Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
About Alternative Dispute Resolution--generally
The following dispute resolution resources are divided into two groups: academic texts/ study aids, and practice guides/ treatises. Resources within each section are listed in alphabetical order; basic descriptions and location information are provided for each resource. Resources are hyperlinked to the full library catalog record for the item unless the resource is only available online in which case the hyperlink leads to the resource online.
Academic Texts and Study Aids
Alternative Dispute Resolution: a conflict diagnosis approach by
Call Number: K 2390 .C655 2010 Law Main Stacks
Publication Date: 2009-05-15
Taking a cross-disciplinary approach, this textbook explains the cognitive, social, organizational and developmental psychology theories that influence ADR and its approaches. From mediation to arbitration to hybrid processes, it helps students understand the strengths and weaknesses of the many varieties of ADR, and why various approaches succeed or fail.
Alternative Dispute Resolution in a Nutshell by
Call Number: Available online via West Study Aids Collection
Publication Date: 2021-09-29
This title provides a concise summary of alternatives to the court adjudication of disputes. It provides an on-point discussion that facilitates an understanding of the wide variety of options available that can better suit a client's needs, such as negotiation, mediation, arbitration, and various hybrids such as arbitration-mediation, mediation-arbitration, and consensus-building, as well as court-connected processes.
Also available to Loyola Law School students, staff and faculty via West's Study Aid Subscription
Examples and Explanations for Dispute Resolution by
Call Number: Available via Aspen Learning Library
Publication Date: 2014-05-02
This popular study aid combines introductions to theory with practical exercises in decision analysis, problem solving, and various forms of conflict resolution.
Principles of Alternative Dispute Resolution by
Call Number: Available online via West Study Aids collection
Publication Date: 2016-09-23
Part of the concise hornbook series, this book provides a clear and reliable statement of the law and concepts central to alternative dispute resolution (arbitration, negotiation, mediation, and other processes).
Regulating Dispute Resolution: ADR and access to justice at a crossroads by
Call Number: Ebook
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
The aim of this book is to contribute to the understanding and development of the legal framework governing national and international dispute resolution. The Guide for Regulating Dispute Resolution is formulated and commented upon in a concise manner to assist legislators, policy-makers, professional associations, practitioners and academics in thinking about which solutions best suit local and regional circumstances.
Skills and Values: Alternative Dispute Resolution by
Call Number: KF 9084 .G37 2021 Law Main Stacks
Publication Date: 2021-08-09
Skills & Values: Alternative Dispute Resolution is designed to give students both theory and practical application for the skills and values which come into play during the various forms of alternative dispute resolution, including negotiation, mediation, collaborative law and arbitration. (From the publisher)
Transactional Lawyering Skills by
Call Number: KF 300 .N48 2013 Practical Skills Collection
Publication Date: 2012-12-11
This book provides a concise, straightforward explanation of professionalism, covers working with transactional clients including problem-solving and problem-prevention, and transactional interviewing, counseling, and negotiation. Professional responsibility issues are fully integrated throughout the material.
Practice Guides and Treatises
Alternative Dispute Resolution: the litigator's handbook by
Call Number: KF 9084 .A949 Law Main Stacks
Publication Date: 2003-06-03
This book is a guide to the variety of practices that make up alternative dispute resolution and the issues that surround them. Written for litigators by other experienced trial lawyers and third-party neutrals, this book provides the information a lawyer needs to evaluate each technique and successfully apply them to your cases when appropriate. The book also includes checklists, practice tips, sample agreements, and ADR case management documents for a number of specific areas of law.
Alternative Dispute Resolution by
Call Number: Available online via Westlaw
This multi-volume treatise provides lawyers, advocates, business executives, managers, union representatives, and consumers with a comprehensive discussion across many types of disputes, including: commercial construction, uninsured motorists, intellectual property, international commercial, personal injury, family, healthcare, labor and employment, and securities. It is updated with yearly pocket parts.
Alternative Dispute Resolution: a practical guide by
Call Number: K 2390 .C49 2008 Law Main Stacks
Publication Date: 2008-07-25
This book discusses the requirements of an effective ADR system for settling disputes, compares the merits and weakness of court proceedings and arbitral proceedings in achieving agreed settlements, and provides a useful guide for students and practitioners to the legal roles within ADR, and the stages to expect during a mediation process.
Alternative Dispute Resolution: an essential competency for lawyers by
Call Number: K 2390 .P37 2009 Law Main Stacks
Publication Date: 2009-06-12
This book is intended to help lawyers understand the increasingly important world of alternative dispute resolution. Readers will learn not only how to resolve disputes more efficiently, but to achieve better results at a lower cost. The book includes an assessment of the benefits of ADR, the specific tactics and tools available within an ADR context, cases studies where ADR has been used to achieve improved results, and practical advice and tips for advocacy in ADR settings, with special emphasis on mediation skills.
Also available online via Lexis
Commercial Conflict Management and Dispute Resolution by
Call Number: Ebook
Publication Date: 2011-12-08
There are numerous techniques designed to resolve commercial conflicts and disputes. This book summarizes the most important of these, as well as alternative dispute resolution methods. The reader seeking a deeper understanding of these procedures will also find explanations of the principles and methods for conflict management, such as negotiation, risk management, mediation and conciliation.
Creative Problem Solver's Handbook for Negotiators and Mediators by
Call Number: KF 9084 .C568 2005 Law Main Stacks
Publication Date: 2005-01-01
This two-volume handbook takes a pracademic approach to creative problem solving in negotiation and mediation. 'Pracademics' describes the art and science of translating the theory of creative problem solving into practice, and conversely, converting the practice of creative problem solving into theory. It encourages an interdisciplinary approach to solving problems and seeks to draw upon the expertise of one discipline to enhance the problem solving effectiveness in another.
Enhanced Dispute Resolution Through the Use of Information Technology by
Call Number: K 2390 .L63 2010 Law Main Stacks
Publication Date: 2010-06-03
This overview of dispute resolution addresses practical developments in areas such as family law, plea bargaining, industrial relations and torts. The authors elaborate on the necessary legal safeguards that should be taken into account when developing technology-enhanced dispute resolution and explore a wide range of potential applications for new information technologies in dispute resolution.
Also available via Ebook
How ADR Works by
Call Number: KF 3425 .H69 Law Main Stacks
Publication Date: 2002-01-01
This book presents the wisdom of top practitioners in the area of labor and employment arbitration and mediation. Geared to beginning and seasoned legal professionals, it provides invaluable guidance, including how to: prepare for mediation and arbitration, provide the procedural protections for employment arbitration required by the Supreme Court, and create fair procedures to ensure due process protection.
Also available online via Bloomberg Law
The Practice Skills Toolkit
Call Number: KF 9084 .P73 2013 Law Main Stacks
Publication Date: 2014-06-10
Practice Skills Toolkit: ADR is a compilation of articles, chosen by younger practicing lawyers, which struck them as helpful guides in the practice of law. These articles, arranged under the topics of Ethics, Discovery, and Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR), are timeless and universal in their appeal.