LibGuides: Art & Cultural Property Law Research : Databases

About

The Loyola Law Library and the Loyola Libraries system subscribe to a number of commercial databases that offer coverage related to art and cultural property law. These databases are listed below and at right. Loyola users will need to submit their user IDs and passwords to gain access to these resources from off campus.

Newspapers

General and financial newspapers may be extremely helpful when researching developments in the areas of art law and cultural property. Westlaw and LexisNexis both have good coverage of U.S., international, and foreign newspapers. See also the subscription Access World News and Factiva databases for full-text access to newspapers and trade publications. English-language newspapers published abroad can also be helpful; see e.g., the Santiago Times.

Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals

The Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (IFLP) indexes foreign (including some non-English language) law reviews and journals. The Index is available in print in the 3rd Floor Reference Section at K33 .I5, as well as through HeinOnline.

Subscription Databases (Law)

The law-related databases listed below are available through the Law Library's Web site via the A-Z Databases page.

Art Antiquity and Law - HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
This HeinOnline collection contains complete coverage of Art Antiquity and Law, a quarterly journal designed to inform those who work in the art and antiquity world about the law governing the profession and its activities, as well as the policies behind the law. Also included are several books on this topic. Documents can be viewed as high quality scanned images of the original print pages and can be printed or downloaded and saved as PDF files.
Bloomberg Law This link opens in a new window
Bloomberg Law is a full-service legal research service that provides access to U.S. federal and state primary law, Bloomberg BNA commentary and analysis, news, company information, dockets, and more. Current Law School students and faculty are assigned individual passwords which permit full access to the site's content year-round (including during the summer months) and for six months after graduation, with no academic use restrictions.

Foreign Law Guide: Current Sources of Codes and Basic Legislation in Jurisdictions of the World
This title has been a staple in the area of foreign legal research for more than a decade. Included are brief overviews of the legal systems of over 170 jurisdctions, as well as lists of each jurisdiction's codes, court reports, and other significant legal literature. For information on art-related and/or cultural property laws, check under the "Art," "Cultural Property," and/or "Culture, Entertainment, and Sports" headings for each country listing. Note that there is a separate entry for the European Union.

Global-Regulation.com This link opens in a new window
Global-Regulation.com is an index that allows you to search (in English) the full text of over 3.5 million statutes and regulations, including over one million translated laws. The site provides links to official, full-text sources, translated into English, from over 100 jurisdictions (including the United States). The internal search engine offers advanced search and analytics capabilities.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline contains scanned images of U.S. and some foreign law reviews and journals back to their inception.

Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective: 1908-1981
Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective provides citations to articles from over 750 law journals, legal newspapers, and bar association journals, covering the years 1908 through 1981. Full text is not included, but once you have ascertained the citations for articles relevant to your research, you can search for the full text in another database, such as HeinOnline's Law Journal Library, or in print.
LexisNexis
This is a well-known legal information service that includes case law, statutes, and secondary materials. Business and news databases are also included. Law school subscribers only.

Practising Law Institute - PLI PLUS This link opens in a new window
PLI PLUS is an ebook platform that provides access to treatises, course handbooks, and answer books on a variety of topics from the Practising Law Institute (PLI), a highly-respected non-profit continuing legal education organization. You can search the collection by keyword, book or chapter title, author, or subject. You can even create a free PLI account (using your LUC email address) to save favorite titles and to highlight and annotate content. PLI Plus includes several titles relevant to art law, including "Art of the Art Deal" (2017) and "Art Law: The Guide for Collectors, Investors, Dealers & Artists" (2020).

Westlaw
This is a comprehensive legal research service that includes case law, statutes, and secondary materials. Law School subscribers only. Click on "International Materials" to access non-U.S. sources.

Subscription Databases (Non-Law)

Non-law databases are available through the Loyola University Libraries' website. Several databases that offer coverage of the business/economic aspects of fine arts are listed below, along with well-known arts databases. For a full list of arts-related databases available through LUC, see the LUC Libraries page for fine arts research.

ABI/Inform Global
International in scope, ABI/Inform Global is a searchable database of business journals, online business news, and financial newspapers. The database currently covers over 3,000 publications, with more than 2,000 available in full text.
Art Full Text
This H.W. Wilson database covers the arts, from architecture to video. Art publications worldwide are included, and the database serves as a comprehensive record of art reproductions that appear in the indexed publications. Full-text articles from over 320 publications, dating from 1977, are featured.
Art Index Retrospective, 1929-1984
Art Index Retrospective provides indexing of nearly 600 publications and citations of more than 25,000 book reviews. The database cites articles from periodicals published between 1929 and 1984, including exhibition catalogs and conference reports.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index
This database provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information and cited references found in over 1,700 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals. Part of the "Web of Science" core collection. Coverage is 1990 forward.
Business Periodicals Index Retrospective: 1913-1982
According to the publisher, this database provides "indexing of more than 1,000 periodicals—including scholarly journals, trade publications, and magazines—with citations to more than 2,500,000 articles, including book reviews."
Business Source Complete
This database includes the full texts of over 2,000 journals that collectively cover all business disciplines, as well as economics. Coverage is international.
Humanities & Social Sciences Retrospective, 1907-1984
This database indexes nearly 1,200 periodicals from 1907-1984 (including 240,000+ book reviews). A wide range of interdisciplinary fields are covered in a broad array of humanities and social sciences journals.
JSTOR
JSTOR is a popular interdisciplinary database with scanned images of academic journals. Filters include "Art & Art History, "Arts," and "Law."
Oxford Art Online
This electronic resource includes the full text of The Dictionary of Art (34 volumes, edited by Jane Turner), the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, and other Oxford art reference sources. The database is updated three times per year. An extensive entry on "Law and Art" is available in the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics.
Project Muse
Over 380 electronic full-text journals are included in this popular database. Specialized fields within the broader area of "Art & Architecture" are covered, including "Historic Preservation" and "Museum Studies."

Dissertations & Theses

Dissertations & Theses (Proquest)

Often overlooked by academic legal researchers, dissertations and theses contain exhaustive research and extensive bibliographies. The Proquest Dissertations & Theses database currently includes citations to over two million dissertations and theses from 1861 forward, and full-text access to over one million of these citations. The database's coverage is global, with numerous law-related papers available to download in PDF format. Searches may be conducted in various fields, such as title, author, citation and abstract, and degree awarded.

For open-access dissertations and theses, see:

DART-Europe E-theses Portal

Open Access Theses and Dissertations

Theses Canada

Loyola Law Library Holdings List

Holdings in Art Law, Museum Law, and Cultural Property Law (Updated April 2020)

This handout was originally prepared in 2013 and was most recently updated in April 2020. The list includes the Law Library's holdings in the areas of art law, museum law, and cultural property. Books in print and eBook format are included, along with journal titles and relevant databases.