LibGuides: Art & Cultural Property Law Research : Web Resources

About

There are numerous free websites and blogs that can assist in researching the areas of art and cultural property law. Some of these resources are listed below and at right.

Blogs

The following are links to lists of active blogs that focus on art law and/or culture heritage law.

International and National Organizations

Art Law WWW Resources

ArThemis: Art-Law Centre, University of Geneva
According to the website description, ArThemis is "a fully searchable database containing case notes about art and cultural property disputes settled through alternative resolution methods or traditional judicial proceedings." ArThemis resulted from a research study on "Alternative Dispute Resolution Mechanisms and Cultural Property," which was started in 2010 by the Art-Law Centre of the University of Geneva. ArThemis is now under the auspices of the UNESCO Chair in the International Law of the Protection of Cultural Heritage at the University of Geneva.
The Art Newspaper
Digital version of the print publication that covers all aspects of the world of art. Coverage is international.
ArtsJournal
Founded in 1999, this source provides current news from the art world. According to the site description, "The site is a digest of some of the best arts and cultural journalism in the English-speaking world. Each day ArtsJournal features link to stories culled from around the internet, including blogs and more than 200 English-language newspapers, magazines and publications featuring writing about arts and culture." The site's editor is a former arts columnist and arts reporter with the Seattle Post-Intelligencer and the Seattle Weekly.
Center for Art Law
The Center for Art Law is located in Brooklyn, New York, and "serves artists and students, academics and legal practitioners, collectors and dealers, government officials and others in the field, and explores the many facets of this exciting and continually developing field of legal practice." The website is densely populated with information, including a calendar of events, postings on art law developments, and a video library.
Commission for Looted Art in Europe
According to the website, CLAE is "an international, expert and non-profit representative body which researches, identifies and recovers looted property on behalf of families, communities, institutions and governments worldwide." CLAE is headquartered in London. The site provides access to case information and press releases.
GlobaLex
This website, hosted and published by NYU's Hauser Global Law School Program, provides articles on researching law in a multitude of jurisdictions. Some entries focus on locating English translations. Always check for the most recent versions of the articles, which tend to be updated periodically.
International Foundation for Art Research (IFAR)
Established in 1969, IFAR is located in New York, NY. According to its website, it is a "not-for-profit educational and research organization dedicated to integrity in the visual arts." The website is densely populated with useful information, including the International Cultural Property/Ownership & Export Legislation (ICPOEL) database and a section on case law and statutes.
Nazi-Era Provenance Internet Portal Project
The portal is a searchable registry of objects in U.S. museum collections that changed hands in Europe during the Nazi era. The site is managed and produced by the American Alliance of Museums.

Cultural Property WWW Resources

ArThemis: Art-Law Centre, University of Geneva
According to the website description, ArThemis is "a fully searchable database containing case notes about art and cultural property disputes settled through alternative resolution methods or traditional judicial proceedings." ArThemis resulted from a research study on "Alternative Dispute Resolution Mechanisms and Cultural Property," which was started in 2010 by the Art-Law Centre of the University of Geneva. ArThemis is now under the auspices of the UNESCO Chair in the International Law of the Protection of Cultural Heritage at the University of Geneva.
Cultural Heritage at the Council of Europe
This site serves as a gateway to information on cultural heritage for the Council of Europe's member states. Included is access to the HEREIN System, which is a database of cultural heritage policies and legislation.
International Centre for the Study of the Preservation and Restoration of Cultural Property
According to its website, "ICCROM is an intergovernmental organization working in service to its Member States to promote the conservation of all forms of cultural heritage, in every region of the world." The website provides access to a variety of useful news and publications. ICCROM is based in Rome.
International Foundation for Art Research (IFAR)
Established in 1969, IFAR is located in New York, NY. According to its website, it is a "not-for-profit educational and research organization dedicated to integrity in the visual arts." The website is densely populated with useful information, including the International Cultural Property/Ownership & Export Legislation (ICPOEL) database and a section on case law and statutes.
U.S. Department of State Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs Cultural Heritage Center
The U.S. DOS' Cultural Heritage Center specializes in the protection and preservation of cultural property. The website includes a media centre and information on the Iraq and Syria Cultural Heritage Initiatives.
UNESCO Database of Cultural Heritage Laws
This is a database of national cultural heritage laws in the vernacular, as well as any available official or unofficial English-language translations. The database may be searched by country, heritage category, theme, type of instrument, and also by language.
UNESCO Legal Instruments: Culture
This is a compendium of international agreements and recommendations related to cultural property.
UNESCO World Heritage Centre
The UNESCO World Heritage Centre website includes a list of World Heritage sites, as well as detailed information on World Heritage, including the World Heritage Convention.
WIPO Lex
Part of the World Intellectual Property Organization's website, this is an international database of IP and cultural heritage laws. The database is searchable by country and subject. Some English translations are available.

American Bar Association: Art & Cultural Heritage Law Commmittee

The Art & Cultural Heritage Law Committee is part of the ABA's Section of International Law. A membership in the Section of International Law is needed to access the Committee's webpage.

Loyola Law Library Holdings List

Holdings in Art Law, Museum Law, and Cultural Property Law (Updated April 2020)

This handout was originally prepared in 2013 and was most recently updated in April 2020. The list includes the Law Library's holdings in the areas of art law, museum law, and cultural property. Books in print and eBook format are included, along with journal titles and relevant databases.