Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Alphabetical List of Electronic Resources
This research guide covers the electronic resources available to members of the Loyola community.
Most of our subscription databases are licensed for use by current students, faculty, and staff of Loyola University Chicago's School of Law only. Also, be sure to check the University Libraries page for additional resources.
Information about using library databases off campus.
If you have any questions about using any of the sources listed in this guide, or any other reference questions, please contact one of our Reference Librarians by phone at (312) 915-7205, by e-mail at LoyolaLawReference@luc.edu, or in person at the Reference Desk (Law Library, 3rd floor).
Featured Resource - Law eCommons
Loyola's Law eCommons provides free access to research, scholarship, and creative works created by the Loyola Law community for the benefit of Loyola students, faculty, staff, and the larger academic community. The Law eCommons provides access to both published and unpublished works.
Featured Resource - West Academic Study Aids
The Law Library is now providing Loyola Law students with expanded access to West's Academic Study Aids Subscription. This service provides online access to hundreds of West publications, including all current Hornbooks, Concise Hornbooks, Nutshells, Black Letter Outlines, Flash Cards, Gilbert Law Summaries, and much more. By creating a free West Academic account, you can even highlight text or take notes online. You can search for individual titles in the collection by keyword, or browse by subject, material type, or series.
Custom E-mail Signup Form - Bloomberg BNA
Custom E-mail Signup Form
Loyola Law School students and faculty may use this form to sign up for e-mail updates on Bloomberg BNA electronic products within the Law Library's collection. These e-mails arrive on the same daily, weekly, or monthly basis as the publications themselves. A complete list of Bloomberg BNA publications for which the Library has subscriptions is available online. A Loyola e-mail address must be used to receive these updates.
Bloomberg Law is a full-service legal research service that provides access to U.S. federal and state primary law, Bloomberg BNA commentary and analysis, news, company information, dockets, and more. Current Law School students and faculty are assigned individual passwords which permit full access to the site's content year-round (including during the summer months) and for six months after graduation, with no academic use restrictions.
CALI (Computer Assisted Legal Instruction) is a collection of interactive lessons authored by law professors and librarians. Over 1,000 lessons, covering more than 40 different legal subject areas, are included. To use CALI, you must obtain our Law School's "authorization code" from Joe Mitzenmacher, Reference and Electronic Services Librarian (firstname.lastname@example.org or x5-6844). Follow the "Not a registered user yet?" link on the CALI website, and use our authorization code to register for your own CALI username and password.
HeinOnline is a searchable full-text, image-based collection of retrospective legal materials divided into distinct "libraries," which include the Law Journal Library, the Federal Register Library, the Legal Classics Library, and more. Documents can be viewed as high quality scanned images of the original print pages, and can be printed or downloaded and saved as PDF files.
Westlaw is a comprehensive legal research system consisting of innumerable legal and business-related databases, which are fully searchable. Primary and secondary materials, including case law, statutes, administrative materials, treatises and more are included. Consult the online directory for a complete list of holdings. Current Law School students and faculty are assigned individual passwords for legal research for educational purposes only.
WorldCat, a database within the OCLC FirstSearch collection of research databases, is a catalog of library holdings in libraries around the world. It contains millions of records and is an excellent source for identifying books, articles and other materials that you would like to request through interlibrary loan.