Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The listed law journals, reviews, newspapers, and magazines are published by law schools or organizations within Illinois. Many are available via Westlaw, Lexis, or HeinOnline, which is accessible from on campus, or from off campus with a valid Loyola user ID and password. Others are also available in print in the Law Library.
To find citations to articles from other law journals on Illinois law or about the treatment of specific legal topics in Illinois (or other jurisdictions) s search by keyword or subject using our Library Catalog. If a full text, online version of an article is available then the Library Catalog record will include a link; otherwise you can find it in print. Our print law journals are located on the 4th floor of the Library.
Other Illinois Journals and Reviews
The following are major journals and reviews published by other Illinois law schools. Links to their websites are provided, but most are also available in HeinOnline, Lexis and Westlaw, and in print.
Legal Newspapers and Journals
These newspapers and magazines offer timely coverage of Illinois legal issues, cases, legislation and legal community news. A link to the website for each is provided below, along with a notation about other access methods.
Chicago Daily Law Bulletin
Known as the Law Bulletin, this daily paper is a primary source for the Chicago legal community. It contains stories and columns on a broad range of Illinois legal topics, noteworthy cases and legislation, and events. Dockets, court calls, and ads are also included. Subscription required for online access.
Illinois Bar Journal
This monthly magazine of the Illinois State Bar Association (ISBA) has a practical focus on Illinois legal questions and topics. Look for the "Finding Illinois Law" column for regular tips on conducting legal research in Illinois sources. The Law Library provides access to the Illinois Bar Journal for current members of the Loyola community through our subscription to HeinOnline.
The CBA Record is published seven times a year for members of the Chicago Bar Association and focuses on current events in the law and on issues of general interest to the legal community of Chicago. The Law Library provides access to the CBA Record for current members of the Loyola community through our subscription to HeinOnline.
Loyola Law Journals
These journals and reviews are published by Loyola Law students. With the exception of the Loyola Law Journal (which has a broad topical range) the coverage in each of these publications is limited to the topic indicated in its title. None are geographically limited to Illinois legal issues, but they can be a good starting point when searching for law review and journal articles. Consult LegalTrac (see Instructions, at left, or the Databases tab, above, for the link) to find articles on particular topics and from a broad range of journals, both academic and practice-oriented.
Annals of Health Law and Life Sciences
Annals of Health Law and Life Sciences, the twice-yearly Health Policy and Law Review of Loyola University Chicago, publishes articles of general interest to those researching health law topics. The "Advance Directive" link on its website leads to an accompanying online component.
Children's Legal Rights Journal
Published three times per year with the cooperation of the National Association of Counsel for Children, this journal covers legal issues for those who want to be effective advocates for their child clients.
Consumer Law Review
Published three times per year, Loyola Consumer Law Review covers legal issues relevant to consumers and aims to reach practitioners and consumers as well as academics.
International Law Review
Published semi-annually, this journal delves into both international and comparative law topics. The journal also hosts an annual symposium on a current event topic.
Journal of Regulatory Compliance
The Journal of Regulatory Compliance is published annually, focusing on the role of regulatory compliance in today’s business landscape.
Journal on Rule of Law
The Journal on Rule of Law is published annually and emphasizes making feasible recommendations for improvement in understanding, adhering to and promoting the rule of law worldwide.
Loyola Law Journal
Loyola Law School's primary scholarly publication, this quarterly journal publishes articles that examine and analyze developments in the law. Contributors are academics, practitioners and judges.
Public Interest Law Reporter
Part of the Center for Public Service Law, this publication provides articles on economic justice, the environment, human rights, and more. The journal also hosts an annual symposium on a high-profile, current legal issue.