Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
site header image

Researching Chilean Law: Databases

About

The Loyola Law Library and the Loyola Libraries system subscribe to a number of commercial databases that offer coverage of Latin American countries.  These databases are listed below, and at right.  Loyola users will need to submit their user IDs and passwords to gain access to these resources from off campus. 

Newspapers

Newspapers may be extremely helpful when researching Chilean law topics.  Westlaw and LexisNexis both have good coverage of U.S., international, and foreign newspapers.  See also the subscription Access World News and Factiva databases for full-text access to newspapers. 

Major newspapers in Chile are: 

El Mercurio (coverage in LexisNexis, Westlaw, Access World News, Factiva)

La Nación (coverage in Factiva)

El Siglo

La Tercera (coverage in Factiva)

A historical archive of English and Spanish-language newspapers published in Latin America is also available through the World Newspaper Archive. Back issues of El Mercurio are available in the Archive with coverage from 1914-1922.

The Santiago Times and Latin American Herald Tribune

The Santiago Times is an English-language daily that is published on the WWW. There is currently free archival access to very recent articles.

The Latin American Herald Tribune is an English-language daily that is based in Caracas, Venezuela.  Its website lists daily headlines by country and provides free access to an archive of articles.

 

Open-Access Scholarship Initiatives (Latin America)

There are several open-access scholarship initiatives that are based in Latin America.  See:

 

Subscription Databases (Law)

Most of the law-related databases listed below are available through the Law Library's website via the "Databases A-Z" link.  

Subscription Databases (Non-Law)

For a complete list of interdisciplinary databases with coverage of Latin America, see the Loyola Libraries research page for "Latin American Studies."

Subject Guide

Julienne Grant's picture
Julienne Grant
Contact:
Loyola University School of Law Library
Philip H. Corboy Law Center
25 E. Pearson St.
Chicago, IL 60611
312.915.8520

Dissertations & Theses

Often overlooked by academic legal researchers, dissertations and theses contain exhaustive research and extensive bibliographies.  The ProQuest Dissertations & Theses database currently includes citations to over two million dissertations and theses from 1861 forward, and full-text access to over one million of these citations. The database's coverage is global, with numerous law-related papers available to download in PDF format.  Searches may be conducted in various fields, such as title, author, citation and abstract, and degree awarded.
 
For open-access dissertations and theses, see:
 
 
 
 

PowerPoint Presentations

The first PowerPoint accompanied a talk on Chilean legal research given at the American Association of Law Libraries Annual Meeting in Seattle on July 16, 2013.  The speaker was Sergio Stone, Robert Crown Law Library, Stanford University. (Posted with permission.)

The second set of PowerPoint slides was prepared for the LUC Law School course, "Comparative Law Seminar:  Legal Systems in the Americas."