LibGuides: PROLAW Program Research Guide: Legal Periodicals

Access to Legal Scholarship Online and in Print

Most major U.S. journals specifically devoted to legal scholarship are available via the Law Library's subscription to HeinOnline, or as otherwise indicated. To access HeinOnline from off campus you must have a valid Loyola user ID and password. There are a number of free portals to law journal content as well; one is noted below in the "Free Electronic Journals Source" section.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a search mechanism to locate scholarly literature across multiple disciplines, including law. Search results on campus will indicate whether the source is available full text through a Loyola database. Off campus, users may go to the "Settings" link and then "Library Links" to set up results that show links to LUC full-text databases.

Hague Journal on the Rule of Law

The Hague Journal on the Rule of Law, distributed by Springer, began publication in 2009. Full text of the Journal (2009-one year ago) is available through the LUC Libraries' subscription to Academic Search Complete.

Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals

The Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (IFLP) indexes foreign (including some non-English language) law reviews and journals. The Index is available online through HeinOnline. Includes links to full-text articles, if available in HeinOnline.

Law Journal Subscription Databases

HeinOnline is the Law Library's premier resource for accessing published legal scholarship. A key benefit is the ability to download, print, and e-mail the archived articles in PDF format.

HeinOnline Law Journal Library
Contains more than 1,200 law and law-related periodicals. Coverage is from the first issue published for all periodicals and goes through the most-currently published issues allowed, based on contracts with publishers. Therefore, in some cases the current issues are available, but generally a user will notice a one-volume delay. Searching can be done by title or author name, as well as full-text searching of the collection or select periodicals. Date ranges may also be entered.
more...less...
HeinOnline includes many other databases that may be valuable for "Rule of Law" research.

Law Journal Databases and Indexes

These indexes and databases provide author, subject, and title access to the vast array of published and online legal scholarship.

Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective:1908-1981
This H.W. Wilson database provides citations to articles from over 750 law journals, legal newspapers, and bar association journals, covering the years 1908 through 1981. Full text is not included, but the complete articles may be available via another Loyola database, such as HeinOnline
Journals and Law Reviews
Westlaw contains articles and documents from law reviews and CLE materials from the U.S. and Canadian-based publications. Coverage varies by publication.
more...less...
Access to this electronic resource is limited to users with Westlaw IDs and passwords.

Kluwer Law International Journal Library - HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline's Kluwer Law International Journal Library provides full-text access to 23 Kluwer Law International Journals, including: Air and Space Law, Arbitration International, World Trade and Arbitration Materials, International Journal of Comparative Labour Law & Industrial Relations, European Public Law, European Review of Private Law, and Legal Issues of Economic Integration. Documents can be viewed as high quality scanned images of the original print pages, and can be printed or downloaded and saved as PDF files.

Legal Resource Index
Legal Resource Index (TM), available in LexisNexis, is an online service product that is produced monthly by Information Access Company (IAC). IAC selects materials from over 700 legal resources to provide an index of substantive articles and reviews related to the legal profession.
more...less...
Access to this electronic resource is limited to users with Lexis IDs and passwords.
Legal Resource Index (Electronic Companion to Current Law Index) (LRI)
The Westlaw LRI database contains documents from the Legal Resource Index, which contains cover-to-cover indices to articles that have appeared in over 850 journals from the United States, Canada, Great Britain, New Zealand and Australia. The print version of this publication is the Current Law Index.
more...less...
Access to this electronic resource is limited to users with Westlaw IDs and passwords.
US & Canadian Law Reviews, Combined
LexisNexis contains the full text of law reviews published in the U.S. and Canada, which are dedicated to the scholarly review of a variety of legal topics and developments.
more...less...
Access to this electronic resource is limited to users with Lexis IDs and passwords.

Free Electronic Journals Source

ABA Full-Text Online Law Review/Journal Search
"This free search engine searches the free full-text of over 300 online law reviews and law journals, as well as document repositories hosting academic papers and related publications such as Congressional Research Service reports. Several of the law reviews and legal journals (such as the Stanford Technology Law Review), working papers, and reports are available online only."

While not as comprehensive as HeinOnline, this resource provides links to free versions of published legal scholarship.

SSRN (Social Sciences Research Network)

SSRN is an electronic repository for international social sciences scholarship that includes the Legal Scholarship Network (LSN). Thousands of downloadable abstracts, working papers, and published papers are available without charge. Set up a free account in order to access all content.

Legal Research Journals

These journals provide in-depth scholarly treatment of specific legal research issues and trends and topics in legal research and librarianship. Law Library Journal is available via HeinOnline, and Legal Reference Services Quarterly is available through the LUC Libraries subscription databases.

Law Library Journal
Legal Reference Services Quarterly
Annotated subject bibliographies, overviews of legal literature, reviews of commonly used tools, and the inclusion of reference problems unique to corporate law libraries, judicial libraries, and academic collections will keep you up-to-date on the continuously expanding volume of legal materials and their use in legal research. A print copy is also available on the 4th floor of the Law Library at Call No.K 12 .E351.