LibGuides: Education Law Research Guide: Databases

About

The listed law-related subscription databases are also available through the Law Library's Web site. Bloomberg Law, LexisNexis, and Westlaw require individual user IDs and passwords.

IICLE's online resources are available only on campus and only to current Loyola Law students and faculty. Current Loyola law students can register for free IICLE online access (and for other IICLE benefits) by going to the IICLE Law Student Resource Kit page (https://www.iicle.com/student) and creating an account (note that you must use your LUC e-mail account to register). Your student IICLE Online account will allow you to access these publications from anywhere. Use of the IICLE Online Library is limited to academic (non-commercial) purposes only.

The other resources are available to any users who have a valid Loyola ID and password.

Subscription Databases (Law)

Bloomberg Law This link opens in a new window
Bloomberg Law is a full-service legal research service that provides access to U.S. federal and state primary law, Bloomberg BNA commentary and analysis, news, company information, dockets, and more. Current Law School students and faculty are assigned individual passwords which permit full access to the site's content during the summer months and for six months after graduation, with no academic use restrictions.

Education Law
Education Law provides insightful analysis and case law citations on such topics as school governance; finance and procurement; employment issues, including tenure, dismissal, discrimination and reductions in the workforce; collective bargaining and dispute resolution procedures; student rights; requirements to provide individualized education to disabled students; and tort liability. Lexis ID and password required
Education Law: First Amendment, Due Process, & Discrimination
Westlaw ID and password required. This treatise analyzes students' and teachers' freedom of religion and speech in public schools as well as the restraints on those freedoms. It also discusses school discipline and violence as they relate to due process, and deals with issues of inclusion and equality in regard to gender, race, and students with disabilities. The treatise also offers several helpful appendices, including selected statutes, sample pleadings, and forms.

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline contains full-text, scanned images of U.S. law reviews and journals back to their inception. In many cases coverage continues to the current year. Articles can be printed or downloaded as PDF files. Selected journals devoted to the law of business organizations are included in the "Journals" tab.

The Intersection of Race, Systems Involvement, and Children With Disabilities: Creating More Equitable Education Systems
A PLI Plus course handbook corresponding to a November 2022 continuing education program. A current Loyola Law ID and password are required for access.
LexisNexis
LexisNexis is a comprehensive legal research system consisting of legal and business-related databases, which are all full-text searchable. Primary and secondary materials, including case law, statutes, administrative materials, treatises and more are included.
Rapp, Education Law
Education Law strives to meet the day-to-day needs of attorneys, administrators, and others, in this rapidly developing field of law. Education Law is a national treatise. Emphasis, accordingly, is given to those topics that have their basis in federal constitutional or statutory law. There are also many state-specific issues reflected in reported cases that are also addressed. In either case, Education Law seeks to provide practical guidance to be used in conjunction with local and state resources that may be available. Lexis ID and password required.
School Law: Organization, Finance, and Property (2021 Edition)
An IICLE treatise. Online version is available only on campus and only to current Loyola Law students and faculty. Also available in print (KFI 1590 .I46 2021).
School Law: Personnel and Student Issues (2021 Edition)
An IICLE treatise. Online version is available only on campus and only to current Loyola Law students and faculty. Also available in print (KFI 1590 .I455 2021).
Special Ed Connection
Special Ed Connection emphasizes school and childhood disability law. It includes information on legal and policy updates and news, advocacy information, working with autism spectrum disorders, IDEA (Individuals with Disability Education Act), FERPA (Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act) and ADA (Americans with Disabilities Act).
Special Education Due-Process Litigation 2022 Edition
An IICLE handbook. Online version is available only on campus and only to current Loyola Law students and faculty. Also available in print (KFI 1592.2 .R57 2022).
West's Education Law Reporter
Full text of articles published in West's Education Law Reporter. Full coverage begins with 1986 (vol. 30). Westlaw ID and password required. The Law Library has older editions available in print (KF 4110 .A2 W47).
Westlaw
Westlaw is a comprehensive legal research system consisting of legal and business-related databases, which are all full-text searchable. Primary and secondary materials, including case law, statutes, administrative materials, treatises and more are included.

Subscription Databases (Non-Law)

Education Resource Complete
EBSCO's Education Resource Complete database covers scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education and all levels of education from early childhood to higher education.
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center)
ERIC, a service of the U.S. Department of Education's Institute of Education Sciences, provides access to more than 1.2 million bibliographic records and abstracts of journal articles, reports, papers, and books and other education-related materials and, if available, includes links to full text (over 100,000 full-text documents are available in PDF format).

Subject Guide

Joe Mitzenmacher

Email Me

Contact:

Reference & Electronic Services Librarian
Philip H. Corboy Law Center
25 E. Pearson St.
Chicago, IL 60611

312-915-6844