LibGuides: Researching Turkish Law in English: Databases

About

The Loyola Law Library and the Loyola Libraries system subscribe to a number of commercial databases that offer coverage of Middle Eastern and Asian countries. These databases are listed below, and at right. Loyola users will need to submit their user IDs and passwords to gain access to these resources from off campus.

Newspapers

Newspapers may be extremely helpful when researching Turkish law topics. Westlaw and LexisNexis both have good coverage of U.S., international, and foreign newspapers. See also the subscription Access World News and Factiva databases for full-text access to newspapers. Major English language newspapers in Turkey are:

Daily Sabah

Hurriyet Daily News

See also the U.S.-based TurkishPress.com.

Dissertations & Theses

Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest)

Often overlooked by academic legal researchers, dissertations and theses contain exhaustive research and extensive bibliographies. The ProQuest Dissertations & Theses database currently includes citations to over two million dissertations and theses from 1861 forward, and full-text access to over one million of these citations. The database's coverage is global, with numerous law-related papers available to download in PDF format. Searches may be conducted in various fields, such as title, author, citation and abstract, and degree awarded.

For open-access dissertations and theses, see:

DART-Europe E-theses Portal

Open Access Theses and Dissertations

Portal de Tesis Latinoamericanas

Theses Canada

Subscription Databases (Law)

Most of the law-related databases listed below are available through the Law Library's website via the "Subscription Databases" link.

Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text (Ebsco)
This database offers abstracting of over 200 criminal justice publications, as well as the full texts. Some monographs are also included, and the coverage is international.
Foreign Law Guide: Current Sources of Codes and Basic Legislation in Jurisdictions of the World
This title has been a staple in the area of foreign legal research for more than a decade. Included are brief overviews of the legal systems of over 170 jurisdctions, as well as lists of each jurisdiction's codes, court reports, and other significant legal literature.

Global-Regulation.com This link opens in a new window
Global-Regulation.com is an index that allows you to search (in English) the full text of over 3.5 million statutes and regulations, including over one million translated laws. The site provides links to official, full-text sources, translated into English, from over 100 jurisdictions (including the United States). The internal search engine offers advanced search and analytics capabilities.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline contains scanned images of U.S. and some foreign law reviews and journals back to their inception. Hein's "World Constitutions Illustrated" database also includes a collection of documents, historical texts, and commentary related to Turkey.

Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective: 1908 - 1981
Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective provides citations to articles from over 750 law journals, legal newspapers, and bar association journals, covering the years 1908 through 1981. Full text is not included, but once you have ascertained the citations for articles relevant to your research, you can search for the full text in another database, such as HeinOnline's Law Journal Library, or in print.

Investor-State LawGuide This link opens in a new window
Investor-State LawGuide, a resource for international investment law research, provides access to treaties, arbitration rules, decisions and awards, and other related documents. In addition to full-text search capability, Investor-State LawGuide's research tools include: the Subject Navigator; the Article Citator (which shows how specific legal instruments relevant to international investment law have been interpreted by tribunals); the Jurisprudence Citator (which shows how specific decisions have been treated by subsequent investment treaty tribunals); and Terms & Phrases searching (which enables you to look for the meaning of terms and phrases that have been defined in treaties and rules or by arbitration tribunals). Click on "Login” in the upper-right corner of the welcome screen to access the database.

KluwerArbitration
According to the publisher, KluwerArbitration is the "world's leading online resource for international commercial arbitration research." The source provides access to an extensive collection of primary materials, as well as secondary resources, including the journals Arbitration International and the Journal of International Arbitration.
LexisNexis
For law school subscribers, under the News & Business tab in Lexis.com, choose "Country & Region (excluding U.S)," then "Turkey" to access various news sources.

