LibGuides: Military and Veteran Law Guide: Law

Research Questions?

If you need help finding a resource or understanding how to use a resource, please contact our Reference Services by phone at (312) 915-7205, by e-mail at LoyolaLawReference@luc.edu, or in person at the Reference Desk (Law Library, 3rd floor).

Federal Statutes

The following links are to the United States Code at the Office of the Law Revision Council. If you need to cite check or find annotations, use Westlaw or Lexis.

Armed Forces
Title 10 of the United States Code covers the Armed Forces, including general military law, army, navy, marine corps, air force, and space force.
Coast Guard
Title 14 of the United States Code covers the Coast Guard.
National Guard
Title 32 of the United States Code covers the National Guard.
Veterans' Benefits
Title 38 of the United States Code covers Veterans' Benefits.
War and National Defense
Title 50 of the United States Code covers war and national defense.
Uniform Code of Military Justice
The Uniform Code of Military Justice, governing conduct of the armed forces, is at 10 U.S.C. §§ 801-946a.

Federal Regulations

The links below are to the eCFR. For a cite checking and annotations, use Westlaw or Lexis.

National Defense, 32 CFR Part 1 et al.
Title 32 of the CFR covers national defense, including Department of the Army, Navy, and Air force.
Pensions, Bonuses, and Veterans' Relief, 38 CFR Part 0 et al.
Title 38 of the CFR covers veterans' pensions, bonuses, and relief. This link is to the eCFR.

Cases

Westlaw and Lexis are good resources for searching cases relating to military and veteran issues.

Lexis--Military and Veterans Law--Cases
Lexis Id. and password required.
Cases relating to military and veterans law, including cases in the Court of Appeals for Armed Forces, Courts of Criminal Appeals for the military branches, U.S. Military Commission Review, and U.S. Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims.
Westlaw--Military Law--Cases
Westlaw Id. and password required.
Cases relating to military and veteran issues, including cases in the federal district and appellate courts, U.S. Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims, Courts of Criminal Appeals for the military branches, U.S. Court of Appeals for the Armed Forces, and U.S. Court of Military Commission Review.

Illinois Statutes and Regulations

Military Code of Illinois
20 ILCS 1805/1 et seq.
Illinois Code of Military Justice
20 ILCS 1807/1 et seq.
Military Property Act
20 ILCS 1810/1 et seq
Illinois State Guard Act
20 ILCS 1815/1-1 et seq.
Illinois National Guardsman's Compensation Act
20 ILCS 1825/1 et seq.
Veterans' Affairs Department Act
20 ILCS 2805/0.01 et seq.
Veterans and Service Members Support
For various services and benefits to support veterans and current service members, see Chapter 330 of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS).
Illinois Administrative Code - Title 95: Veterans and Military Affairs
Contains regulations promulgated by the Illinois Department of Veterans' Affairs

Law Library

Address

Loyola University Chicago
School of Law Library
Philip H. Corboy Law Center
25 E. Pearson Street
Chicago, IL 60611

Email

Access and borrowing questions:
Law-Library@luc.edu
Research questions: LoyolaLawReference@luc.edu

Phone Numbers

Main: 312.915.7200
Circulation: 312.915.6986
Reference: 312.915.7205
Interlibrary Loan: 312.915.7202
Fax: 312.915.6797