Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
site header image

Illinois Law Research Guide: Books

Introduction

Selected books and sets accessible through the Loyola Law Library are linked from this page.  To find sources that are not on this list, please use Loyola's online catalog.  Records for books included in our Lexis and Westlaw subscriptions also appear in the catalog.

To find Illinois specific materials on particular legal topics, look for a subject heading that includes both the geographic and topical elements.  Some suggested examples are:

Civil Procedure--Illinois.

Legal Research--Illinois.

Trial Practice--Illinois.

You also can browse the shelves in the Law Library for print Illinois materials, which are shelved on the 3rd floor at call numbers beginning with KFI.

To locate books in libraries outside the Loyola University Chicago System, use the WorldCat database (valid Loyola ID and password required).

Research Overviews

For helpful overviews of the process of conducting legal research in Illinois, take a look at these books in the Law Library's print collection:

Accessing Books - Print and Electronic

Presented below are links to the catalog records for select titles in the Law Library's print collection, along with references to the Lexis and Westlaw databases in which many also appear.  These titles are listed in in four categories:

To search the catalog for more titles, follow the directions in the Introduction box to the left of this screen.

Access to Lexis and Westlaw is limited to those with current Lexis and Westlaw IDs and passwords. Access to the IICLE Online Library is limited to currently-affiliated members of the Law School community.

Secondary Sources & Practitioner Materials

Secondary sources help you to locate and understand primary authorities.  Practitioner materials tend to focus on practical rather than theoretical legal questions and can help you understand and find primary authorities.  Often practitioner materials like IICLE handbooks and formbooks include helpful practice forms and checklists.  

One can locate a nearly complete list of available titles online by going to Westlaw > Illinois > Secondary Sources and LexisNexis > Illinois > Secondary Sources, and IICLE Online Library.  Check the online catalog (See Introduction, at left) for many more.

Use of LexisNexis, Westlaw and IICLE Online Library is restricted to current Loyola Law School students, staff, and faculty.

A very limited selection of titles is set out here.

Case Law Research

Illinois case law consists of opinions issued by the judicial branch of Illinois government.  The opinions are printed and reprinted in sets of books known as "reporters."  Use the following sources in our library's collection to locate and read the opinions in print.

See the Web Resources and Databases tabs, above, for electronic options for finding Illinois opinions.

Statutory Law Research

Illinois statutory law consists of legislation passed by the Illinois General Assembly, legislative branch of Illinois government.  The following print sources from our collection contain the subject-based codification of the text of those statutes and references to case law interpreting them.

See the Web Resources and Databases tabs, above, for electronic options for these sources.

Administrative Law Research

Administrative law consists of rules, regulations, and decisions issued by the executive branch.  It differs from statutory law, but is often confused with it.  The following print sources from our library's collection contain material relevant to administrative law research in Illinois.  (NOTE: There is no officially issued compilation of the Illinois Administrative Code in print.)

See the Web Resources and Databases tabs, above, for electronic options for these sources.

Subject Guide

Patricia Scott's picture
Patricia Scott
Contact:
Director, Law Library & Clinical Professor of Law

Philip H. Corboy Law Center

25 E. Pearson St.

Chicago, IL 60611

(312) 915-8515