Max Planck Encyclopedia of Comparative Constitutional Law This link opens in a new window
The Max Planck Encyclopedia of Comparative Constitutional Law provides a high level of analytic coverage of constitutional law topics in a comparative context. The encyclopedia articles, modeled on those in the Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law, address a range of topics, defining and covering the basis and foundations of state formation and constitutional law, as well as analyzing and explaining underlying legal concepts.
Max Planck Encyclopedias of International Law This link opens in a new window
The Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law and The Max Planck Encyclopedia of International Procedural Law are comprehensive analytical resources that feature peer-reviewed articles on every aspect of international law. Contributors to the Encyclopedias include scholars and practitioners from around the world, and articles are edited by a team from the prestigious Max Planck Institute for Comparative Public Law and International Law. Updated quarterly.
A video tutorial on using the Max Planck Encyclopedias of Public International Law is available at https://youtu.be/3JvVyxk32MQ.
TradeLawGuide This link opens in a new window
TradeLawGuide is a comprehensive World Trade Organization law database that allows users to search across PDF files of official awards, decisions, and other WTO documents. TradeLawGuide also ‘notes up’ WTO decisions by tracking how subsequent WTO reports, awards and decisions have considered specific passages in WTO jurisprudence. The database features a citator that collects all jurisprudence under a treaty provision for the WTO system. TradeLawGuide also offers treaty interpretation and other tools. Click on “Subscriber Login” in the upper-right corner of the welcome screen to access the database.

WestlawNext
Go to “International Materials,” then “International News,” then “Middle East," then “Wires,” and then Turkey.

Subscription Databases (Non-Law)

For a more complete list of interdisciplinary databases with coverage of Turkey, see the Loyola Libraries' research page for "Islamic Studies."

ABI/Inform Global
International in scope, ABI/Inform Global is a searchable database of business journals, online business news, and financial newspapers. The database currently covers over 3,000 publications, with more than 2,000 available in full text.
Academic Search Complete
This is a popular interdiscliplinary database that indexes over 8,000 publications--the majority of which are available in full text.
ATLA Religion Index
This is the American Theological Library Association's online database of citations for journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion. Coverage is international, starting from 1949, and with retrospective indexing for some journal issues back to the 19th century.
Bibliography of Asian Studies
According to the database description, the Bibliography of Asian Studies,contains over 700,000 records "on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present." Materials referenced in the database are primarily in Western languages.
Business Source Complete
This is a database of business and financial literature that includes the full texts of more than 2,300 journals. The database also includes company and country profiles.
EconLit
EconLit is a database of journals, books, and working papers in the field of Economics. Coverage is international.
Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective
This H.W. Wilson database indexes articles in the humanities and social sciences for 1907-1984. Coverage is international and includes such titles as The Middle East Journal and Middle Eastern Studies.
Index Islamicus
Updated annually, this is an index of over 100 years of literature on the Middle East and Islam. No full text coverage.
JSTOR
JSTOR is a popular interdisciplinary database with scanned images of academic journals. JSTOR includes over 30 publications that specifically focus on topics related to Asian and Middle East Studies.
Medline
Medline is a large database (1950-forward) with international coverage of medical literature, including Asian and Middle Eastern publications.
MideastWire.com
This is a daily subscription newsletter on current events in the Middle East. The archive may be searched separately.
Passport GMID
Euromonitor International's Global Market Information Database provides comprehensive global business intelligence on industries, countries, and consumers. For specific country information on Turkey, choose one of the categories under "Countries and Consumers," and then a specific area of interest. Then choose "Turkey" under one of the pull down menus for specific countries.
Project MUSE
Project Muse is an interdisciplinary database of over 200 full-text academic journals. The database includes publications that focus on topics related to Asian Studies and Middle East Studies.
Sociological Abstracts
This database with international coverage provides citations to scholarly literature in sociology and related disciplines, including criminology and law.
Women's Studies International
This interdisciplinary database covers major areas within the general topic of Women's Studies, including sociology, history, political science and economics, public policy, international relations, arts and humanities, business, and education. Over 2,000 periodicals are indexed, covering 1972 to present, although no full text is provided.
WorldWide Political Science Abstracts
This database offers citations, abstracts, and indexing of political science literature, and related fields. Coverage is international.