There are numerous free websites that can assist with research related to international human rights law. Also note the entries under "Legal Blogs & Current Awareness" for electronic monitoring of legal developments around the world.
The International Law in Brief (ILIB) blog follows current developments in international law. Entries are posted by editors of the American Society of International Law's International Legal Materials publication
The purpose of this website, jointly administered by several international organizations (FAO, IUCN, and UNEP) is to provide the "most comprehensive possible global source of information on environmental law." The site includes a database of national environmental legislation.
The International Labor Organization (ILO) maintains NATLEX--a database of national labor, social security, and human rights legislation. The database currently contains over 65,000 records, covering more than 190 countries. Records are provided in only one of the ILO's official languages, which are English, Spanish, and French. NATLEX is browsable by country and subject, and there is also an "Advanced Search" function available.
According to the UN, "The human rights treaty bodies are committees of independent experts that monitor implementation of the core international human rights treaties."
This unique tool contains 880 multilateral conventions on environmental law, human rights, humanitarian law, and the law of the sea. The search mechanism will yield specific matches to treaties based on criteria the user inputs. Developed and maintained by Mandat International, based in Switzerland.
Self-described, HURIDOCS (Human Rights Information and Documentation Systems) "is an NGO that helps human rights groups gather, organise and use information to create positive change in the world. Since 1982, we have developed methodologies and tools that make it easier not only to manage collections of evidence, law and research, but also to analyse them for insights. In all that time, the technology has evolved but our passion for the cause remains unchanged. Information is a force for good—as long as human rights defenders are able to safely and efficiently make sense of it."
Refword is an international database, organized by country, and maintained by the United Nations High Commmission on Human Rights (UNHCR). The database contains a collection of reports and policy documents relating to refugee status and human rights issues.
The annual Country Reports on Human Rights Practices cover "internationally recognized individual, civil, political, and worker rights, as set forth in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights and other international agreements."
This is an extensive online collection of 60,000+ human rights treaties and other human rights documents. Numerous links are also provided to human rights websites. Additionally, there is a site-specific search engine available, and a section on "Resources for Researching Country Conditions."
Several non-profit regional legal information initiatives created and now maintain World LII. The site offers legal subject-based links for individual countries as well as general collections by topic.
