Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
There are numerous free websites that can assist in locating Tanzanian primary law, as well as secondary information on Tanzanian legal topics. These sources are listed below, and at right.
Tanzanian Government Information (English)
SSRN (Social Sciences Research Network)
SSRN is an electronic repository for international social sciences scholarship that includes the Legal Scholarship Network (LSN). Thousands of downloadable abstracts, working papers, and published papers are available without charge. Materials may be dowloaded anonymously or with an individual login/password (free).
HeinOnline's "World Constitutions Illustrated" database contains an English-language version of the 1977 Constitution through the 2005 amendments. The database also contains the text of the 2011 Constitutional Review Act, and an English translation of the 2013 draft Constitution. The text of the 2012 Constitutional Review (Amendment) Act is available via the Tanzanian Parliament website.
Note that these may not be official, or reflect the most current, or consolidated versions of parliamentary Acts. Parliamentary debate transcripts (Hansard) are available only in Swahili.
Acts of Parliament
Source: Website of the Parliament of the United Republic of Tanzania. Keyword search capability.
Source: ECOLEX, a database of environmental laws, administered by several international organizations (FAO, IUCN, and UNEP).
Labor, Social Security, and Related Human Rights Legislation
Source: NATLEX, a database of national legislation maintained by the International Labour Organization (ILO).
Source: Lexadin, a Netherlands-based firm specializing in legal website design and knowledge-based systems, provides links to the Tanzanian Parliament website. Acts are organized by topic.
Tanzania: Numbered Acts (1962-2018)
Source: Tanzanian Legal Information Institute. Acts are organized alphabetically and by year.
Source: Website of the Tanzania Revenue Authority.
Updated Acts of Tanzania
Source: Law Reform Commission of Tanzania. Incorporates amendments and repeals for selected pieces of legislation.
Doing Business: Tanzania
This page provides access to the current "Doing Business" English-language guide for Tanzania, based on annual World Bank surveys. The guide provides detailed information on starting a business, dealing with permits, hiring workers, etc.
Guide to Law Online: Tanzania
The Law Library of Congress provides this collection of links to Tanzanian laws and government information.
Peace Palace Library
Located in The Hague, the Peace Palace Library serves the International Court of Justice and has been collecting international legal materials since 1913. The Library's website provides access to its online catalogue, as well as various research guides.
Southern African Legal Information Institute: Tanzania
The Southern African Legal Information Institute (SAFLII) collects legal materials from southern and eastern Africa for free online access.
Stanford University Libraries: Tanzania
This is an extensive webliography on Tanzania compiled and maintained by the Stanford University Libraries.
Tanzania Development Gateway
This is a WWW portal for Tanzanian business information, sponsored by Development Gateway, a non-profit global organization that promotes development through information technology.
Web-based platform for Tanzanian and African news, which is part of the larger World News Network.
University of Minnesota Human Rights Library
This is an extensive online collection of 60,000+ human rights treaties and other human rights documents. Numerous links are also provided to human rights websites. Additionally, there is a site-specific search engine available, and a section on "Resources for Researching Country Conditions," which includes Tanzania.
World Legal Information Institute (WorldLII): Tanzania
Several non-profit regional legal information initiatives created and now maintain World LII. The site offers legal subject-based links for individual countries.