Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
About 'Academic Texts and Practice Guides'
Much of what is written about appellate advocacy is devoted to the techniques that make appellate advocates successful. This commentary and the examples that accompany it are most often found in organized works like academic texts and practice guides.
This page contains a list of these books and links to online sources where appropriate. Other pages under this tab link to books on specific topics like writing style, how to draft an appellate brief, oral argument techniques, and books relating to practice in specific state and federal courts.
Academic Texts and Coursebooks
The following texts are intended to accompany appellate advocacy courses offered in law school or continuing legal education courses. They cover all aspects of appellate practice and are often excellent resources for examples. The books are listed in alphabetical order.
Federal Appellate Practice and Procedure in a Nutshell by
Call Number: Available online via Library's West Study Aids Collection
Publication Date: 2017-07-21
This nutshell provides a comprehensive overview of federal appellate practice and procedure. It focuses both on the federal courts of appeals and on the US Supreme Court.
Mastering Appellate Advocacy and Process by
Call Number: KF 9050 .L66 Law Main Stacks
Publication Date: 2015-02-20
This text covers the range of appellate procedures in use across the United States, from preserving error below and on appeal, filing the notice of appeal, compiling the record, as well as appealable orders and judgments, proper parties on appeal, and appellate jurisdiction. The book also covers legal analysis, drafting, and advocacy techniques used in preparing appellate briefs, as well as oral advocacy techniques in a discussion that is useful to students and novices.
Persuasive Written and Oral Advocacy by
Call Number: KF 251 .F658 Law Main Stacks
Publication Date: 2013-03-15
This text is among the most popular for use in law school appellate advocacy courses. It guides the reader through the process of preparing forceful arguments, finding the law, organizing the presentation, writing clearly and persuasively, and planning for oral argument. It includes detailed coverage of trial motion practice as well as appellate practice with an emphasis on the how important it is to consider of the judges time and perspective when preparing an argument.
A Practical Guide to Appellate Advocacy by
Call Number: KF 251 .B42 2018 Law Permanent Reserve
Publication Date: 2018-09-14
This text is required for Loyola Law School's Advocacy Course. Copies of older editions are available at the same call number in the Library's main stacks on the 5th floor.
Principles of Appellate Advocacy by
Call Number: KF 9050 .S45 2013
Publication Date: 2013-08-13
This book concentrates exclusively on a few rules and principles that are essential to writing clear appellate briefs and oral arguments. It is designed for students preparing their first appellate arguments, as well as those who struggle with the writing process.
Winning on Appeal by
Call Number: KF 9050 .A935 Law Main Stacks
Publication Date: 2017-07-01
Designed as a coursebook for appellate advocacy courses or as a deskbook for appellate practitioners, this book is chock full of practical examples and wisdom from everyday appellate court judges.
Also available online via Lexis Advance
Practitioner Guides and Treatises
The Appellate Practice Compendium by
Call Number: KF 9050 .A9458
Publication Date: 2013-12-07
This book is a complete guide to appellate practice rules and procedures of all fifty states and Washington D.C., all federal circuit courts, and the U.S. Military Appellate Court. Each chapter includes an "insider's guide" to appellate practice in that jurisdiction.
This section includes books that are more focused on procedural aspects than academic texts. This section covers both state and federal practice. Illinois and and 7th Circuit practice guides are covered separately HERE.
Appellate Practice in Federal and State Courts by
Call Number: Available online via Lexis
Publication Date: 2012-
Appellate Practice in Federal and State Courts is a complete guide to the appellate process for both practitioners and students. From preserving issues for appeal to preparing winning motions, skilled appellate lawyers provide insights on key considerations at every stage.Topics covered include: the decision to appeal; preserving issues for appeal; standards of review; standing to appeal; timely filing; how courts view the "Record on Appeal"; appellate motion practice; using amicus briefs effectively; preparing persuasive appellate briefs and oral arguments; post-appeal proceedings; review by courts of last resort; the use of information technology in appellate courts; and how to develop and market an appellate practice.
Federal Appellate Practice by
Call Number: Available online via Bloomberg Law
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
This book provides attorneys with guidance in all aspects of the federal appellate process-ranging from preserving the record in trial court to possible Supreme Court review. It discusses the Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure, relevant jurisdictional and procedural statutes, important case rulings, local circuit rules, and internal operating procedures of the appellate courts.
Current through June 2018
Federal Standards of Review by
Call Number: Available online via Lexis
This three-volume set provides a comprehensive analysis of the review process in civil, criminal and administrative cases.
The Practitioner's Guide to Appellate Advocacy by
Call Number: KF 9050 .P73 Law Main Stacks
Publication Date: 2011-07-16
This book, from the ABA Section on Litigation, takes a practitioner step-by-step through the process of appellate advocacy. It offers diverse viewpoints from appellate advocates in private practice, government and academia, and provides practical and expert advice for improving one's appellate practice.
Principles of Appellate Litigation: A Guide to Modern Practice
Part of the Law Library's subscription to PLI PLUS, this Practising Law Institute treatise is an invaluable introduction to modern appellate practice, covering all aspects from issue preservation at trial to Supreme Court review. This treatise provides practice tips, checklists, and excerpts from actual briefs analyzing the strategic choices of the authors and the mechanics of their written advocacy. A current Loyola Law ID is required for access.