes those students’ experiences into a comprehensive body of valuable advice on topics such as how to best prepare for the competition, how to effectively allocate your time throughout it, and how to write a winning submission paper.
Scholarly Writing: Ideas, Examples and Execution by
Call Number: KF 250 .C528 Law Main Stacks
Publication Date: 2019-01-01
In addition to a standard first-year legal writing curriculum, most law schools now require upper level students to write a sophisticated legal research paper on a topic of their choice. Students often struggle through the scholarly writing process, from finding a topic to polishing a final paper, and many never fully develop and defend a thesis. Scholarly Writing: Ideas, Examples, and Execution offers a lifeline to students, guiding them through the process of constructing their legal research papers from start to finish.
Scholarly Writing for Law Students by
Call Number: KF 250 .F35 Main Stacks
Publication Date: 2017-03-24
This book fills an important niche in legal-writing literature by teaching law students how to write scholarly papers for seminars, law reviews and law-review competitions. It helps novices and even more experienced scholars to write papers with a minimum of anxiety. Employing a process theory of writing, the text first describes the enterprise of scholarly writing, and then discusses techniques for brainstorming, researching, drafting, and revising for substance and style.