Skip to main content
site header image

Study Aids, Study Skills & Exam Preparation Resource Guide: Study Aids Online

This guide brings together all of the freely-available study and exam preparation resources provided by the Loyola Law School Library for its students. The guide includes links to study aids for more than 30 Loyola courses.

About Study Aids Online

The vast majority of the study aids that the Law Library provides access to are available to students for free online.  If you are looking for a study aid for a particular subject, look at the subject page under either the 1L Study Aids or the 2L and 3L study aids page.  You may also want to look directly at the databases mentioned below to see if there are additional resources for your course. These sources are being updated constantly.

This page highlights the study resources that are freely available to students through the Law Library's subscriptions to West Academic Study Aids Online and Wolters Kluwer Online Study Aids Library. It also includes information about CALI lessons and podcasts and locating sample exams online.

West Study Aids Subscription

The Law Library provides Loyola Law students with expanded access to West's Academic Study Aids Subscription. This service provides online access to hundreds of West publications, including all current Hornbooks, Nutshells, Black Letter Outlines, Gilbert Law Summaries, Exam Pro titles, Audio lectures and much more. If you register for a free West Academic account, you can even highlight text or take notes online. You can search for individual titles in the collection by keyword, or browse by subject, material type, or series. For a brief video introduction to and overview of the West Academic Study Aids collection, click here.

Wolters Kluwer Online Study Aids Library

The Law Library now provides access to Wolters Kluwer Online Study Aids Library. This collection provides on-campus or off-campus access (with a current Loyola Law ID and Password) to hundreds of study aids including Examples & Explanations and the complete Emanuel Law Outline and Crunchtime series. The collection now includes audio and video material. For a brief introduction to and overview of the Wolters Kluwer Online Study Aids Library, click here.

CALI (Center for Computer-assisted Legal Instruction)

CALI, the Center for Computer Assisted Legal Instruction, offers more than 1000 computer-based interactive tutorials that cover narrow topics in the law.  CALI lessons are organized by subject and lesson, and cover most law school courses.  There are more than 40 CALI lessons just on different aspects of civil procedure, for example. Many students like CALI lessons as a study tool because they are guided and because they provide immediate feedback. 

In addition, under the lesson topic of Legal Concepts and Skills, there a number of lessons and podcasts on success in law school and improving exam performance.

CALI lessons are available on the CALI website, http://www.cali.org/lesson. Students must register to access CALI lessons.  The CALI code to register was distributed to first year Loyola Law students at the beginning of the first semester.  If you lost your CALI registration code, please visit the Law Library or email the reference staff at loyolalawreference@luc.edu for a replacement.

Sample Exams

LUC Exams
The Law Library retains copies of professors old exams on the Law Library Services Page, which is available via TWEN.  Sign on to TWEN via Westlaw and add "Law Library Services" course. Not all professors provide old exams to be posted on the Law Library Services page and not all exams are available.  Many professors now provide sample exams directly via a course website so be sure to check there.

Exams from Other Schools
An internet search may reveal sample exams posted by profesors or librarians at other law schools.  FindLaw for Students offers sample exams and outlines listed by school and by subject.  

Subject Guide