Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The listed law-related databases are also available through the Law Library's Web site. Lexis and Westlaw require user IDs and passwords. The other resources are available to on campus users and off campus users who have valid Loyola IDs and passwords.
Setting Up "Alerts"
Many databases allow you to sign up for a notification, or "alert," system which will tell you when a search you have previously run has yielded new results. These offer a great way to keep up with new developments on a legal question or topic without having to proactively rerun your searches. The procedures for setting up such alerts differ from database to database. If you cannot find directions within a particular database, ask for help in the Law Library.
IICLE Online Library
IICLE Online Library is an important database to consult when researching an Illinois legal issue. It consists of publications of the Illinois Institute for Continuing Legal Education (IICLE) that are aimed at legal professionals who need "to the point" discussions of issues and citations to relevant primary authorities.
IICLE Online Library
IICLE Online Library contains downloadable handbooks, seminar course materials, and QuickGuides. Many IICLE publications include downloadable forms. They are also available in print, in the Law Library's 3rd floor Reference collection, but the print copies cannot be checked out. Online access is available only to current Loyola Law School users and only from on-campus computers.
Other Databases (Law)
As noted above, SmartBooks (IICLE Online) should be a first stop database for Illinois law research. Among the many other databases to which the Law Library maintains subscriptions, the following contain materials that should also be particularly helpful to such research. Lexis and Westlaw are huge databases, so instructions for zeroing in on available Illinois materials within them are included for each.
To find Illinois-specific materials in Bloomberg Law, click on the "State Law" link on the main page, then click on Illinois on the U.S. map. Bloomberg Law provides access to Illinois primary and secondary law, including state court dockets for many Illinois counties (including Cook County).
HeinOnline contains full-text, scanned images of U.S. law reviews and journals back to their inception. In many cases coverage continues to the current year. Articles can be printed or downloaded as PDF files. Most academic journals and reviews, including all major titles published by Illinois law schools, are included.
To find Illinois-specific materials in Lexis, from the main Lexis Advance screen click on "Browse", then "Sources", then "By Jurisdiction", then "Illinois". Primary and secondary materials, including case law, statutes, administrative materials, treatises and more are included.
To find a list of Illinois-specific materials in Westlaw, click on the "State Materials" tab on the main screen, and then click on "Illinois." Primary and secondary materials, including case law, statutes, administrative materials, treatises and more are included.