LibGuides: International Commercial & Investment Arbitration Research: Databases

About

The Loyola Law Library and the Loyola Libraries system subscribe to a number of commercial databases that offer coverage related to international commercial arbitration. These databases are listed below, and at right. Loyola users will need to submit their user IDs and passwords to gain access to these resources from off campus.

Newspapers

General and financial newspapers may be extremely helpful when researching the topic of international commercial arbitration and national arbitration practices. Westlaw and LexisNexis both have good coverage of U.S., international, and foreign newspapers. See also the subscription Access World News and Factiva databases for full-text access to newspapers.

Dissertations & Theses

Dissertations & Theses (Proquest)

Often overlooked by academic legal researchers, dissertations and theses contain exhaustive research and extensive bibliographies. The Proquest Dissertations & Theses database currently includes citations to over two million dissertations and theses from 1861 forward, and full-text access to over one million of these citations. The database's coverage is global, with numerous law-related papers available to download in PDF format. Searches may be conducted in various fields, such as title, author, citation and abstract, and degree awarded.

For open-access dissertations and theses, see:

DART-Europe E-theses Portal

Open Access Theses and Dissertations

Subscription Databases (Law)

Most of the law-related databases listed below are available through the Law Library's website via the "A-Z Databases List" link.

Bloomberg Law
See the "Dealmaker Documents" section of the database for access to over 200,000 documents used in real transactions. Examples of arbitration clauses may be located by searching on the word "arbitration." Bloomberg Law also covers international business and trade. Law students and faculty without Bloomberg Law accounts may sign up for access utilizing an LUC email address.
Foreign Law Guide: Current Sources of Codes and Basic Legislation in Jurisdictions of the World
This title has been a staple in the area of foreign legal research for more than a decade. Included are brief overviews of the legal systems of over 170 jurisdctions, as well as lists of each jurisdiction's codes, court reports, and other significant legal literature. For information on national arbitration laws, check under "Arbitration & Mediation" for each country listing.

Global-Regulation.com This link opens in a new window
Global-Regulation.com is an index that allows you to search (in English) the full text of over 3.5 million statutes and regulations, including over one million translated laws. The site provides links to official, full-text sources, translated into English, from over 100 jurisdictions (including the United States). The internal search engine offers advanced search and analytics capabilities.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline contains scanned images of U.S. and some foreign law reviews and journals back to their inception. "Reports of International Arbitral Awards" is also available (1948 - Current) in the "Foreign & International Law Resources Database."

Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective: 1908 - 1981
Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective provides citations to articles from over 750 law journals, legal newspapers, and bar association journals, covering the years 1908 through 1981. Full text is not included, but once you have ascertained the citations for articles relevant to your research, you can search for the full text in another database, such as HeinOnline's Law Journal Library, or in print.
Investor-State LawGuide (ISLG)
The Investor-State LawGuide database is a one-stop resource for international investment law research. It provides access to treaties, arbitration rules, decisions and awards, and other related documents. In addition to full-text search capability, Investor-State LawGuide's research tools include: the Subject Navigator; the Article Citator (which shows how specific legal instruments relevant to international investment law have been interpreted by tribunals); the Jurisprudence Citator (which shows how specific decisions have been treated by subsequent investment treaty tribunals); and Terms & Phrases searching (which enables you to look for the meaning of terms and phrases that have been defined in treaties and rules or by arbitration tribunals). Click on "Login” in the upper-right corner of the welcome screen to access the database.
Kluwer Arbitration
According to the publisher, Kluwer Arbitration is the "world's leading online resource for international commercial arbitration research." The source provides access to an extensive collection of primary materials, as well as secondary resources, including the journals "Arbitration International" and the "Journal of International Arbitration."
LexisNexis
For law school subscribers, in Lexis +, type in "international arbitration." "International Arbitration: Mealey's Litigation Report" is one of the sources offered through LexisNexis.
Westlaw
For law school subscribers, from the Westlaw Directory screen, go to "International Materials," then "International Arbitration Materials."

Subscription Databases (Non-Law)

Non-law databases are available through the Loyola University Libraries' website. Databases that offer coverage of international commercial and investment arbitration are listed below:

ABI/Inform Global
International in scope, ABI/Inform Global is a searchable database of business journals, online business news, and financial newspapers. The database currently covers over 3,000 publications, with more than 2,000 available in full text.
Academic Search Complete
This is a popular interdiscliplinary database that indexes over 8,000 publications--the majority of which are available in full text.
Business Source Complete
This database includes the full texts of over 2,150 journals that collectively cover all business disciplines, as well as economics. Detailed country and company profiles are also offered. Coverage is international.
EconLit
EconLit is a database of journals, books, and working papers in the field of Economics. Coverage is international.

PowerPoint Presentations

The following are PowerPoint/PDF presentations that were prepared for various LUC Law School courses related to international commercial and investment arbitration.