LibGuides: Paralegal Resource Guide: Web Resources

Introduction

The resources listed in the Web Resources section of this guide are available for free on the web.

Lists of selected web resources are available in the following categories: Legal Research, Organizations and Associations, and Searching for Jobs.

Scroll over the red Web Resources tab, above, and choose one of the categories that appear below it.

Evalulating Web Resources

Evaluating Websites and Other Information Sources (SIU Law Library)

Do you know how to tell if a website contains reliable information? For one overview of how to evaluate whether a site is trustworthy, see the following, from the Southern Illinois University School of Law Library.

Law-Related Websites

ABA LawInfo
From the American Bar Association, this gateway site is intended for non-lawyers, but provides some good links to legal information. See "The Courts" and "Criminal Justice" links in particular.
Duhaime's Law Dictionary
An online alternative to the usual general legal dictionaries, this site also provides links to dictionaries on particular legal topics (for example, criminal law).
FindLaw
FindLaw is a free site of legal information for the general public. It's "Learn About the Law" section can help you learn the basics of certain legal subjects. To find information more relevant to legal professionals, look for the "Visit our professional site" link near the top right of your screen. There you will find research links and other handy resources.
Justia
Justia, another free site for legal information, includes links to blogs and podcasts and a section on cases currently in the news. Near the bottom of its homepage are links to a group of useful "Key Legal Research Sites."
Law.com
Law.com is part of ALM, the media company that publishes American Lawyer magazine. Aimed specifically at legal professionals, this site offers an extensive collection of legal news, including "special report" sections on current events, such as the Bernie Madoff proceedings.
LII Legal Information Institute (Cornell)
This reliable site is well-known to legal researchers who depend on free sources for legal information. It includes primary law (cases, statutes, rules and regulations) along with important secondary sources, which describe and explain the law.
LLRX.com
LLRX bills itself as a web journal providing all types of legal professionals with information about current technologies affecting them. It also provides some good research sources. See the "Legal Research" links near the top of the right-hand column on your screen.
Oyez (U.S. Supreme Court Media)
The Oyez Project aims "to make the work of the Supreme Court of the United States accessible to everyone through text, images, audio, and video. " Here you will find court cases useful for your research, but also "fun" items such as photo tours of the Court and audio of the "Oyez!" call that opens the Court sessions.

Subject Guide

Patricia Scott

Email Me

Contact:

Director, Law Library & Clinical Professor of Law

Philip H. Corboy Law Center

25 E. Pearson St.

Chicago, IL 60611

(312) 915-8515