Elder Law Research Guide: Web Resources

The National Legal Resource Center is a collaborative effort developed by the Administration on Aging. Its partners are:
•The American Bar Association Commission on Law and Aging
•The Center for Elder Rights Advocacy
•The Center for Social Gerontology
•The National Consumer Law Center
•The National Senior Citizens Law Center

Justia's elder law web page offers current events, including recently-introduced legislation that would affect seniors, links to state government pages, and some elder law articles online. The site also has a regulation tracker for the Social Security Administration.

Part of Cornell's Legal Information Institute site, the Uniform Uniform Probate Code Locator allows you to find Uniform Probate Laws as well as corresponding state laws. The Uniform Probate Code has been adopted, in substantial part, by 18 states. Numerous states have adopted the Uniform Probate Code in an incomplete form.

A listing of federal government, state government, and association Web sites for elder law resources.

This digital collection contains resources on how the court system handles personal matters from a spectrum of ages. Elder Law topics include elder abuse and resources on probate courts.

"Generations" is the Journal of the American Society on Aging. Selected articles are reproduced online in this ASA blog.

Part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), the mission of AoA is to develop a comprehensive, cost-effective system of home and community-based services to assist elderly people and maintain their health and independence in their homes and communities.

Formed in 1961, and made permanent in 1977, the work of the Senate Committee on Aging often has been a precursor to legislation for the elderly, including Medicare. The Committee's website is user-friendly and has extensive links to resources about issues that affect the elderly.

A Department of Health and Human Services webpage designed to assist people with long-term care planning.

The White House maintains a webpage that reports the progress of Social Security stabilization efforts, as well as news about other issues relevant to the elderly.

The main page for www.usa.gov, lists many topics for the general public. The seniors page links to a very full range of pages, mostly government sites, with information to help answer questions regarding senior citizens health, rights, end-of-life issues, and more.

From this page at USA.GOV, seniors can email a question to the government and get a reply in two business days. There are other methods of communication available on the page, including Facebook and Twitter.

A-Z Index of U.S. Government Departments and Agencies

In this sixth annual Report to Congress, the Department of Justice highlights its efforts to combat elder abuse, neglect, financial exploitation, and fraud from July 1, 2023, to June 30, 2024.

The homepage for Illinois' state agency for the aging.

Elder abuse prevention, legal requirements and services.

Local Illinois government agency links

The Illinois Department on Aging provides links to other agencies, private, and non-profit organizations devoted to elder issues.

Aimed at individuals 50+, AARP probably is the most familiar non-profit that has focused on issues of aging. News, advocacy, consumer information, and discounts are among the services it offers members. The website is informative and links to many resources.

An association whose stated goal is to "support the commitment and enhance the knowledge and skills of those who seek to improve the quality of life of older adults and their families." The ASA's Web site includes a Legal & Ethical Issues page which provides news stories on the latest elder law issues, from assisted suicide rulings to residents’ rights in long-term care.

The Center for Medicare Advocacy has comprehensive information about medicare, and emphasizes news, analysis, and advocacy. The CMA Alerts & Articles page includes the latest Medicare and health care news, items of particular concern to legislators and policymakers, information on all CMA's court cases, CMA Alerts, and commentary on Medicare-related issues.

Based in Ann Arbor, MI, since 1972, "TCSG's mission is to help society adapt to the dramatic increase in the numbers of old and very old, and to insure that older persons at all socio-economic and health levels are able to meet their needs and use their talents and abilities in a changing society."

A national organization that supports advocacy for the elderly, and is an umbrella organization for five founding organizational members: the National Committee for the Prevention of Elder Abuse (NCPEA), the National Academy of Elder Law Attorneys (NAELA), the National Association of State Units on Aging (NASUA), the National Association of Adult Protective Service Administrators (NAAPSA), and the National Association of State Long-Term Care Ombudsman Programs (NASOP).

This guide for older people, caregivers, and relatives was created by Comparitech and includes tips on detection, prevention, and reporting fraud.

Leading Age is 6,000 not-for-profit organizations in the United States, including 39 state partners, as well as businesses, research groups, consumer organizations, foundations, and a global network of service organizations in 30 other countries.

NCALL, a national project of End Domestic Abuse Wisconsin: The Wisconsin Coalition Against Domestic Violence, is committed to creating a world that respects the dignity of older adults and enhances the safety and quality of life of older victims and survivors of abuse.

Includes a listing of NCPC resources aimed at helping seniors prevent themselves from becoming victims of fraud.

The ABA Commission on Law and Aging website has a bounty of information for the public as well as practicing attorneys. The Commission works on a wide range of legal issues affecting older persons, including: Elder Abuse, Guardianship Jurisdiction, Guardianship Law and Practice, Health Decisions, Medicare, Voting, and Cognitive Impairment. The website has helpful videos aimed at elderly consumers, online manuals on specific aging issues, and citations to many published materials.

CDEL was founded by the Chicago Bar Association in 1984 to provide quality pro bono legal services to low-income seniors and persons with disabilities who reside in Chicago and Cook County, Illinois. Volunteer attorneys and paralegals from local law firms and corporations provide most of the legal services CDEL delivers. CDEL staff screens clients and provides training and support to volunteers.

NAELA is the professional association for over 4,000 elder law attorneys in the U.S. The primary focus of the organization is education and advocacy. The website has a member directory accessible by the public, as well as an advocacy information in e-newlsetters "Eye On Elder Issues." NAELA's advocacy issues include the Uniform Guardianship Act, which is featured in the site's advocacy section. The NAELA Journal is available via subscription.

The non-profit National Elder Law Foundation was founded in 1993 to develop the professional competence of lawyers in the area of elder law. The National Elder Law Foundation offers certification of practitioners of elder and special needs law. NELF's Certified Elder Law Attorney designation is certified by the American Bar Association.

A part of the National Center for State Courts, the Center for Elders and the Courts serves as the primary resource for the judiciary and court management on issues related to aging.