LibGuides: Trial Advocacy Research Guide: General Sources

About General Sources

This page collects sources that either discuss trial advocacy generally or that contain some discussion of all (or most) aspects of trial advocacy. There are really three types of sources that treat trial advocacy generally: academic works like encyclopedias and multi-volume treatises and treatises, more practical material like one-volume texts, and basic sources/ study aids.

This page has a listing for:

encyclopedias and multi-volume treatises devoted specifically to trial practice,
trial advocacy texts , and
basic sources and study study aids.

The list of trial advocacy texts is divided into two categories: those aimed at students or inexperienced trial lawyers, and those intended for more experienced practitioners.

Trial Practice Encyclopedias and Treatises

The following multi-volume sources provide an in-depth view of trying cases from start to finish.

American Jurisprudence Trials by West Publishing Company
Call Number: Available online via Westlaw
An encyclopedic to the modern practices, techniques, in preparing the trying cases, with modern programs for the handling of all types of information.
Business and Commercial Litigation in Federal Courts 3rd Ed. by Thomson/West
Call Number: Available online via Westlaw
Publication Date: 2011-
This multi-volume treatise covers all aspects of commercial litigation in federal courts. Also includes forms, checklists, jury instructions and other tables.
Federal Litigation Guide by LexisNexis
Call Number: Available online via Lexis
ISBN: 9781579110765
Publication Date: 2013 -
The Federal Litigation Guide is a four-volume federal civil litigation practice guide divided into 50 chapters. It covers federal civil procedure, as well as case law and evidentiary issues from the filing of the complaint through trial and appeal.
Lane Goldstein Trial Technique by Lane, Fred
Call Number: Available online via Westlaw
Publication Date: 1984-
This four-volume loose-leaf treatise offers practice-proven, court-tested litigation methods and techniques with expert commentary on all stages of the trial process. Lane's Goldstein Trial Technique is an extensive resource aimed at the development and refinement of trial technique for attorneys. It provides step-by-step advice and a wealth of “how-to” information, addressing topics sequentially for easy reference.

Trial Advocacy Texts

Texts intended for students and young trial lawyers

These texts are divided into two categories: those books that are intended for students and younger attorneys, and those that are either intended for more seasoned attorneys or that offer particular insight into the field of trial practice. Texts are listed alphabetically by title.

Anatomy of a Trial by Paul Mark Sandler
Call Number: KF 8915 .S24 2014 Law Main Stacks
ISBN: 9781627224536
Publication Date: 2014-12-07
This book is written to give young trial lawyers an appreciation of the real problems encountered during jury trials, and how to effectively handle them. The book examines the key phases of jury trials (voir dire, opening statements, direct and cross-examination, and closing arguments) in the context of two particular cases, one criminal and the other civil.

