LibGuides: International Commercial & Investment Arbitration Research: Awards & Decisions

About

Locating arbitral awards and decisions is often problematic, as many awards are not published due to confidentiality agreements between the parties. Listed below are sources that may be of assistance in locating the texts of arbitral awards and decisions.

Locating Awards and Decisions by Topic

New York Arbitration Convention (Decisions by Topic and Country)
This website, an initiative of Professor Albert Jan van den Berg, includes a consolidation of the indices from the Yearbook Commercial Arbitration, with links to the decisions in KluwerArbitration (for subscribers). The site also offers a list of decisions by country, with links to abstracts in KluwerArbitration.
New York Convention 1958
A joint project of Shearman & Sterling, UNCITRAL, and Columbia Law School, the site provides a database of case law on the application and interpretation of the New York Convention, organized by Article and country.
Trans-Lex Principles
The Center for Transnational Law at the University of Cologne has compiled what is essentially a digest of transnational commercial law. Within a section, click on "Click here for full text references," and then the "Awards" or "Court Decisions" tabs.
UNCITRAL Digest of Case Law on the UN CISG
This is the UNCITRAL Digest on the CISG, with links to cited awards and decisions, if available. This online version of the Digest is part of the Pace University Institute of International Commercial Law and the Pace Law Library's Electronic Library on the CISG. Most recent edition is 2016.
UNILEX
UNILEX is a database of international case law and bibliography on the CISG and on the UNIDROIT Principles of International Commercial Contracts. It is sponsored by the Centre for Comparative and Foreign Law Studies – a joint venture of the Italian National Research Council, the University of Rome I “La Sapienza”, and UNIDROIT.
Yearbook Commercial Arbitration: Consolidated List of New York Convention 1958 Commentary Cases
This annual publication contains case excerpts related to the NY Convention and is edited by the International Council for Commercial Arbitration (ICCA). There is an online consolidated list of awards/decisions, organized by Convention section. Subject indices are available in the following volumes: Key 1990 (for I-XV), XX (1991-1995), and XXI-XLI (for individual years 1996-2018). Note that the Yearbooks are available in the KluwerArbitration database, although the subject indices are not.

Arbitral Awards & Decisions (Electronic Format)

Chamber of Arbitration of Milan: "Sanitized" Arbitration Awards
This page includes select decisions and excerpts of arbitral decisions from the Chamber of Arbitration of Milan. Abstracts in English, full texts in Italian.
CLOUT: Case Law on UNCITRAL Texts
The CLOUT database contains abstracts of arbitral decisions and court decisions related to UNCITRAL texts, including the Model Arbitration Law. National correspondents submit the abstracts, which are available back to 1993.
International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes: Online Decisions and Awards
The International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes (ICSID) provides access to "publicly available information on decisions and awards." There are currently over 600 documents posted--the oldest decision going back to 1988. The "List of Concluded" cases may also provide citations to sources where decisions are published in print.
International Chamber of Commerce (Dispute Resolution Library)
Provides subscription access to all extracts from ICC arbitral awards that have been published in the ICC International Court of Arbitration Bulletin, and summaries of ICC arbitral awards originally published in the Cahiers de l’arbitrage of the Gazette du Palais. See a reference librarian in the Law Library for access info.
italaw
This site, maintained by Professor Andrew Newcome of the University of Victoria, includes access to all publicly available investment treaty awards, along with general information and resources relating to investment treaties and investment treaty arbitration.
KluwerArbitration
Decisions related to the New York Convention are available under the category of "NY Convention Decisions" and also in the "Yearbook Commercial Arbitration." Use the "Advanced Search" function to search for other awards. Subscription only.
New York Convention 1958
A joint project of Shearman & Sterling, UNCITRAL, and Columbia Law School, the site provides a database of case law on the application and interpretation of the New York Convention from national courts throughout the globe.
Permanent Court of Arbitration: Cases
The PCA facilitates arbitration and dispute resolution between states. Some decisions are available on the PCA website; archival awards are being added in cooperation with the Hague Justice Portal.
Reports of International Arbitral Awards (via HeinOnline)
These are the digital versions of the U.N. volumes that contain collections of select international and national arbitral decisions. Volumes are published annually, with the first appearing in 1948. Decisions involve conflicts between nations, and are published in English or French.
Reports of International Arbitral Awards (via UN site)
This is the same series as described above, as posted on the U.N. website.
UNCTAD Database of Treaty-Based Investor-State Dispute Settlement Cases
According to the UNCTAD description, the database is "a collection of publicly known treaty-based investor-State dispute settlement cases, shown by year, parties, applicable rules or venues, available decisions and status. The displayed data is based on extensive research and interviews, but represents only those claims which were disclosed by the parties or arbitral institutions."
Westlaw: Arbitration Awards & Case Law Databases
There are a number of databases in Westlaw that contain texts and excerpts of international arbitration awards and cases. There are, for example, databases for Australian, Canadian, EU, and UK awards and decisions. From the WestlawNext Directory screen, go to "International Materials," then "International Arbitration Materials."

