Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Free resources made available by either local, state, or federal governmental entities.
Adoption and Foster Care Analysis and Reporting System (AFCARS) Statistics
The Statistics Web site of the Children's Bureau, Administration for Children and Families, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. Provides analysis and statistics on a variety of topics, including adoption, foster care, and child abuse and neglect.
Childstats.gov - Forum on Child and Family Statistics
The Forum is a collection of 22 Federal government agencies involved in research and activities related to children and families. The site includes the Forum's annual reports which summarize national indicators of child well-being, as well as links to federal agency statistics pages.
Child Welfare Information Gateway
A service of the Children's Bureau, Administration for Children and Families, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services that provides access to print and electronic publications, websites, databases, and online learning tools for improving child welfare practice.
Cook County Public Guardian: Juvenile Division
Includes links to news, legislation, case law, and administrative law. The site also includes FAQs and links to related Web sites.
Illinois Department of Children & Family Services
Includes DCFS administrative rules and rulemaking notices, guidelines, and policy interpretations, as well as press releases and publications.
Illinois Department of Juvenile Justice
The Illinois Department of Juvenile Justice is the State agency that runs Illinois’ juvenile prisons (“youth centers”). The IDJJ Web site provides access to reports, statistics, and juvenile justice-related program resources.
U.S. Department of Justice - Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention Statistical Briefing Book
Provides statistics on juvenile crime and victimization and on youth involved in the juvenile justice system.
U.S. Department of State - International Adoption Page
Introductory information about adoption of foreign children, including eligibility requirements, country information, how to apply for immigration visas, news and statistics resources, and a U.S. Embassy and Consulate locator.
U.S. Department of State - International Parental Child Abduction Page
Introductory information about international abductions, including links to relevant publications, forms, and federal and international laws.