Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide provides a comprehensive overview for researchers investigating art and cultural property law in a global context. Introductory materials are included, as well as treatises, commercial databases, and free websites. When researching in these areas, keep in mind that a variety of related terms may be utilized, such as art forgeries, art thefts, visual arts law, museum law, cultural heritage law, etc.
So, You Want To Be An Art Lawyer?
Bar Associations: Committees and Sections Dedicated to Art/Cultural Property Law
This list, compiled by the Center for Art Law, includes U.S. and international bar associations' sections and committees that are dedicated to art and cultural property law practice.
The Center for Art Law is located in Brooklyn, New York, and "serves artists and students, academics and legal practitioners, collectors and dealers, government officials and others in the field, and explores the many facets of this exciting and continually developing field of legal practice."
Introductions to Art Law Research (WWW)
The following guides to researching art law are available on the WWW.
Art Law Research Guide
Part of the Georgetown Law Library's series on legal research, this guide includes descriptions of relevant primary and secondary sources, as well as useful websites.
Art Law Research Guide
The Wake Forest University Professional Center Library (Law) has compiled this comprehensive electronic guide.
Cultural Property Research Guide
This guide, created and maintained by staff at the University of Iowa Law Library, provides guidance for researching legal issues related to cultural property. The platform includes links to applicable domestic laws and international treaties.
Peace Palace Library: Cultural Heritage Research Guide
This online guide includes an introduction, bibliography, suggested works, a list of blogs, and links to other resources related to cultural heritage. Compiled by staff at the Peace Palace Library in The Hague.
Sotheby's Institute of Art Libraries
Sotheby's Institute of Art Libraries in New York offers over sixty electronic research guides related to art, art law, and the art business.
Introductions to Art and Cultural Property Law (Print)
Loyola Law Library Holdings List
The following handout was originally prepared in 2013 and was most recently updated in April 2020. The list includes the law library's holdings in the areas of art law, museum law, and cultural property. Books in print and eBook format are included, along with journal titles and relevant databases.