Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Access to Subscription-Based Electronic Resources
Library Catalog Search Box
Subscription Databases (Law)
Bloomberg BNA Subscription Databases
Bloomberg BNA publications include relevant primary law, analysis, and current events, updated in a timely fashion. Current Loyola University Chicago School of Law students have access to all of Bloomberg BNA's online titles and can sign up to receive e-mail updates to any Bloomberg BNA publication the Library subscribes to (Loyola e-mail address required). You can see a list of available Bloomberg BNA titles on the Law Library's A-Z Databases page (http://lawlibguides.luc.edu/az.php) by selecting Bloomberg BNA from the "All Vendors/Providers" pull-down menu.
Bloomberg Law is a full-service legal research service that provides access to U.S. federal and state primary law, Bloomberg BNA commentary and analysis, news, company information, dockets, and more. Current Law School students and faculty are assigned individual passwords which permit full access to the site's content year-round (including during the summer months) and for six months after graduation, with no academic use restrictions.
CALI (Computer Assisted Legal Instruction) is a collection of interactive lessons authored by law professors and librarians. Over 1,000 lessons, covering more than 40 different legal subject areas, are included. To use CALI, you must obtain our Law School's "authorization code" from Joe Mitzenmacher, Reference and Electronic Services Librarian (email@example.com or x5-6844). Follow the "Not a registered user yet?" link on the CALI website, and use our authorization code to register for your own CALI username and password.
Cheetah (Wolters Kluwer/CCH)
Cheetah is the new Wolters Kluwer legal research platform, fully replacing IntelliConnect as of January 1, 2019. Cheetah provides easy access to statutes, cases, administrative agency materials, and secondary source materials from the following practice areas: Antitrust, Banking & Consumer Finance, Government Contracts, Health Care, Intellectual Property, Products Liability & Insurance, Securities, and Corporate Law. For more information on using Cheetah, you can refer to the Cheetah Quick Start Card, available at https://lrus.wolterskluwer.com/media/wk/lnb/pdf/training/cheetah/cheetah-quick-start-card.pdf.
Cheetah usage is limited to current Loyola Law faculty, students, and staff for academic (i.e. non-commercial) purposes only.
HeinOnline is a valuable collection of searchable full-text PDF documents, including law journals, primary source materials, treaties, legal classics, and other legal materials.
IICLE Online Library
A searchable online library of publications by the Illinois Institute for Continuing Legal Education (IICLE). Downloadable handbooks, seminar course materials, and QuickGuides make up the bulk of the collection. Many of these publications also contain downloadable forms. IICLE publications are practice-oriented and focus on Illinois law, although federal coverage is included where relevant. IICLE Online Library is only available to members of the Loyola Chicago Law School community.
LexisNexis is a comprehensive legal research system consisting of innumerable legal and business-related databases, which are fully searchable. Primary and secondary materials, including case law, statutes, administrative materials, treatises and more are included. Consult the online directory for a complete list of holdings. Current Law School students and faculty are assigned individual passwords for legal research for educational purposes only.
West Academic Study Aids
The Law Library is now providing Loyola Law students with expanded access to West's Academic Study Aids Subscription. This service provides online access to hundreds of West publications, including all current Hornbooks, Concise Hornbooks, Nutshells, Black Letter Outlines, Flash Cards, Gilbert Law Summaries, and much more. By creating a free West Academic account, you can even highlight text or take notes online. You can search for individual titles in the collection by keyword, or browse by subject, material type, or series.
Westlaw is a comprehensive legal research system consisting of innumerable legal and business-related databases, which are fully searchable. Primary and secondary materials, including case law, statutes, administrative materials, treatises and more are included. Consult the online directory for a complete list of holdings. Current Law School students and faculty are assigned individual passwords for legal research for educational purposes only.
Wolters Kluwer Online Study Aid Library
The Wolters Kluwer Online Study Aid Library provides online access to hundreds of Wolters Kluwer publications, including the popular Examples & Explanations series, Emanuel Law Outlines, and Casenote Legal Briefs. You can personalize your experience with your LUC email account to highlight text, take notes, add bookmarks, and save your favorite titles for easy retrieval, as well as download titles and read them while offline. You can search for individual titles in the WK Online Study Aid Library by keyword, or browse by subject or series.
A brief “how-to” video tutorial is available at https://youtu.be/fenbWHdzbyY.
WorldCat, a database within the OCLC FirstSearch collection of research databases, is a catalog of library holdings in libraries around the world. It contains millions of records and is an excellent source for identifying books, articles and other materials that you would like to request through interlibrary loan.