LibGuides: General Legal Information Sites and Resources: Databases

About

The listed items are available through Loyola Law Library's subscriptions to electronic databases. For access to items in Bloomberg Law, Lexis, or Westlaw, you must have a user ID and password from those services. To access items in other subscription databases, you must have a valid Loyola ID and password.

Subscription Databases and E-Resources

Access to these electronic resources is limited to users with valid Loyola ID and passwords, except as specifically noted below. Bloomberg Law, Lexis, and Westlaw each require their own user IDs and passwords.

Bloomberg Law This link opens in a new window
Bloomberg Law is a full-service legal research service that provides access to U.S. federal and state primary law, Bloomberg BNA commentary and analysis, news, company information, dockets, and more. Current Law School students and faculty are assigned individual passwords which permit full access to the site's content year-round (including during the summer months) and for six months after graduation, with no academic use restrictions.
LexisNexis This link opens in a new window
LexisNexis is a comprehensive legal research system consisting of innumerable legal and business-related databases, which are fully searchable. Primary and secondary materials, including case law, statutes, administrative materials, treatises and more are included. Consult the online directory for a complete list of holdings. Current Law School students and faculty are assigned individual passwords for legal research for educational purposes only.
Westlaw This link opens in a new window
Westlaw is a comprehensive legal research system consisting of innumerable legal and business-related databases, which are fully searchable. Primary and secondary materials, including case law, statutes, administrative materials, treatises and more are included. Consult the online directory for a complete list of holdings. Current Law School students and faculty are assigned individual passwords for legal research for educational purposes only.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline is a searchable full-text, image-based collection of retrospective legal materials divided into distinct "libraries," which include the Law Journal Library, the Federal Register Library, the Legal Classics Library, and more. Documents can be viewed as high quality scanned images of the original print pages, and can be printed or downloaded and saved as PDF files.
Fastcase This link opens in a new window
Fastcase is a legal research database alternative that provides lower cost access to federal and state case law, statutes, and regulations. Access to Fastcase is provided to Illinois Bar members as a benefit of membership.
NEW - the Law Library's Fastcase subscription now includes access to Full Court Press treatises and law journals.
Casetext This link opens in a new window
Casetext is a legal research platform that leverages artificial intelligence and data science to provide efficient and intuitive legal research tools. Current Loyola Law students, faculty, and staff have free and unlimited access to all databases and tools in Casetext including CARA A.I. (please note that an LUC.edu e-mail address is required for registration).
IICLE Online Library This link opens in a new window
A searchable online library of publications by the Illinois Institute for Continuing Legal Education (IICLE). Downloadable handbooks, seminar course materials, and QuickGuides make up the bulk of the collection. Many of these publications also contain downloadable forms. IICLE publications are practice-oriented and focus on Illinois law, although federal coverage is included where relevant. IICLE Online Library is only available to current members of the Loyola Chicago Law School community and can only be used for academic (non-commercial) purposes.
Current Loyola law students can register for free IICLE online access (and for other IICLE benefits) by going to the IICLE Law Student Resource Kit page (https://www.iicle.com/student) and creating an account (note that you must use your LUC e-mail account to register).
Cheetah (Wolters Kluwer/CCH) This link opens in a new window
Please note that as of November 1, 2021, the Cheetah platform will be rebranded as VitalLaw. Some interruptions to service may result.
VitalLaw is the Wolters Kluwer legal research platform, providing easy access to statutes, cases, administrative agency materials, and secondary source materials from the following practice areas: Antitrust, Banking & Consumer Finance, Government Contracts, Health Care, Intellectual Property, Products Liability & Insurance, Securities, and Corporate Law. For more information on using VitalLaw, you can refer to the VitalLaw Quick Start Card, available at https://tinyurl.com/vitallawquickstart. VitalLaw usage is limited to current Loyola Law faculty, students, and staff for academic (i.e. non-commercial) purposes only.
DocketBird This link opens in a new window
DocketBird is a repository of federal court cases and documents. DocketBird provides access to millions of cases and documents in its database, including nearly every pending case. DocketBird has decided to make its services free for law school libraries, university libraries, and public libraries.
If you would like to set up a DocketBird account, please email loyolalawreference@luc.edu.

Subject Guide

Joe Mitzenmacher

Email Me

Contact:

Reference & Electronic Services Librarian
Philip H. Corboy Law Center
25 E. Pearson St.
Chicago, IL 60611

312-915-6844