Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Free law-related resources from a variety of Web sites, including commercial, professional and educational sites and organizations providing news, articles, directories, career centers and free access to primary authority at the state and federal level.
These free websites includes legal research guides, links to primary and secondary authority, and in general are good places to start a round of free online research. Hover the cursor over the "Web Resources" tab above to find links to Government and ABA resources.
Finding Illinois Law: A Librarian's Guide for Non-Lawyers
Published by the Government Relations Committee of the Chicago Association of Law Libraries, this guide was created by Law Librarians from Chicago as a tool to aid non-lawyers practicing in Illinois, Indiana, and Wisconsin.
Legal Information Institute - Cornell University Law Library
Cornell's Legal Information Institute site provides links to all three types of primary authority at both the state and federal levels. It also features access to uniform laws (inlcuding the Uniform Commercial Code) and world law. It also provides access by subject.
FindLaw.com bills itself as "the world's leading provider of online legal information and Internet marketing solutions for law firms." It offers a mix of cases, statutes, legal news, a lawyer directory, an online career center and community-oriented tools such as mailing lists and message boards, and remains a popular site for free legal information on the Internet with more than four million legal consumers visiting each month and the largest legal directory available
JURIST: Legal News and Research
JURIST (http://jurist.law.pitt.edu) is a Web-based legal news and real-time legal research service powered by a mostly-volunteer team of over 30 part-time law student reporters, editors and Web developers led by law professor Bernard Hibbitts at the University of Pittsburgh School of Law in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA.
HG.org's objective is to make law, government and related professional information easily accessible to the legal profession, businesses and consumers. It includes a law firm directory, a Legal Employment Center and a Legal Student Center with links to most U.S. law schools. Its Legal Publications page collects and arranges by subject articles authored by the various law firm members of the HG network
Basic Legal Citation
This introduction to legal citation is focused on the forms of citation used in professional practice rather than those used in journal publication. For that reason, it does not cover The Bluebook's distinct typography rules for the latter. Furthermore, it aims to identify the more important points on which there is divergence between the rules set out in the two manuals and evolving usage reflected in legal memoranda and briefs prepared by practicing lawyers.
Legal Blogs ("Blawgs")
(N.b. Legal blogs are sometimes referred to as “blawgs”). Blogs or blawgs may include a variety of types of articles such as commentary on recent decisions, analyses of legal issues in the news, or lists of the author's favorite web links. In any event, a consensus is emerging that blawgs are having a transformative impact on the world of legal scholarship, due to their ability to allow for the rapid, unfiltered dissemination of legal ideas. When a “hot topic” legal issue erupts, bloggers are the first to provide reactions, suggest lines of inquiry and provide perspective. Because many blawgs allow comments, they also serve as a virtual “faculty lounge” or coffeeshop, where ideas can be floated, inflated, debated and punctured, sometimes in raucous, freewheeling fashion.
ABA Journal Blawg Directory
A curated directory of more than 4,500 continually updated law blogs. Searchable by keyword, topic, region, and type of author.
Justia Blawg Search
A directory of popular law blogs, with links to blogs by category, a list of most popular blogs, and a legal blog search engine.
Law Professor Blogs
Law Professor Blogs is a network of web logs ("blogs") designed from the ground-up to assist law professors in their scholarship and teaching. Each site focuses on a particular area of law and combines both (1) regularly-updated permanent resources and links, and (2) daily news and information of interest to law professors. Our editors are leading scholars and teachers who are committed to providing the web destination for law professors in their fields.
Law Librarian Blog
News and info about the latest developments in legal research and law librarianship.
Note - no longer updated as of January 8, 2020.