Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Law Library's Subject-Specific Research Guides
The Law Library's Web site contains a variety of information that may be useful for your research. Of particular note is our collection of Research Guides prepared by the Reference Librarians. The collection includes helpful guides to starting research on topics such as intellectual property law, business law, and more.
Helpful Free Online Legal Research Resources
Legal research and law-related websites are prevalent on the Internet, but not all contain reliable and high-quality information. Our reference librarians suggest the following federal and state government websites, university websites, and organizational websites as good sources for free, online legal research.
Loyola University Chicago Law Library
The Law Library's home page includes links to all of our subscription-based resources.
Loyola University Chicago Law Library - Research Guides
Subject guides to print and online resources available to Law Library users.
Loyola University Libraries
Access to the Main Campus Library's database list, electronic journals search box, subject guides, and more.
Loyola's online catalog, which includes holdings of both print and online resources.
Illinois General Assembly
Illinois legislation, legislative history, and administrative law.
The legislative information Web site of the Library of Congress (replacing the Thomas Web site) provides access to Congressional bills, Public Laws, and legislative history documents.
The U.S. Government's official Web portal includes an A-Z listing of administrative agencies.
This Web site from the U.S. Government Publishing Office (GPO) includes links to official government publications such as the CFR, Federal Register, and the U.S. Code.
United States Courts
Provides links to the Web sites of all federal courts, including the U.S. Supreme Court.
Circuit Court of Cook County
General information, court calendars, and circuit court rules.
Cook County Clerk of the Circuit Court
Includes downloadable PDF court forms.
Illinois Secretary of State - Cyberdrive
Portal to Secretary of State services and forms (including corporate forms) and the Illinois Register (chronological Illinois administrative law publication).
Illinois State Agencies
A list of links to every Illinois administrative agency, including the Web pages of the State's Constitutional offices.
Cornell University's Legal Information Institute
Links to federal and state legal information, including the U.S. Code, as well as Wex, the collaboratively-created online legal encyclopedia/dictionary.
Links to various state and federal legal information resources and legal forms.
Law Library Resource Exchange
Articles on legal technology topics.
Electronic Information System for International Law
A Web site from the American Society of International Law which provides "primary materials, authoritative web sites and helpful research guides to international law on the Internet."