Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Free resources from a variety of Web sites, including blogs, ABA Web sites, organization Web sites, and federal and state government Web sites.
Education Law and Policy Institute: Additional Resources
These lists of free, online education law resources are compiled and maintained by the Education Law and Policy Institute. The lists provide links to primary sources from state and federal government Web sites, research reports and data, and education advocacy organizations.
Blogs and Newsletters
Education Commission of the States: e-Clips
A daily recap of top education news and the latest releases from the Education Commission of the States. You can subscribe to the newsletter via e-mail from the Web site.
Education Commission of the States: Ed Beat
A biweekly newsletter with links to key education policy analysis, research, and reports. You can access the newsletter from the Web site or subscribe to receive it via e-mail from the e-Clips link (above).
Education Week's School Law Blog
Provides news and analysis on legal developments affecting schools, educators, and parents.
Franczek Radelet Education Law E-Newsletter
Published by Franczek Radelet, one of the leading education law firms in Chicago.
National School Boards Association - Legal Clips
Legal Clips is a free service of the National School Boards Association’s Office of General Counsel and the NSBA Council of School Attorneys which provides weekly updates on important and interesting school law issues, as well as information on helpful resources.
RegBlog - Education Law Page
A part of University of Pennsylvania Law School's RegBlog site, this page provides education law-related regulatory news, analysis, and opinion.
Special Education Law Blog
Created by Chicago attorney Charles P. Fox, this blog discusses case law, news, practical advocacy advice, and developments in state and federal laws, statutes and regulations.
Supportive School Discipline e-Digest
The Supportive School Discipline e-Digest addresses school discipline issues that touch not only schools, but communities, courts and law enforcement. Regular contents include news from the U.S. Department of Education and the U.S. Department of Justice and other partner agencies, salient research summaries, examples of effective field practices, announcements submitted by subscribers, and relevant upcoming events.
The Edjurist is a collaborative blog maintained by several professors who mostly teach education law in law schools and education schools. The purpose of the blog is to serve educational and legal practitioners as a resource for information and current events concerning laws and policies in our nation's K-12 schools.
Wrightslaw - Special Ed Advocate Newsletter
The Special Ed Advocate is a free online newsletter about special education legal and advocacy topics. Subscribers learn about new cases, articles, seminars and training, and other useful information about special education law and advocacy.
Other Web Resources
ABA Journal Education Law Page
A chronological listing of ABA Journal stories dealing with education law topics.
Disability.gov - Education Resources
Disability.gov is the federal government website for comprehensive information about disability-related programs, services, policies, laws and regulations. The Education Resources page links to thousands of education-related resources from many different federal government agencies, as well as state and local governments and nonprofit organizations across the country.
Education Commission of the States
The Education Commission of the States is a non-partisan, non-advocacy organization that tracks developments in state education policy and facilitates the exchange of information among state policymakers and education leaders. Their Web site includes research studies and reports, a state legislation tracker, 50-state comparisons on a variety of education issues, and links to state education statutes and administrative codes.
Equip for Equality - Special Education Clinic
Equip for Equality administers the federally mandated Protection & Advocacy System for Illinois, serving as a legal advocate for people with disabilities and as an independent watchdog. Their Special Education Clinic Web site includes links to parent advocacy resources, government special education resources, and disability-specific resources.
Illinois Association of School Boards
The IASB is a voluntary organization of local boards of education dedicated to strengthening the public schools through local citizen control. The "School Law" tab on their Web site provides links to many helpful state and federal education law resources.
National Alliance for Public Charter Schools
The National Alliance for Public Charter Schools speaks and advocates for the millions of students attending and hoping to attend a charter school. This Web site includes a Model State Charter School Law, state and national charter school data, and other relevant research publications.
National Clearinghouse on Supportive School Discipline
According to their Web site, the NCSSD "provides the resources practitioners need to improve conditions for learning, adopt positive approaches to school discipline and stem the pipeline to prison." This site includes links to relevant news and state and national resources.
National Conference of State Legislatures - Education Page
The NCSL Education Program tracks state legislative action on K-12 education, college and career readiness, higher education and adult learning. We gather and conduct research on education topics important to states, provide customized assistance for state legislatures, highlight education policy news and disseminate information on best practices relating to state and federal education issues.
National School Boards Association
NSBA advocates for equity and excellence in public education through school board leadership. Their Web site provides
State Education Agencies
Hosted by the U.S. Department of Education, this Web page provides contact information and Web links for each state's Department of Education.
Wrightslaw provides information about special education law, education law, and advocacy for children with disabilities. The site provides access to thousands of articles, cases, and resources on dozens of special education law sub-topics.