Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This general guide to researching state laws covers case research, statutory research (including legislative history research), and administrative research. It does not include specific instructions for researching in particular legal topical areas, or the laws of each of the various states. If you need help researching a particular topic (e.g. Child Law) within a particular jurisdiction, please consider consulting one of our topical research guides as well. If you need help researching Illinois law, please consult the topical research guide titled "Illinois Law."
Access to some of the electronic resources included in this guide is limited to users who have a valid Loyola ID and password; access to other resources is restricted to the law school community only.
Quick Links: State law cases, statutes and administrative regulations
This guide provides numerous access points to each of the three areas of primary authority, as found in the various books, databases and web resources linked to at the tabs above. For quick access to case law, statutory authority and administrative regulations, however, the following provide the researcher with direct links to the official state versions of each area of law.
Case Law from State Court Web Sites
Links to all fifty state court web sites from the database at the National Center for State Courts.
State Constitutions, Statutes & Codes
Links to the constitutions, statutes & codes and related legislative information of all fiftly states. From the Cornell Legal Information Institute.
State Administrative Codes
This alphabetical list of states includes links to online administrative codes and registers for all fifty states. From the Cornell Legal Information Institute.
State Law Links - General
State Legal Resources for the United States - WashLaw Web
Links are arranged by state to statutes, administrative codes, courts, and legislative material.
Law by Source: State (Legal Information Institute)
The LII collection of state legal materials gathers, state by state, Internet-accessible sources of the constitutions, statutes, judicial opinions, and regulations for the fifty states, plus D.C., and the U.S. territories and affiliated jurisdictions.
FindLaw - State Resources
FindLaw is an online community for those interested in law, containing resources for both lawyers and nonlawyers. You can browse by state, and then use the links to find the specific area you are researching.
The State and Local Government Internet Directory
The State and Local Government Internet directory provides convenient one-stop access to the websites of thousands of state agencies and city and county governments.
Uniform and Model Acts - Drafts and Final Acts
Available through the University of Pennsylvania Law School and the National Conference of Commissioners on Uniform State Laws.
Google Scholar Legal Opinions and Journals
Google Scholar now includes U.S. Supreme Court opinions since 1791 and U.S. federal district, appellate, tax and bankruptcy courts since 1923 in its database. The database also includes U.S. state appellate and supreme court cases since 1950. Cases are cited in Bluebook format, include internal page numbers, and are cross-linked within the database. The service also crawls other free case law providers and provides links to cases on these sites.