Skip to main content
site header image

The Rule of Law: A Research Guide for Loyola's PROLAW Program: Books

About

Please note that the Rome campus library is currently closed. 

To find an item in Loyola's electronic book collection, please use the online catalog. Some suggested Library of Congress Subject Headings for titles on the topic of the Rule of Law are: 

 Rule of Law

 Law and Globalization

Electronic Study Aid Books

There are a number of series of study aids that are extremely popular with law students.

West publishes a series of books called "Nutshells." Each book in the series summarizes a specific area of law. The complete series is available to LUC law students via the "West Academic Study Aids" subscription. There is an introductory video available for the database. 

Another series popular with law students is Wolters Kluwer's "Examples & Explanations." Each book summarizes a specific area of law and provides useful hypos. The Law Library has an electronic subscription to the ""E & E" series via the "Wolters Kluwer Online Study Aid Library."

 

UN iLibrary

The UN iLibrary provides access to a variety of book-length materials in digital format. According to the site description, "it provides librarians, information specialists, scholars, students, policy makers, influencers and the general public with a single digital destination for seamlessly accessing publications, journals, data, and series published by the United Nations Secretariat, and its funds and programs." Reading is free, but downloading requires a subscription. Searchable by theme and country, 

Interactive Tutorial for Searching the LUC Libraries Online Catalog

The LUC Libraries catalog is your portal to the libraries' collection of books (physical and eBooks), journal articles, newspaper and magazine articles, streaming videos, databases, and more.

In this tutorial, you will learn:

  • How to search the catalog for sources
  • How to refine your searches
  • How to tell if sources are peer-reviewed
  • How to access the full-text of sources
  • How to save and cite the sources you find to access them later

Electronic Books

The following books are available as electronic books. You will need your LUC login/password to access them. 

Subject Guide

Julienne Grant's picture
Julienne Grant
Contact:
Loyola University School of Law Library
Philip H. Corboy Law Center
25 E. Pearson St.
Chicago, IL 60611
312.915.8520

The Bluebook

The Bluebook is a style manual that contains the national citation rules most often used by U.S. law students, faculty, and federal courts. Originally published in 1926, the current edition is the 21st, which is updated periodically to reflect new types of citations. The popularity of The Bluebook among law students and legal professionals has resulted in the term Bluebooking. Bluebooking is the process of editing legal texts to ensure that assertions are supported by citations that conform to the rules in The Bluebook.

Students may purchase individual subscriptions

WWW Book Repositories

There are several Web-based initiatives that serve as online repositories for books:

HathiTrust:  HathiTrust is a partnership of over 50 major research institutions and libraries. Works that are in the public domain contained in the HathiTrust database are available to all researchers. Many search options are offered, including full-text.

Google Books:  Books contained in Google Books come from two sources:  1)  The Library Project and 2)  The Partner Program.  Books included from the partnered Library Project that are no longer in copyright may be viewed in full text, while only snippets of books still in copyright are available.  Only previews of books are available through the Partner Program.

Google Book Search