Also available online via Lexis.
The Art and Science of Trial Advocacy by L. Timothy Perrin; Harry M. Caldwell; Carol A. Chase
Call Number: KF 8915 .P474 Law Main Stacks
ISBN: 1422482235
Publication Date: 2011-03-01
Designed for students or novice trial advocates, this book guides the reader through the trial process, suggesting techniques and strategies for each stage of the trial process - pretrial, trial, and post-trial motions; jury selection; opening statements; direct and cross-examination; and closing arguments.
Elements of Trial Practice by Peter D. Polchinski
Call Number: KF 8915 .P65 Law Main Stacks
ISBN: 1933264691
Publication Date: 2012-01-01
This book will teach you how to select a favorable jury, prepare your witnesses, deliver powerful opening statements, conduct an effective direct examination, cross-examine any witness, introduce exhibits, impeach their witnesses, control consulting experts, and win the case on summation.
The Fine Art of Trial Advocacy: A Young Lawyer's Resource for Success by Paul Mark Sandler
Call Number: KF 8915 .S247 Law Main Stacks
ISBN: 9781639050062
Publication Date: 2022-05-02
The How-to-Win Trial Manual, 6th ed. by Fine, Ralph Adam
Call Number: KF 8915 .F54 Law Main Stacks
ISBN: 9781578233793
Publication Date: 2015
The author shows why the traditional ways to try a case in court are suicidal, and gives extensive examples of such suicidal advocacy by famous, high-profile, well-paid trial lawyers.
In each of His examples, the authorshows how the lawyers could have done a better job. This will help the reader develop winning skills!
Materials in Trial Advocacy by Thomas A. Mauet; Warren D. Wolfson; Steve Easton
Call Number: KF 8915 .Z9 M33 2019 Law Permanent Reserve
ISBN: 9781543805185
Publication Date: 2019-02-04
Often used in conjunction with trial advocacy courses, this book presents a progressive series of problems, cases, and trial files. Older copies can usually be found in the main stacks at the same call number.
Modern Trial Advocacy by Steven Lubet; J. C. Lore
Call Number: KF 8915.L82 Law Main Stacks
ISBN: 9781601564740
Publication Date: 2015-07-01
Modern Trial Advocacy: Analysis and Practice is widely used in law schools throughout the U.S. and in many of NITA's own trial advocacy programs. The author guides the beginning advocate from developing a winning case theory through all phases of trial. He explains how to present a case as a story, and how to tell the story to the jury powerfully and persuasively.
Trial Advocacy Basics by W. Dent Gitchel; Molly Townes O'Brien
Call Number: KF 8915 .G54 Law Main Stacks
ISBN: 155681965X
Publication Date: 2006-02-01
This book provides a complete and concise guide to the beginning trial advocate. It includes practical advice on every stage of trial preparation and practice, from voir dire to verdict. The authors explain trial procedures and techniques in a straightforward manner, using colorful examples, memorable quotes, and humor.
The Trialbook by John O. Sonsteng; Roger S. Haydock
Call Number: KF 8915 .S66 Law Permananet Reserve
ISBN: 1601561040
Publication Date: 2010-01-01
Designed as a trial advocacy text and a resource manual of trial theories and techniques. Offers a thorough approach to the preparation and presentation of a case for trial. Each facet of a trial is systematically discussed and analyzed. Offers the benefit of years of litigation experience. Includes CD-Rom.
Trial Techniques and Trials by Thomas A. Mauet
Call Number: KF8915 .M38 2017 Law Permanent Reserve
ISBN: 9781454886532
Publication Date: 2017-03-01
This book breaks the trial process down into its critical components for better and quicker student comprehension. The author combines the most effective chapters from Trial Techniques and Trials (trial process, the psychology of persuasion, trial preparation and strategy, bench trials) with those from Trials (jury selection, opening statements and closing arguments, direct and cross-examinations).
The Trial Process by Tanford
Call Number: KF8915.T36 Law Main Stacks
ISBN: 1422472213
Publication Date: 2010-01-01
This book introduces students to the essential skills and bodies of knowledge required for competent representation of clients, including highly practical issues such as courtroom etiquette, the psychology of jury trials, ethical considerations, and trial tactics within a legal and procedural framework. Sample transcripts appear throughout the book to directly illustrate how to conduct various stages of a trial, such as voir dire, opening and closing statements, and direct and cross-examination.
Trying Your First Case by Nash E. Long
Call Number: KF 8915 .T79
ISBN: 1627227334
Publication Date: 2014-08-01
This book is a collective work of the Trial Practice Committee of the ABA Section of Litgiation, with the end result being a "how-to" guide to presenting a case at trial.
These texts are intended for more experienced trial practitioners.
Courtroom Persuasion 2d: Winning with Art, Drama and Science by Herman, Russ M.
Call Number: KF 8915 .H45 Law Main Stacks
ISBN: 0314932232
Publication Date: 2009
This guide provides step-by-step guidance through every aspect of trial preparation and presentation. It shows the reader how to use rhetorical styles, psychological principles, and dramatic techniques to formulate a cohesive, winning trial strategy, from client interview through closing argument. It also includes a list of dos and don'ts for opening statements and closing arguments.
Effective Courtroom Advocacy by Joseph F. Anderson
Call Number: KF 8915 .A7553 Law Main Stacks
ISBN: 9781601561244
Publication Date: 2009-10-01
Written from the perspective of an experienced trial judge, Effective Courtroom Advocacy provides practical and insightful advice designed to empower new litigators and inspire seasoned advocates.
Federal Trial Handbook-Civil by Robert Hunter, Stephen Arthur
Call Number: KF 8915 .F43 Law Permanent Reserve
ISBN: 9780314801678
Publication Date: annual
Federal Trial Handbook, Civil, is a practical guide to the preparation and conduct of trials in federal courts. The take-it-to-court reference provides reliable, quick answers to civil trials. It provides detailed guidance on all major procedural and evidentiary issues, including admission and exclusion of evidence.

Also available on Westlaw
Federal Trial Handbook-Criminal by Robert S. Hunter
Call Number: KF 9656 .F43 Law Permanent Reserve
ISBN: 9780314800947
Publication Date: annual
This practical, take-it-to-court guide to the preparation and conduct of trials in federal courts provides reliable, quick answers in criminal trials. It offers detailed guidance on all major procedural and evidentiary issues, including admission and exclusion of evidence, as well as help preparing post-trial motions and appeals.

