LibGuides: Paralegal Resource Guide: Databases

Introduction

The listed law-related databases are also available through the Law Library's Web site. Lexis and Westlaw require user IDs and passwords. The other resources are available to on campus users and to any off campus users who have valid Loyola IDs and passwords.

Subscription Databases (Law)

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline is a searchable full-text, image-based collection of retrospective legal materials divided into distinct "libraries," which include the Law Journal Library, the Federal Register Library, the Legal Classics Library, and more. Documents can be viewed as high quality scanned images of the original print pages, and can be printed or downloaded and saved as PDF files.
IICLE Online Library This link opens in a new window
A searchable online library of publications by the Illinois Institute for Continuing Legal Education (IICLE). Downloadable handbooks, seminar course materials, and QuickGuides make up the bulk of the collection. Many of these publications also contain downloadable forms. IICLE publications are practice-oriented and focus on Illinois law, although federal coverage is included where relevant. IICLE Online Library is only available to current members of the Loyola Chicago Law School community and can only be used for academic (non-commercial) purposes.
Current Loyola law students can register for free IICLE online access (and for other IICLE benefits) by going to the IICLE Law Student Resource Kit page (https://www.iicle.com/student) and creating an account (note that you must use your LUC e-mail account to register).
LexisNexis This link opens in a new window
LexisNexis is a comprehensive legal research system consisting of innumerable legal and business-related databases, which are fully searchable. Primary and secondary materials, including case law, statutes, administrative materials, treatises and more are included. Consult the online directory for a complete list of holdings. Current Law School students and faculty are assigned individual passwords for legal research for educational purposes only.
Practising Law Institute - PLI PLUS This link opens in a new window
PLI PLUS is an ebook platform that provides access to treatises, course handbooks, and answer books on a variety of topics from the Practising Law Institute (PLI), a highly-respected non-profit continuing legal education organization. You can search the collection by keyword, book or chapter title, author, or subject. You can even create a free PLI account (using your LUC email address) to save favorite titles and to highlight and annotate content.
Westlaw This link opens in a new window
Westlaw is a comprehensive legal research system consisting of innumerable legal and business-related databases, which are fully searchable. Primary and secondary materials, including case law, statutes, administrative materials, treatises and more are included. Consult the online directory for a complete list of holdings. Current Law School students and faculty are assigned individual passwords for legal research for educational purposes only.

Subject Guide

Patricia Scott

Email Me

Contact:

Director, Law Library & Clinical Professor of Law

Philip H. Corboy Law Center

25 E. Pearson St.

Chicago, IL 60611

(312) 915-8515