Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Loyola Law Library and the Loyola Libraries system subscribe to a number of commercial databases that offer coverage of international and foreign topics. These databases are listed below, and at right. Loyola users in Rome will need to submit their LUC user IDs and passwords to gain access to these resources.
PowerNotes is a productivity tool that allows you to gather, organize, and track legal research easily and efficiently. With PowerNotes, you can capture excerpts from any online resource, including Lexis and Westlaw, and then save, highlight, or annotate this content. You can also use PowerNotes to build and edit an outline as you research.
Access to PowerNotes is restricted to the Law School community. To get started using PowerNotes, please install the Google Chrome extension or the Firefox extension and then register for an account using your Loyola Law School email and Loyola's promo code, which you can obtain from Joe Mitzenmacher, Reference and Electronic Services Librarian (email@example.com).
Two short videos serve as basic introductions to setting up and using PowerNotes for general research projects and for legal research projects:
World Constitutions Illustrated
Hein's "World Constitutions Illustrated" database includes a collection of documents, historical texts, and commentary related to foreign constitutions, organized by country. The database also includes many current English translations of foreign constitutions. Access for LUC patrons only.
Newspapers may be extremely helpful when researching international and foreign-related legal topics. Westlaw and LexisNexis both have good coverage of U.S., international, and foreign newspapers. See also the subscription Access World News and Factiva databases for full-text access to newspapers.
Dissertations & Theses
Often overlooked by academic legal researchers, dissertations and theses contain exhaustive research and extensive bibliographies. The Proquest Dissertations & Theses database currently includes citations to over two million dissertations and theses from 1861 forward, and full-text access to over one million of these citations. The database's coverage is global, with numerous law-related papers available to download in PDF format. Searches may be conducted in various fields, such as title, author, citation and abstract, and degree awarded.
For open-access dissertations and theses, see:
Subscription Databases (Law)
Most of the law-related databases listed below are available through the Law Library's website via the "A-Z Databases" link.
Bloomberg Law This link opens in a new window
Bloomberg Law is a full-service legal research service that provides access to U.S. federal and state primary law, Bloomberg BNA commentary and analysis, news, company information, dockets, and more. Current Law School students and faculty are assigned individual passwords which permit full access to the site's content year-round (including during the summer months) and for six months after graduation, with no academic use restrictions.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text (Ebsco)
This database offers abstracting of over 200 criminal justice publications, as well as the full texts. Some monographs are also included, and the coverage is international.
Foreign & International Law Resources Database (HeinOnline)
HeinOnline's Foreign & International Law Resources Database (FILRD) contains approximately 675 volumes related to international law. Contents include: yearbooks, periodicals, U.S. law digests (pertaining to international law), international tribunal reports and decisions, and other works related to international law. Some materials date back to the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries.
Foreign Law Guide: Current Sources of Codes and Basic Legislation in Jurisdictions of the World
This title has been a staple in the area of foreign legal research for more than a decade. Included are brief overviews of the legal systems of over 170 jurisdictions, as well as lists of each jurisdiction's codes, court reports, and other significant legal literature.
Global-Regulation.com is an index that allows searching (in English) of the full texts of over one million statutes and regulations, with links to official, full-text sources from over 60 jurisdictions (including the United States). Machine translations of foreign documents are used.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline contains scanned images of U.S. and some foreign law reviews and journals back to their inception. Hein's "World Constitutions Illustrated" database also includes a collection of documents, historical texts, and commentary related to foreign constitutions, organized by country. The database also includes many current English translations of foreign constitutions.
Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective: 1908-1981
This H.W. Wilson database provides citations to articles from over 750 law journals, legal newspapers, and bar association journals, covering the years 1908 through 1981. Full text is not included, but the complete articles may be available via another Loyola database, such as HeinOnline.
Investor-State LawGuide This link opens in a new window
Investor-State LawGuide, a resource for international investment law research, provides access to treaties, arbitration rules, decisions and awards, and other related documents. In addition to full-text search capability, Investor-State LawGuide's research tools include: the Subject Navigator; the Article Citator (which shows how specific legal instruments relevant to international investment law have been interpreted by tribunals); the Jurisprudence Citator (which shows how specific decisions have been treated by subsequent investment treaty tribunals); and Terms & Phrases searching (which enables you to look for the meaning of terms and phrases that have been defined in treaties and rules or by arbitration tribunals). Click on "Login” in the upper-right corner of the welcome screen to access the database.
According to the publisher, KluwerArbitration is the "world's leading online resource for international commercial arbitration research." The source provides access to an extensive collection of primary materials, as well as secondary resources, including the journals Arbitration International and the Journal of International Arbitration.
Max Planck Encyclopedia of Comparative Constitutional Law This link opens in a new window
The Max Planck Encyclopedia of Comparative Constitutional Law provides a high level of analytic coverage of constitutional law topics in a comparative context. The encyclopedia articles, modeled on those in the Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law, address a range of topics, defining and covering the basis and foundations of state formation and constitutional law, as well as analyzing and explaining underlying legal concepts.
Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law
The Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law is one of the most authoritative resources in its field. Contributors to the Encyclopedia include scholars and practitioners from around the world, and articles are edited by a team from the prestigious Max Planck Institute for Comparative Public Law and International Law.
TradeLawGuide This link opens in a new window
TradeLawGuide is a comprehensive World Trade Organization law database that allows users to search across PDF files of official awards, decisions, and other WTO documents. TradeLawGuide also ‘notes up’ WTO decisions by tracking how subsequent WTO reports, awards and decisions have considered specific passages in WTO jurisprudence. The database features a citator that collects all jurisprudence under a treaty provision for the WTO system. TradeLawGuide also offers treaty interpretation and other tools. Click on “Subscriber Login” in the upper-right corner of the welcome screen to access the database.
For law school subscribers, in Westlaw, choose the "International Materials" link.
Subscription Databases (Non-Law)
For a complete list of interdisciplinary databases by topic, see the LUC Libraries page.
International in scope, ABI/Inform is a searchable database of business journals, online business news, and financial newspapers. The database covers over 3,000 publications, with more than 2,000 available in full text.
Academic Search Complete
This is a popular interdiscliplinary database that indexes over 8,000 publications--the majority of which are available in full text.
Business Source Complete
This is a database of business and financial literature that includes the full texts of more than 2,300 journals. The database also includes company and country profiles.
EconLit is a database of journals, books, and working papers in the field of Economics. Coverage is international.
Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective
This H.W. Wilson database indexes articles in the humanities and social sciences for 1907-1984. Coverage is international.
JSTOR is a popular interdisciplinary database with scanned images of academic journals. Coverage is international.
Medline is a large database (1950-forward) with international coverage of medical literature.
Euromonitor International's Global Market Information Database provides comprehensive global business intelligence on industries, countries, and consumers. For specific country information, choose one of the categories under "Countries and Consumers," and then a specific area of interest. Then select a specific country under one of the pull down menus for specific countries.
Euromonitor International's Global Market Information Database provides global business intelligence on industries, countries, and consumers.
Project Muse is an interdisciplinary database of over 200 full-text academic journals. Coverage is international.
This database with international coverage provides citations to scholarly literature in sociology and related disciplines, including criminology and law.
Women's Studies International
This interdisciplinary database covers major areas within the general topic of Women's Studies, including sociology, history, political science and economics, public policy, international relations, arts and humanities, business, and education. Over 2,000 periodicals are indexed, covering 1972 to present, although no full text is provided.
WorldWide Political Science Abstracts
This database offers citations, abstracts, and indexing of political science literature, and related fields. Coverage is international.