Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Free resources from a variety of Web sites, including educational sites and organizations devoted to children's rights.
To see separate pages which list American Bar Association and government Web sites, place your cursor over the Web Resources tab.
Full texts of adoption statutes for all 50 states (and D.C.), federal statutes related to adoptions, and the Hague Convention on the Protection of Children. Also includes summaries of state laws for several adoption issues.
Center on Juvenile and Criminal Justice
The CJCJ is private non-profit organization whose mission is to reduce society's reliance on the use of incarceration as a solution to social problems. Their Web site includes CJCJ reports and programs.
Children's Defense Fund
Provides links to child advocacy resources, child research data and publications, and news and policy publications.
Children's Rights Information Network
International children's rights resources, including the text of the UN Convention on the Rights of the Child. You can also search by topic or by country.
Family Law Prof Blog
Part of the Law Professors Blog Network. Frequently includes posts on Child Law issues.
Legal Information Institute - Uniform Matrimonial and Family Law Locator
Part of Cornell's Legal Information Institute site, the Uniform Matrimonial and Family Law Locator allows you to find the original text of family-related Uniform Laws as well as corresponding state laws.
National Association of Counsel for Children
A non-profit child advocacy and professional membership association dedicated to providing legal representation for children. The site includes an attorney referral database and career and training information.
National Center for Juvenile Justice
The National Center for Juvenile Justice (NCJJ) is the oldest juvenile justice research organization in the United States. Their Web site includes annual reports, state juvenile justice profiles, and statistics.
National Center for State Courts - Children, Families, & Elders Library eCollection
This digital collection contains resources on how the court system handles personal matters from a spectrum of ages. Child Law topics include juvenile delinquency courts, child abuse and neglect cases, family courts and child support services, adoption resources, and guardianship/foster care,
National Conference of State Legislatures - Human Services Page
Include links to legislative information, news, and reports, sorted by topic (e.g. Child Welfare, Early Childhood, Youth).
National Council of Juvenile and Family Court Judges
Since its founding by a group of judges in 1937, the NCJFCJ has worked to improve the effectiveness of the nation's juvenile courts and raise awareness of the core issues affecting children and families. The NCJFCJ Web site includes links to news items, conference information, and NCJFCJ publications.