To find an item in Loyola's collection that is not listed at right, please use Loyola's online catalog. Some suggested Library of Congress Subject Headings for titles on Latin American law are:
Law--Latin America
Rule of Law--Latin America
Civil Law--Latin America
Human Rights--Latin America
Judicial Process--Latin America
Justice, Administration of--Latin America
Latin America--Politics and Government
To locate books on individual countries, substitute "Latin America" with the name of the country (e.g., Law--Chile).
To locate books in libraries outside the Loyola University Chicago system, use the WorldCat database. Loyola Chicago Law School patrons should use ILLiad to request materials from non-Loyola libraries.
There are several Web-based initiatives that serve as online repositories for books:
HathiTrust: HathiTrust is a partnership of over 50 major research institutions and libraries. Works that are in the public domain contained in the HathiTrust database are available to all researchers. Many search options are offered, including full-text.
Google Books: Books contained in Google Books come from two sources: 1) the Library Project; and 2) the Partner Program. Books included from the partnered Library Project that are no longer in copyright may be viewed in full text, while only snippets of books still in copyright are available. Only previews of books are available through the Partner Program.
The following book provides a good introduction to specialized Spanish legal terminology:
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture by 
Encyclopedia of World Constitutions by 
The Oxford International Encyclopedia of Legal History by 
Big Law in Latin America and Spain by 
Comparative Constitutional Law in Latin America by 
The Inter-American Human Rights System by 
Latin American Constitutionalism,1810-2010 by 
A Latin American Guide to the International Court of Justice Case Law by 
Latin American Law by 
Latin American Law (3rd edition) by 
Latin American Lawyers: a Historical Introduction by 
Law and Society in Latin America by 
Making Constitutions: Presidents, Parties, and Institutional Choice in Latin America by 
Memory, Truth, and Justice in Contemporary Latin America by 
Same-Sex Marriage in Latin America by 
Transplanting International Courts: The Law and Politics of the Andean Tribunal of Justice by Bilingual Spanish/English legal dictionaries are located in the 3rd Floor Reference Section in the K52 range.
Dahl's Law Dictionary: Spanish/English and English/Spanish by The Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC) contains millions of items related to the Caribbean region. Its multiple partners include the University of Florida, Florida International University, and the University of Miami.
Part of the National Autonomous University of Mexico's (UNAM) Instituto de Investigaciones Jurídicas, the virtual Biblioteca contains the full texts of monographs, journals, and other materials. The content emphasis is Mexico, but other Latin American countries are also covered.