Also available online via Westlaw
From the Trenches: Strategies and Tips from 21 of the Nation's Top Trial Lawyers by John S. Worden (Editor); American Bar Association, Solo, Small Firm and General Practice Division Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: KF 8915.F76 Law Main Stacks
ISBN: 9781627229418
Publication Date: 2015-12-07
This book brings together legal strategy, psychology, and persuasion theory, and offers a fresh approach to trial preparation, one that focuses on how jurors learn, think, and deliberate.
How to Succeed As a Trial Lawyer by Stewart Edelstein
Call Number: KF 8915 .E34 Law Main Stacks
ISBN: 9781614388012
Publication Date: 2013-12-07
This book contains numerous pearls of wisdom, comprehensively discussing what effective trial lawyers eventually learn "on the job," every aspect of the civil litigation process, from first client meeting through appellate argument.
The Irving Younger Collection by Irving Younger; Stephen D. Easton
Call Number: KF 213 .Y68 E17 Law Main Stacks
ISBN: 1604426004
Publication Date: 2011-07-16
Irving Younger was a legend. His unparalleled wisdom and insight were honed by experience on both sides of the bench, as a law professor and as a prolific legal commentator and educator. This collection from the ABA Section of Litigation is compiled from the Professional Education Group's recordings of Professor Younger's classic continuing legal education programs.
Lessons from the Courtroom by Frank G. Jones
Call Number: KF 8915.J63 Law Main Stacks
ISBN: 1427798591
Publication Date: 2009-05-05
The author takes a look at the changes in the profession over the past 40 years, showing readers where the opportunities are for new attorneys. He then discusses the jury trial system and how attorneys can gain practice both in and out of the courtroom. He also tackles such key issues as working with judges, understanding jurisdictional matters, the nuances of arbitration, and using expert witnesses.
The Litigation Manual: Jury Trials by Weymouth I. Lundquist
Call Number: KF 8972 .L58 Law Main Stacks
ISBN: 9781590318034
Publication Date: 2008-12-16
The book includes the most useful articles from Litigation journal, taking the reader through the steps of a jury trial. Reading the articles will help the reader better understand the processes by which cases are tried, decisions made and justice arrived at in American courts.
Trial Tactics by Saltzburg, Stephen A.
Call Number: KF 8915.S25 Law Main Stacks
ISBN: 1614386498
Publication Date: 2012
Trial Tactics, now in its third edition, provides a road map for the discovery of the many pitfalls and obstacles that must be avoided to achieve ultimate success at trial. To aid the reader, the author frequently illustrates his points by presenting the actual witness examination from the case in point, and then provides a detailed analysis of the legal principals involved.
Trial Techniques for Criminal Cases by Aspatore Books Staff (Compiled by)
Call Number: KF 9656 .T754 Law Main Stacks
ISBN: 0314268227
Publication Date: 2010-08-01
Trial Techniques for Criminal Cases presents the thoughts of leading lawyers on developing a case theory, preparing for trial, and managing client expectations. The authors provide an authoritative, insider's perspective on best practices for defending clients in criminal trials
The Trial Lawyer: What it Takes to Win 2d by David Berg
Call Number: KF 8915 .B448 Law Main Stacks
ISBN: 9781641051101
Publication Date: 2019-09-07
This book covers the key elements of a trial -- persuasion, discovery, jury studies, voir dire, opening arguments, cross examinations, preparing and presenting witnesses and closing arguments. The author shares his thoughts on what it takes to win -- whether winning means a decisive verdict or an extraordinary settlement.
Turning Points at Trial by Westway Publishing (Prepared for Publication by)
Call Number: KF 8915 .R428
ISBN: 9780985027117
Publication Date: 2017-02-01
Thirteen of the greatest lawyers in the country share with you the powerful secrets from their most interesting cases, from depositions to trials to appeals. Take their techniques and apply them immediately in your practice. Unlike other textbooks, Turning Points at Trial uses actual litigation battles that are memorable, not boring hypothetical classroom examples. There are also 447 tips summarized in chapter checklists. In addition, the book's website has related audio and video clips that enhance the lessons that are taught.
Winning Jury Trials by Paul L. Colby; Robert H. Klonoff
Call Number: KF 8922 .K553 Law Main Stacks
ISBN: 1601560281
Publication Date: 2007-01-01
Winning Jury Trials covers a broad spectrum of issues likely to confront the advocate every day, and provides a "default position" on how to resolve most tactical issues arising at trial. This book covers such topics as: which witnesses to call, whether to introduce negative evidence, how to handle marginal evidence, and how to tie everything else—exhibits, opening and closing statements, cross examination—into your evidence.

Basic Sources and Study Aids

These sources provide good starting points for novices. Loyola students, staff and faculty can access these sources, and more, online via the Library's susbcription to West's Study Aids, available via Westlaw.

Evidence in a Nutshell by Paul Rothstein; David Crump; Ronald Coleman
Call Number: Available online via West Study Aids Collection
ISBN: 9781647085681
Publication Date: 2021-11-08
The Fine Art of Trial Advocacy by Paul Mark Sandler
Call Number: KF 8915 .S247 2021 Law Main Stacks
ISBN: 9781639050062
Publication Date: 2022-05-02
The First Trial (Where Do I Sit? What Do I Say?) in a Nutshell by Tracy McCormack; Steven Goldberg
Call Number: Available Online via West Study Aids Collection
ISBN: 9781634602709
Publication Date: 2016-03-18
Pretrial Litigation in a Nutshell by R. Lawrence Dessem
Call Number: Available online via West Academic Study Aids Collection
ISBN: 9781684677443
Publication Date: 2019-12-20
Trial Advocacy in a Nutshell by Paul Bergman
Call Number: Available online via West Study Aids Collection
ISBN: 9781683282211
Publication Date: 2016-11-23
Trial and Lawyering Skills in a Nutshell by Kenney Hegland
Call Number: Available online via West Academic Study Aids Collection
ISBN: 9781634597456
Publication Date: 2015-10-20
Also available online via West's Study Aids Subscription

Subject Guide

Tom Keefe

Email Me

Library Catalog Search Box

Advanced Search