Arbitral Awards & Decisions (Print Format)

The following items are held in the Loyola Law Library.

Collection of ICC Arbitral Awards 2001-2007 by Jean-Jacques Arnaldez
Call Number: Semester Reserve K2400 .A495 C65 1990
ISBN: 9041128778
Publication Date: 2009-06-26
Contains an analytical table by topic at the front of the volume.
Collection of ICC arbitral awards = Recueil des sentences arbitrales de la CCI 1974-1985 (Vol. 1) by Sigvard Jarvin. et al., comp.
Call Number: Semester Reserve K2400 .A495 C65 1990
ISBN: 9065443975
Contains an analytical table by topic at the front of the volume.
Digest of ICSID Awards and Decisions: 1974-2002 by Richard Happ; Noah Rubins
Call Number: Law Main Stacks K3829.5 .H37 2013
ISBN: 0199641153
Publication Date: 2013-05-19
French International Arbitration Law Reports: 1963-2007 by Thomas Clay and Philippe Pinsolle, eds.
Call Number: K2400.A53 F74
ISBN: 9781937518370
Publication Date: 2014
ICSID Cases, 1972-1987 by International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes
Call Number: Law Main Stacks K2400 .I582 1987
Publication Date: 1987
ICSID Reports: Reports of Cases decided under the Convention on the Settlement of Investment Disputes between States and Nationals of Other States, 1965 by Research Centre for International Law, University of Cambridge
Call Number: Law Main Stacks K3834 .A495 I27
Publication Date: 1993-2009 (v. 2- v. 14)
International Arbitration Court Decisions by Sigvard Jarvin and Annette Magnusson, eds.
Call Number: Semester Reserve K2400 .A54157 2008
ISBN: 1933833084
Publication Date: 2008
International Arbitration Court Decisions by Stephen Bond and Frédéric Bachand, eds.
Call Number: Semester Reserve K2400 .A54 2011
ISBN: 1933833734
Publication Date: 2011
Model Law Decisions: Cases Applying the UNCITRAL Model Law on International Commercial Arbitration (1985-2001) by Henri C. Alvarez
Call Number: Semester Reserve K2400 .A95 2003
ISBN: 9041119256
SCC Arbitral Awards, 1999-2003 by Sigvard Jarvin; Annette Magnusson; Stockholms handelskammares skiljedomsinstitut Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: Law Main Stacks K2400 .A54 2006
ISBN: 9781929446889
Publication Date: 2006-01-01
SCC Arbitral Awards, 2004-2009 by Linn Bergman; Stephen Bond; Stockholms handelskammares skiljedomsinstitut Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: Law Main Stacks K2400 .A54 2011
ISBN: 1933833696
Publication Date: 2011-01-01
Yearbook Commercial Arbitration
Call Number: Law Main Stacks K2400 .Y36
ISBN: 1989418
Holdings: 1976- 2018. Also available in the KluwerArbitration database. Published annually, these volumes contain excerpts of decisions related to the New York Convention.

PowerPoint Presentations

The following are PowerPoint/PDF presentations that were prepared for various LUC Law School courses related to international commercial and investment arbitration.

American Lawyer: Arbitration Scorecard

The "Focus Europe" section in American Lawyer has traditionally published an "Arbitration Scorecard" every two years (most recent in 2015), which includes descriptions of the top arbitral awards globally. Print editions of American Lawyer are available at K1 .M492 on the 4th Floor of the Law Library back to 1997. American Lawyer is also available in LexisNexis.