Alternative Dispute Resolution: Negotiation and Settlement

This book presents a strategic planning and integrated systematic approach to negotiation. The book provides attorneys with an outline to plan and implement effective negotiating techniques based on the four stages of negotiation: icebreaking and setting the agenda, information bargaining, exchange, and crisis and outcome.

This publication contains detailed information on structured settlements, evaluation of the case, releases, psychological impediments to settlement negotiations, use of settlement brochures, actions for bad faith-wrongful refusal to settle, and ethical considerations.

This text is divided into five parts: the six steps of planning a negotiation, strategies and tactics (including an extended glossary of tactics), common legal issues, the lawyer's role in negotiations, and roundtable discussion of several different types of negotiations.

The authors unravel the myriad pieces of complex negotiations to help the reader recognize the key parts and best methods for overcoming difficult negotiations to achieve the best results. The authors have split the book into two distinct parts with chapters further broken down into distinct elements. It is designed to allow the reader to easily identify specific negotiation issues to help them in dealing with problems they might encounter in their own negotiations.

e-Book is available through University Libraries subscription to Ebook Central Academic Complete Collection.

This coursebook combines the theoretical with the practical. In addition to articles and other discussions of negotiation theory, the book includes problems that enable students to develop and refine their negotiating skills. The book begins with general negotiation theory, progresses to simulations that allow students to hone their negotiation skills, and then offers readers the opportunity to study and practice negotiations in various contexts (e.g., family law, commercial law, and criminal law).

Based on the work of the Harvard Negotiation Project, this book offers readers a straightforward, universally applicable method for reaching satisfying agreements - at home, in business, and with people in any situation.

Book is on Permanent Reserve in the Law Library.

This study aid follows the entire process from opening negotiations to settlement. It first introduces negotiation in law practice and representing a client in legal negotiation. It also covers the basic types of legal negotiations, case evaluation, and preparation, and addresses the types of legal disputes that should not be negotiated.

All of us, including the most elevated, sometimes make unwise decisions related to conflict and difficult situations. Such choices can lead to missed opportunities, suboptimal agreements, and impaired relationships, and even to the fear, hatred, anxiety, polarization, and violence that infuse and infect much of today's world. In this book, Leonard Riskin—law professor, mediator, and mindfulness teacher—helps us understand how and why this happens and what we can do about it, through a new framework that integrates negotiation, mindfulness, and internal family systems. Drawing on decades of practice, research, and teaching, this book extends Riskin's influential writings and brings new insights to accepted ideas about negotiation. It could help anyone deal better with others, or with themselves.

Found in the Practical Skills Collection (3rd floor).

This guide teaches: the difference between hearing and actual listening, how to improve your listening skills, how to become a better fact-finder, how silence can be an effective negotiating tool, and how to divest yourself of the saboteur of "egotude" and become a more effective negotiator.

Found in the Practical Skills Collection (3rd floor).

This basic text offers law students the tools they need to develop effective legal negotiating skills. It provides a valuable resource for understanding the dynamics, strategies, and ethics of negotiating.

Negotiation and Lawyers takes the latest scholarly thinking in negotiation and applies it to the various tasks that negotiators do in a way that negotiation practitioners will appreciate. Written in 2020, the book is responsive to the increased role technology plays in the negotiation process due to the recent pandemic and provides important insights into the impact of racial inequity and implicit bias in negotiation.

Written by attorneys with extensive litigation experience and a federal trial judge with experience as a settlement facilitator, this book comprehensively considers all aspects of negotiation and settlement from a practical perspective. The authors provide a thorough treatment of the law and mechanics of settlement, including discussions about insurance, tax, and other considerations that impact a settlement.

Featuring more than 80 contributors, this book pulls together the relevant ideas on negotiation from law, psychology, business, economics, cultural studies and a dozen other fields to provide a context for successful negotiation.

Drafting strong, enforceable settlement agreements is one of the most critical and challenging areas of corporate and commercial law practice today. Settlement Agreements in Commercial Disputes provides a single, comprehensive guide to the complex legal issues involved in negotiating, drafting and enforcing settlement agreements.

"[This book] is a guide to competitive negotiation and a resource improving negotiation skill and strategy ... The negotiation process is broken down into distinct chapters in order to allow the reader to consume the book cover to cover or to pick out the pieces that they need for immediate access. Each chapter also has self-assessment quizzes to highlight the core concepts of each chapter.