LibGuides: Military and Veteran Law Guide: Secondary Sources

Research Questions?

If you need help finding a resource or understanding how to use a resource, please contact our Reference Services by phone at (312) 915-7205, by e-mail at LoyolaLawReference@luc.edu, or in person at the Reference Desk (Law Library, 3rd floor).

Books in Databases or Online

All Military & Veterans Law Treatises, Guides & Jurisprudence
Lexis Id. and password required.
This collection includes books on procedure and evidence in court-martials and other military courts, veterans' rights and benefits, and military family law.
Military and Government--Books
HeinOnline
Loyola Id. and password required.
Resource includes numerous books on military topics, including many historical books dating as early as the 1700s.
Military Law: Criminal Justice and Administrative Process
Westlaw Id. and password required
Resource describes military law, investigations, court- martial, procedures, and punishment.
Military Law in a Nutshell
This resource is online in the West Academic Study Aids Collection.
Military Service and the Law 2022 Edition (IICLE)
A handbook in the IICLE Online Library, available only to current members of the Loyola Chicago Law School community. Current Loyola law students can register for free IICLE online access by going to the IICLE Law Student Resource Kit page (https://www.iicle.com/student) and creating an account (note that you must use your LUC e-mail account to register).
Also available in print (KFI 1695 .M55 2022)
Oxford Encyclopedia of Medieval Warfare and Military Technology
Provides information on military and warfare in the Middle Ages.

Books in the library

To find books in the library, search in the Library Catalog. Some sample books are listed below.

To find books in Westlaw, Lexis, or HeinOnline, see Books in Databases.

Veterans appeals guidebook : representing veterans in the U.S. Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims
Ronald L. Smith, 2013
Veterans' benefits and care
Matthew H. Bradley, 2010
Veteran's benefits a guide to state programs
R.E. Armstrong, Terry P. Ruzutti, 2001
Veterans benefits : a legal research guide
Lauren M. Collins, 2017

Journals

Military Law, Law Reviews, and Journals
Westlaw Id. and password required.
All Military & Veterans Law Reviews and Journals
Lexis Id. and password required.
Military and Government Serials and Periodicals
HeinOnline
Loyola Id. and password required.
Military and Government Scholarly Articles
HeinOnline
Loyola Id. and password required.
Military and Government Collection
This database from Loyola University's main library provides full text and abstracts for publications on military topics.

Law Library

Address

Loyola University Chicago
School of Law Library
Philip H. Corboy Law Center
25 E. Pearson Street
Chicago, IL 60611

Email

Access and borrowing questions:
Law-Library@luc.edu
Research questions: LoyolaLawReference@luc.edu

Phone Numbers

Main: 312.915.7200
Circulation: 312.915.6986
Reference: 312.915.7205
Interlibrary Loan: 312.915.7202
Fax: 312.915.6797