LibGuides: International Trade Law: Databases

About

The Loyola Law Library and the Loyola Libraries system subscribe to a number of commercial databases that offer general coverage of international and foreign topics and the more specialized field of international trade. These databases are listed below, and at right.

For more guidance on researching the global investment regime, see the Law Library's guide on "International Commercial & Investment Arbitration Research."

Newspapers

General and business newspapers may be extremely helpful when researching international and foreign-related legal topics. Westlaw and LexisNexis both have good coverage of U.S., international, and foreign newspapers. See also the subscription Access World News and Factiva databases for full-text access to newspapers.

Dissertations & Theses

Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest)

Often overlooked by academic legal researchers, dissertations and theses contain exhaustive research and extensive bibliographies. The ProQuest Dissertations & Theses database currently includes citations to over two million dissertations and theses from 1861 forward, and full-text access to over one million of these citations. The database's coverage is global, with numerous law-related papers available to download in PDF format. Searches may be conducted in various fields, such as title, author, citation and abstract, and degree awarded.

For open-access dissertations and theses, see:

DART-Europe E-theses Portal

Open Access Theses and Dissertations

Portal de Tesis Latinoamericanas

Theses Canada

Subscription Databases (Law)

Most of the law-related databases listed below are available through the Law Library's website via the "Databases A-Z" link.

Foreign & International Law Resources Database (HeinOnline)
HeinOnline's Foreign & International Law Resources Database (FILRD) contains approximately 675 volumes related to international law. Contents include: yearbooks, periodicals, U.S. law digests (pertaining to international law), international tribunal reports and decisions, and other works related to international law. Some materials date back to the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries.
Foreign Law Guide: Current Sources of Codes and Basic Legislation in Jurisdictions of the World
This title has been a staple in the area of foreign legal research for more than a decade. Included are brief overviews of the legal systems of over 170 jurisdictions, as well as lists of each jurisdiction's codes, court reports, and other significant legal literature. See the "Foreign Trade" subject heading for links to country-specific discussions on that topic.
Global-Regulation.com
Global-Regulation.com is an index that allows searching (in English) of the full texts of over one million statutes and regulations, with links to official, full-text sources from over 90 jurisdictions (including the United States). Machine translations of foreign documents are used.

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline is a searchable full-text, image-based collection of retrospective legal materials divided into distinct "libraries," which include the Law Journal Library, the Federal Register Library, the Legal Classics Library, and more. Documents can be viewed as high quality scanned images of the original print pages, and can be printed or downloaded and saved as PDF files.
International Trade News - Bloomberg Law This link opens in a new window
International Trade News provides rapid updates on the most significant developments affecting U.S. trade and international business policy and the policies of major U.S. trading partners globally.
International Trade Practice Center - Bloomberg Law This link opens in a new window
Bloomberg Law's International Trade Practice Center provides guidance on developments affecting U.S. trade and international business. The International Trade Practice Center includes access to relevant news; case law; statutes and administrative law materials; treatises, analysis, and practitioner tools, including BNA Portfolios and Manuals. A valid Bloomberg Law ID is required for access.

Investor-State LawGuide
The Investor-State LawGuide database is a one-stop resource for international investment law research. It provides access to treaties, arbitration rules, decisions and awards, and other related documents. In addition to full-text search capability, Investor-State LawGuide's research tools include: the Subject Navigator; the Article Citator (which shows how specific legal instruments relevant to international investment law have been interpreted by tribunals); the Jurisprudence Citator (which shows how specific decisions have been treated by subsequent investment treaty tribunals); and Terms & Phrases searching (which enables you to look for the meaning of terms and phrases that have been defined in treaties and rules or by arbitration tribunals). Click on "Login” in the upper-right corner of the welcome screen to access the database.

Law360 This link opens in a new window
Law360 is a popular news and current awareness resoure covering 60 different practice areas. See the "International Trade" section for topical coverage. Note that this is a Lexis product, and it is possible to toggle back and forth between Lexis+ and Law360.

LexisNexis
In Lexis+, go to the "Practice Area" tab, and then "International Trade Law."
Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law
The Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law is one of the most authoritative resources in its field. Contributors to the Encyclopedia include scholars and practitioners from around the world, and articles are edited by a team from the prestigious Max Planck Institute for Comparative Public Law and International Law.

Multinational Sources Compared: A Subject and Jurisdiction Index - HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
The online version of Multinational Sources Compared: A Subject and Jurisdiction Index is a finding aid designed to direct researchers to sources that compare multiple jurisdictions on focused subjects. The database component of this title is updated three times a year and is searchable by title, publisher, subject, or jurisdiction.
TradeLawGuide This link opens in a new window
TradeLawGuide is a comprehensive World Trade Organization law database that allows users to search across PDF files of official awards, decisions, and other WTO documents. TradeLawGuide also ‘notes up’ WTO decisions by tracking how subsequent WTO reports, awards and decisions have considered specific passages in WTO jurisprudence. The database features a citator that collects all jurisprudence under a treaty provision for the WTO system. TradeLawGuide also offers treaty interpretation and other tools. Click on “Subscriber Login” in the upper-right corner of the welcome screen to access the database.
U.S. International Trade Library - HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline's U.S. International Trade Library provides over one million pages of content, including U.S. International Trade Commission publications, relevant U.S. Code and C.F.R. Titles, legislative histories, scholarly articles, and more. Documents can be viewed as high quality scanned images of the original print pages, and can be printed or downloaded and saved as PDF files.
Westlaw This link opens in a new window
The "International Trade Practice" treatise is available in Westlaw, as is the "International Forum" journal. To access the international section of "Practical Law" in Westlaw, choose "Practical Law," then "Global Home," then "Commercial," then "International Trade and Customs."

Subscription Databases (Non-Law)

For a complete list of interdisciplinary databases by topic, see the LUC Libraries page. For international trade, see especially the resources listed under "Business Administration" and "Economics."

ABI/Inform Global
International in scope, ABI/Inform Global is a searchable database of business journals, online business news, and financial newspapers. The database currently covers over 3,000 publications, with more than 2,000 available in full text.
Academic Search Complete
This is a popular interdiscliplinary database that indexes over 8,000 publications--the majority of which are available in full text.
Business Source Complete
This is a database of business and financial literature that includes the full texts of more than 2,200 journals. The database also includes company and country profiles.
EconLit
EconLit is a database of journals, books, and working papers in the field of Economics. Coverage is international.
JSTOR
JSTOR is a popular interdisciplinary database with scanned images of academic journals. Coverage is international.
Passport GMID
Euromonitor International's Global Market Information Database provides comprehensive global business intelligence on industries, countries, and consumers. For specific country information, choose one of the categories under "Countries and Consumers," and then a specific area of interest. Then select a specific country under one of the pull down menus for specific countries.
Euromonitor International's Global Market Information Database provides global business intelligence on industries, countries, and consumers.
Project MUSE
Project Muse is an interdisciplinary database of over 200 full-text academic journals. Coverage is international.