Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Introduction to Appellate Advocacy
An unsuccessful party in a lawsuit or administrative proceeding may file a timely appeal to the appropriate superior court empowered to review a final decision on the ground that the decision was based upon an erroneous application of law. The practice of law that includes representing unsuccessful parties before state or federal courts of appeal is known as appellate advocacy.
About this Guide
This guide is intended as an aid for students (and possibly practitioners) who seek assistance with, or a deeper understanding of, some aspect of appellate practice. The guide is divided by resources type: books, journals, databases, and free web resources. Each of these pages is then further subdivided by topic. This page also contains links to basic rules for pertinent court rules for Illinois and federal appellate practice and some recommended starting points.
Appellate advocacy is as much of an art as science. Therefore, this guide focuses on techniques and examples. These techniques are most often found in academic texts and practice guides, i.e., "books". The Books page of this Guide tracks "books" based on particular topics or techniques--brief writing, oral argument etc. The books page is the heart of this Guide. Some, but not many "books" exist online via commercial aggregators Like Lexis and Westlaw. The Electronic Resources page includes links to all online sources of books or guides found on the Books page.
Dan K. Webb Center for Advocacy
Dan K. Webb Center for Advocacy
Loyola's Dan K. Webb Center for Advocacy is one of the most well-respected advocacy programs in the U.S. It offers classes in trial advocacy, appellate advocacy, and alternative dispute resolution.
Recommended Resources for Advocacy Course
A Practical Guide to Appellate Advocacy by
Call Number: KF 251 .B42 2018 Law Permanent Reserve
Publication Date: 2018-09-14
This is the textbook for the Advocacy class. It's available on reserve behind the Circulation Desk in the Law Library. Older copies that circulate for longer periods are available in the main stacks at the same call number.
Persuasive Written and Oral Advocacy by
Call Number: KF 251 .F658 2007 Law Main Stacks
Publication Date: 2013-03-15
This is an appellate advocacy textbook used in many other law schools. It may be a good alternative or supplement if you are looking for additional examples.
There are a variety of different textbooks and supplements that professors and practitioners rely on to polish their appellate briefs and oral arguments. You can find these throughout this guide. The sources that follow are the ones most recommended for first-year law students in the School's Advocacy classes.
For those practicing before the Seventh Circuit, two online resources are also recommended: the Practitioner's Handbook for Appeals to the United States Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit, http://www.ca7.uscourts.gov/forms/Handbook.pdf, and the Seventh Circuit Brief Filing Checklist, http://www.ca7.uscourts.gov/forms/check.pdf. Your teachers may refer to these in class.
Just Briefs by
Call Number: KF 251 .O18 2013 Law Main Stacks
Publication Date: 2013-01-10
This text is designed as a complement to appellate advocacy coursebooks. It provides step-by-step instructions on how to approach a brief and a number of helpful examples.
The Winning Brief by
Call Number: KF 251 .G37 2014
Publication Date: 2014-05-01
Written by one of the pre-eminent scholars in the field of legal writing and the editor of Black's Law Dictionary, this book explains the art of effective writing in 100 concise, practical, and easy-to-use tips, proving that the key to writing well is to understand the judicial readership. Each tip is followed by a series of examples and explanations.
Making Your Case by
Call Number: KF 8870 .S28 2008 Law Main Stacks
Publication Date: 2008-06-06
The authors have organized this book around 115 principles of persuasion. Some at the Seventh Circuit Court of Appeals consider Bryan Garner's books to be the "gold standard" of legal writing.