This is the "Getting Started" page of the "International Commercial & Investment Arbitration Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

International Commercial & Investment Arbitration Research  

Last Updated: Sep 22, 2016 URL: http://lawlibguides.luc.edu/content.php?pid=116835 Print Guide RSS Updates

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About

International commercial arbitration is a private dispute resolution mechanism for resolving cross-border commercial disputes, generally based on a contract between the parties. Investment arbitration is a dispute resolution method generally based on a bilateral investment treaty (BIT), a national investment law, or investment agreement.

This guide provides a comprehensive overview of primary and secondary sources that may be utilized to research the general topics of international commercial arbitration and international investment arbitration, as well as more specific sub-topics.  Included are introductory materials, bibliographies, treatises, commercial databases, and free websites.  Suggested resources for locating arbitral awards and decisions are also listed.

Bibliographies

Bibliographies of published materials related to international commercial arbitration are listed below. Note that not all listed publications are in English.

Online Translators

English translations of legal materials, including foreign statutes, are often difficult to locate and can be unreliable.  Only in rare instances are authoritative English translations available.  If authoritative versions are not available, look for "official" translations that are created by, or for, a government organization.  Further, look for synoptic translations, which allow for side-by-side comparisons of the vernacular with the English translation. 

Many online translators are available on the WWW, but these should be used with caution since web translators do not generally include specialized legal or commercial vocabulary.  Online translators, however, may be of some help in getting the general sense of a document or passage.  Examples of WWW translators are:

 

Introductory Material (Electronic)

The following guides to researching international commercial and investment arbitration are available on the WWW. 

 

Introductions to International Commercial Arbitration/Research (Print)

Cover Art
Arbitration in a Nutshell - Thomas E. Carbonneau
Call Number: Library 3rd Floor KF9085 .C37 2012
ISBN: 9780314276155
Publication Date: 2012-02-24
Part of West's popular "Nutshell" series, this volume on the general topic of arbitration includes a chapter on international commercial arbitration. Chapter 9 provides an introduction to the topic, as well as a discussion of the New York Convention and "ICA in the World Community." LUC law students have access to the Nutshell series via West's "Academic Study Aids Subscription."

Cover Art
Research and Practice in International Commercial Arbitration: Sources and Strategies - Stacie Strong
Call Number: Law Main Stacks K2400 .S88 2009
ISBN: 9780199238309
This book offers guidance in researching international commercial arbitration, along with a bibliography of relevant sources. The author also includes tips on presenting a case to an international tribunal.

Cover Art
The Principles and Practice of International Commercial Arbitration - Margaret L. Moses
Call Number: Law Main Stacks and Permanent Reserve K2400 .M65 2012
ISBN: 9781107008786
Publication Date: 2012-03-26
Authored by Loyola Professor Margaret L. Moses, this outstanding overview of international commercial arbitration includes an introduction to the topic, as well as discussions on drafting, applicable laws and rules, arbitral proceedings, and the award. Now in its second edition, the book also contains a chapter on investment arbitration.

Howard M. Holtzmann Research Center for the Study of International Arbitration and Conciliation

The American Society of International Law (ASIL), headquartered in Washington, DC, launched the Center in 2013 to honor Judge Howard M. Holtzmann.  The Center houses a collection of research materials on international arbitration, including Judge Holtzmann’s personal library and papers. The Center also offers a regular program of events, including a speaker series featuring leading figures in the field of international arbitration. 

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Julienne Grant
Contact Info
Philip H. Corboy Law Center
Loyola Law Library
25 E. Pearson
Room 321
312.915.8520
Send Email
 

PowerPoint Presentations

The following are PowerPoint presentations that were prepared for various LUC Law School courses related to international commercial arbitration.

HOW TO BREAK INTO ARBITRATION

This useful guide is designed for students and practitioners interested in entering the field of International Commercial Arbitration.  Included in the list are Young Arbitration Groups, publications, podcasts and websites, moots, newsletters and publications, blogs, and Facebook groups.  The list was compiled jointly by students of the Georgetown International Arbitration Society (“GIAS”) and members of the DC Bar International Dispute Resolution Committee. 

 

Print Research Guide

Prepared in the summer of 2009, and updated in February 2012, this 23-page guide offers instructions and tips on how to research foreign, comparative, and international law at the LUC Law Library.  The annotated guide lists print reference sources, subscription databases, free websites, and current awareness sources that may be useful when approaching foreign, comparative, and international law questions.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip