Bloomberg Tax Practice Center - includes analysis, news, primary sources, and practice tools covering federal, international, and state tax issues and financial accounting.
Federal Taxation - a compiliation of RIA's materials on tax law from Westlaw.
Standard Federal Tax Reporter - from Hein Online. Archival access (1917 to 1985) to Wolters Kluwer's Standard Federal Tax Reporter. This is a comprehensive collection of federal income tax information, including full text of all proposed, temporary and final federal income tax law regulations, as well as full text of federal administrative rulings and documents.
Tax Foundation Archive Publications - from Hein Online. The Tax Foundation collects data and publishes research studies on tax policies at the federal and state levels. This collection provides access to the complete archive of the Tax Foundation's publications from 1937 to the present in fields such as taxation, fiscal policy, and finance.
TaxNotes.com - A collection of publications by Tax Analysts, a nonprofit tax publisher that provides daily news, analysis, and commentary on tax law and policy, court opinions, legislative action, and administrative regulations and rulings. To access the site's contents, you will need to create an account on your first visit to the site. You must be within the Law Library's IP range for this initial sign up. After you have created your account you will be able to access the site from anywhere.
VitalLaw - Formerly known as Cheetah or Intellicollect. Includes the Standard Federal Tax Reporter. Includes primary and secondary sources, expert analysis, and practice tools. Access through the Law Library Databases link.
Welcome to Loyola University Chicago School of Law Library's Research Guide to researching federal tax. This Guide is designed to assist you in locating print and online resources useful in researching federal tax law.
The listed electronic resources include those available on Westlaw, LexisNexis, Bloomberg Law, and other subscription databases for which access is provided by the Law Library, as well as freely available sources. The listed print resources include books, journals and other materials available from the Law Library.
If you need further assistance, please contact one of the reference librarians at loyolalawreference@luc.edu.
It's important to stay up-to-date on issues relating to tax law, since it changes rapidly. Here are some of the resources you can use, ranging from subscription databases to blogs. You will need a password to access some of these resources.
Bloomberg
Daily Tax Report - Published each business day, with coverage of legislative, regulatory, and legal federal tax developments.
IRS Practice Adviser Report - Offers report on IRS procedural developments, IRS positions, and new IRS trends and techniques. Published monthly.
Tax Management Memorandum - Includes coverage of issues, developments, trends, and strategies in business tax planning. Published biweekly.
Tax Management Weekly Report - Covers federal legislative, regulatory, judicial, and policy developments relating to taxation. Published weekly.
Lexis
Law360 Tax Authority - Includes sections for federal, state and local, and international. Publishes stories daily, as they appear in the news.
VitalLaw
Federal Tax Day - Daily update on federal tax law, with sections for the White House, Congress, Treasury, IRS, Judiciary, technical advice, and other information.
CCH Federal Tax Weekly - Focuses on analysis of developments in tax law over the past week. Written by written by tax lawyers and accountants, and covers IRS and Department tax guidance, tax litigation and Congressional developments, as well as practitioner reaction to tax planning news and trends.
IRS
IRS Guidewire - Free subscription to receive notification of guidance issued by the IRS, including the day's revenue rulings, revenue procedures, notices and announcements on IRS.gov. Also provides notification of IRS-issued regulations and links to the regulations in the Federal Register on the website of the U.S. Archives.
IRS Newsroom - Daily news from the IRS.
Other Resources
Tax Policy Center from the Urban Institute & Brookings Institution
Tax Research and Insights from PWC
When searching the library catalog for other secondary sources, these terms might be helpful:
Keyword search terms:
Subject search terms:
