Skip to main content
site header image

The Rule of Law: A Research Guide for Loyola's PROLAW Program: FAQs and Demos

RefWorks

RefWorks is a Web-based bibliographic management tool, which is accessible via the LUC Libraries' databases list. RefWorks allows the importation of citations from online indexes and databases. It also allows researchers to organize and manage these citations within folders, automatically format them within papers, and create instant bibliographies in a variety of styles. 

For introductory videos on RefWorks, see:

Accessing RefWorks: This RefWorks training session covers how to access RefWorks, including creating a new account, and accessing it through single sign-on at your institution.

Introduction to RefWorks: In this brief introduction to RefWorks, you'll learn how to find and save references while doing your research, how to organize references once they're in RefWorks, and how to cite those references in your writing.

There is also a comprehensive User Guide available for RefWorks. 

FOR QUESTIONS ABOUT REWORKS, please contact the Cudahy Library's reference desk: cud-ref@luc.edu. 

 

Registering at CALI.org

CALI, the Center for Computer-Assisted Legal Instruction, is a non-profit consortium of U.S. law schools that offers nearly 1,000 online lessons on legal topics. The lessons are generally authored by law school faculty and law librarians. LUC Law School faculty and students may access CALI lessons with a password available from Joe Mitzenmacher, jmitze1@luc.edu. There are also free downloadable eBooks available through CALI's eLangdell® Press.

List of CALI lessons

Interactive Tutorial for Searching the LUC Libraries Online Catalog

The LUC Libraries catalog is your portal to the libraries' collection of books (physical and e-books), journal articles, newspaper and magazine articles, streaming videos, databases, and more.

In this tutorial, you will learn:

  • How to search the catalog for sources
  • How to refine your searches
  • How to tell if sources are peer-reviewed
  • How to access the full-text of sources
  • How to save and cite the sources you find to access them later

FAQs

FAQs Contact
Who should I contact about Westlaw, Lexis, Bloomberg Law, and CALI passwords?

Karen Shaw, kshaw1@luc.edu (except CALI)

Joe Mitzenmacher, jmitze1@luc.edu

Who should I contact for instruction and questions about RefWorks?

Cudahy Library Reference Desk, 

cud-ref@luc.edu

Who should I contact with questions about PowerNotes?

Joe Mitzenmacher, jmitze1@luc.edu (technical issues)

Julienne Grant, jgrant6@luc.edu (instruction)

Who should I contact if I need help with my research for a PROLAW-related class or the capstone project? 

Law Library Reference Desk, loyolalawreference@luc.edu

(please allow 24 hours for a response)

Who should I contact if I need to get an article or book chapter from another library?

https://illiad.luc.edu/illiad/IAL/logon.html

Who should I contact if I am experiencing difficulty accessing any of the Law Library 's online subscription databases?  Joe Mitzenmacher, jmitze1@luc.edu
Who should I contact if I am experiencing difficulty accessing any of the Cudahy Library's online subscription databases? 

Cudahy Library Reference Desk, 

cud-ref@luc.edu

Who should I contact with questions about using The Bluebook

Karen Shaw, kshaw1@luc.edu

Who should I contact for questions related to electronic books? 

Cudahy Library Reference Desk, 

cud-ref@luc.edu

 

Study Aids

There are a number of series of study aids that are extremely popular with law students.

West publishes a series of books called "Nutshells." Each book in the series summarizes a specific area of law. The complete series is available to LUC law students via the "West Academic Study Aids" subscription. There is an introductory video available for the database. 

Another series popular with law students is Wolters Kluwer's "Examples & Explanations." Each book summarizes a specific area of law and provides useful hypos. The Law Library has an electronic subscription to the ""E & E" series via the "Wolters Kluwer Online Study Aid Library."

 

Subject Guide

Julienne Grant's picture
Julienne Grant
Contact:
Loyola University School of Law Library
Philip H. Corboy Law Center
25 E. Pearson St.
Chicago, IL 60611
312.915.8520

PowerNotes

undefined

PowerNotes is a productivity tool that allows you to gather, organize, and track legal research easily and efficiently. With PowerNotes, you can capture excerpts from any online resource, including Lexis and Westlaw, and then save, highlight, or annotate this content. You can also use PowerNotes to build and edit an outline as you research.

Access to PowerNotes is restricted to the Law School community. To get started using PowerNotes, please install the Google Chrome extension or the Firefox extension and then register for an account using your Loyola Law School email and Loyola's promo code, which you can obtain from Joe Mitzenmacher, Reference and Electronic Services Librarian (jmitze1@luc.edu).

Two short videos serve as basic introductions to setting up and using PowerNotes for general research projects and for legal research projects: