LibGuides: Study Aids, Study Skills, &amp; Exam Preparation Resource Guide: Second Semester Subjects

Second Semester Study Aids

This page contains information about study aids available for 1L required classes. Note that this page only contains information for the most up-to-date versions of study aids as found in the three Law Library subscription platforms: West Academic Study Aids, Aspen Learning Library, and LexisNexis Digital Library. All titles are listed in alphabetical order. All titles are listed in alphabetical order.

If you need a description of what each of the commercial titles contain, Click back on the 1L Study Aids homepage for an introduction to commercial study aids.

This page includes study aids for:

Constitutional Law

The following titles are divided by category: audio titles, case briefs, commercial outlines, explanations of the law, and problem-based study aids. A brief description accompanies each title. Titles within each category are listed in alphabetical order.

Commercial Outlines
Black Letter Outline on Constitutional Law by Jerome Barron; C. Dienes; Renee Jefferson
Call Number: West Academic Study Aids Subscription
ISBN: 1685611672
Publication Date: 2022-09-01
Black Letter titles offer both a comprehensive outline and a capsule summary for review. They also help students prepare for final exams with true/false, multiple choice, and essay review questions.
Emanuel Law Outlines for Constitutional Law by Steven L. Emanuel
Call Number: Aspen Learning Library
ISBN: 9781543846447
Publication Date: 2022-01-28
Gilbert Law Summaries on Constitutional Law, 31st by Jesse H. Choper
Call Number: West Academic Study Aids Subscription
ISBN: 9780314276179
Publication Date: 2013-05-02
Titles in this series provide a comprehensive, easy-to-
understand outlines of law. They also include capsule summaries for a condensed overview of the entire subject, and help students prepare for exams with true/false, multiple choice, and essay questions.
Explanations of the Law
Constitutional Law in a Nutshell by Jerome A. Barron
Call Number: West Academic Study Aids Subscription
ISBN: 9781684673285
Publication Date: 2020-01-30
Nutshells provide a brief yet succinct summation of the law.
Constitutional Law by Erwin Chemerinsky
Call Number: KF 4550 .C427 Law Permanent Reserve
ISBN: 9781454895749
Publication Date: 2019-06-17
Titles in the Aspen Student Treatise series are designed to be used alongside a casebook, each treatise provides thorough topical coverage, lucid descriptions and analyses, and systematic treatment of key cases.
Mastering Constitutional Law by John C. Knechtle; Christopher J. Roederer
Call Number: LexisNexis Digital Library
ISBN: 1611633990
Publication Date: 2015-02-09
Titles in the Mastering Series are designed to be easy to read, with key terms emphasized and explained. To facilitate mastery of a topic, Titles include key features designed to improve learning and retention such as aa roadmap with bullet points at the beginning of each chapter, checkpoints at the end of each chapter to facilitate review, and a Master Checklist at the end of the book to reinforce what has been covered.

Also available in print (KF 4550 .K59, Law Permanent Reserve)
Principles of Constitutional Law by Ronald Rotunda; John Nowak
Call Number: West Academic Study Aids Subscription
ISBN: 9781628101195
Publication Date: 2016-06-03
Titles in the Concise Hornbook Series offer much of the information available in a hornbook only in a more convenient size and format.
A Short and Happy Guide to Constitutional Law, 2nd by Mark C. Alexander
Call Number: West Academic Study Aids Subscription
ISBN: 9781642422474
Publication Date: 2019-05-13
Titles in the Short & Happy series offer a concise yet economical explanation of the legal principles, practices, and policies relating to a subject.
Understanding Constitutional Law by William Araiza
Call Number: LexisNexis Digital Library
ISBN: 9781531018719
Publication Date: 2020-10-01
Problem-based Study Aids
Acing Constitutional Law by Russell Weaver; Steven Friedland
Call Number: West Academic Study Aids Subscription
ISBN: 9781636591780
Publication Date: 2021-11-15
The Acing Series titles utilize a checklist format that leads students through the questions they need to ask to fully evaluate the legal problem they are trying to solve.
Examples and Explanations for Constitutional Law: National Power and Federalism by Christopher N. May; Allan Ides; Simona Grossi
Call Number: Aspen Learning Library
ISBN: 9781543850888
Publication Date: 2021-12-30
Each book provides clear explanations of each class topic and features hypotheticals similar to those presented in class, with corresponding analysis which students can use during the semester to test their understanding.
Examples and Explanations for Constitutional Law: Individual Rights by Alan Ides; Christopher N. May; Simona Grossi
Call Number: Aspen Learning Library
ISBN: 9781543850864
Publication Date: 2021-12-30
Emanuel CrunchTime for Constitutional Law by Steven L. Emanuel
Call Number: Aspen Learning Library
ISBN: 9781543846409
Publication Date: 2022-05-20
Each title in this series offers flowcharts and capsule summaries of major points of law and critical issues, as well as exam tips for identifying common traps and pitfalls, and sample exam and essay questions with model answers.
Glannon Guide to Constitutional Law by Brannon P. Denning
Call Number: Aspen Learning Library
ISBN: 9781454898023
Publication Date: 2019-02-12
Each Guide provides an expository review of key points of law and illustrative scenarios, followed by probing multiple-choice questions.
Questions and Answers: Constitutional Law by Paul E. McGreal; Linda S. Eads; Charles W. Rhodes
Call Number: LexisNexis Digital Library
ISBN: 9780769860596
Publication Date: 2017-01-18
This study guide uses over 300 multiple-choice and short-answer questions to test students' knowledge of the nature and operation of the rules that govern procedure in the federal courts in the United States. Each multiple-choice question is accompanied by a detailed answer that indicates which of four options is the best answer and explains why that option is better than the other three options. Each short-answer question (designed to be answered in no more than fifteen minutes) is followed by a thoughtful, yet brief, model answer.

Also available in print (KF 4550 .Z9 M4 Permanent Reserve)

Contracts

The following titles are divided by category: case briefs, commercial outlines, explanations of the law, and problem-based study aids. A brief description accompanies each title. Titles within each category are listed in alphabetical order.

Commercial Outlines
Black Letter Outline on Contracts by Joseph M. Perillo
Call Number: West Academic Study Aids Subscription
ISBN: 9780314926937
Publication Date: 2010-03-25
Black Letter titles offer both a comprehensive outline and a capsule summary for review. They also help students prepare for final exams with true/false, multiple choice, and essay review questions.
Emanuel Law Outlines: Contracts by Steven L. Emanuel
Call Number: Aspen Learning Library
ISBN: 9781454873693
Publication Date: 2023-07-25
Gilbert Law Summaries on Contracts by Melvin Eisenberg; Shawn Bayern
Call Number: West Academic Study Aids Subscription
ISBN: 9780314276193
Publication Date: 2020-10-29
Titles in this series provide a comprehensive, easy-to-
understand outlines of law. They also include capsule summaries for a condensed overview of the entire subject, and help students prepare for exams with true/false, multiple choice, and essay questions.
Explanations of the Law
Chirelstein's Concepts and Case Analysis in the Law of Contracts, 7th (Concepts and Insights Series) by Marvin A. Chirelstein
Call Number: West Academic Study Aids Subscription
ISBN: 9781609303303
Publication Date: 2013-06-03
Titles in this series provide a shorter, more concise conceptual overview of the major subjects in an area of law.

Also available in print (KF 801 .C44 2013 Permanent Reserve)
Contracts (Hornbook) by Joseph M. Perillo
Call Number: West Academic Study Aids Subscription
ISBN: 0314287701
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
Hornbooks explain the law in great depth and broaden students understanding with insights into not only the law’s historical development, but also its contemporary issues and future directions.
Contracts in a Nutshell by Claude Rohwer; Anthony Skrocki; Michael Malloy
Call Number: West Academic Study Aids Subscription
ISBN: 9781647081232
Publication Date: 2022-09-26
Nutshells provide a brief yet succinct summation of the law.
Mastering Contract Law by Irma Russell; Barbara Bucholtz
Call Number: LexisNexis Digital Library
ISBN: 9781611633313
Publication Date: 2011-05-01
Titles in the Mastering Series are designed to be easy to read, with key terms emphasized and explained. To facilitate mastery of a topic, Titles include key features designed to improve learning and retention such as aa roadmap with bullet points at the beginning of each chapter, checkpoints at the end of each chapter to facilitate review, and a Master Checklist at the end of the book to reinforce what has been covered.
Principles of Contract Law by Robert Hillman
Call Number: West Academic Study Aids Subscription
ISBN: 9781636590684
Publication Date: 2023-01-02
Titles in the Concise Hornbook Series offer much of the information available in a hornbook only in a more convenient size and format.
A Short and Happy Guide to Contracts by David G. Epstein; Bruce A. Markell; Lawrence Ponoroff
Call Number: West Academic Study Aids Subscription
ISBN: 9781640207523
Publication Date: 2019-03-18
Titles in the Short & Happy series offer a concise yet economical explanation of the legal principles, practices, and policies relating to a subject.
Understanding Contracts by Jeffrey Ferriell
Call Number: LexisNexis Digital Library
ISBN: 9781531009939
Publication Date: 2018-05-01
The Understanding series offers a concise yet comprehensive analysis of each subject which helps students throughout the semester and as students study for final exams.

Also available in print (KF 801 .Z9 F46 2014 Permanent Reserve)
Problem-based Study Aids
Acing Contracts by Suzanne Darrow-Kleinhaus
Call Number: West Academic Study Aids Subscription
ISBN: 9781642422467
Publication Date: 2022-05-02
The Acing Series titles utilize a checklist format that leads students through the questions they need to ask to fully evaluate the legal problem they are trying to solve.
Examples and Explanations for Contracts by Brian A. Blum
Call Number: Aspen Learning Library
ISBN: 9781543819939
Publication Date: 2021-03-01
Each book provides clear explanations of each class topic and features hypotheticals similar to those presented in class, with corresponding analysis which students can use during the semester to test their understanding.
Also available in print (KF 801 .B58 2013 Permanent Reserve)
Emanuel CrunchTime for Contracts by Steven L. Emanuel
Call Number: Aspen Learning Library
ISBN: 9781454880073
Publication Date: 2016-11-08
Each title in this series offers flowcharts and capsule summaries of major points of law and critical issues, as well as exam tips for identifying common traps and pitfalls, and sample exam and essay questions with model answers.

Also available in print (KF 801 .Z9 E563 2016 Permanent Reserve)
Brain's Exam Pro on Contracts, Essay by Robert Brain
Call Number: West Academic Study Aids Subscription
ISBN: 9780314286048
Publication Date: 2014-01-15
Exam Pro titles contain sample exams (either multiple choice or essay) with detailed answers that help students understand the correct answer while building exam skills.

Also available in print (KF 801 .Z9 B736 2014 Permanent Reserve)
Glannon Guide to Contracts by Theodore Silver; Stephen Hochberg
Call Number: Aspen Learning Library
ISBN: 9781543806878
Publication Date: 2019-02-21
Each Guide provides an expository review of key points of law and illustrative scenarios, followed by probing multiple-choice questions.
Questions and Answers: Contracts by Scott Burnham
Call Number: LexisNexis Digital Library
ISBN: 9781531017989
Publication Date: 2020-09-01
This study guide uses multiple-choice and short-answer questions to test students' knowledge of the nature and operation of the rules that govern procedure in the federal courts in the United States. Each multiple-choice question is accompanied by a detailed answer that indicates which of four options is the best answer and explains why that option is better than the other three options. Each short-answer question (designed to be answered in no more than fifteen minutes) is followed by a thoughtful, yet brief, model answer.

Criminal Law

Commercial Outlines
Black Letter Outline on Criminal Law by Joshua Dressler
Call Number: West Academic Study Aids Subscription
ISBN: 9781684671397
Publication Date: 2019-05-20
Black Letter titles offer both a comprehensive outline and a capsule summary for review. They also help students prepare for final exams with true/false, multiple choice, and essay review questions.
Emanuel Law Outlines for Criminal Law by Steven L. Emanuel
Call Number: Aspen Learning Library
ISBN: 9781543822427
Publication Date: 2021-09-20
Gilbert Law Summary on Criminal Law by George Dix; Leslie Abramson
Call Number: West Academic Study Aids Subscription
ISBN: 9781685613662
Publication Date: 2023-01-20
Titles in this series provide a comprehensive, easy-to-
understand outlines of law. They also include capsule summaries for a condensed overview of the entire subject, and help students prepare for exams with true/false, multiple choice, and essay questions.
Quick Review of Criminal Law by Steve Friedland
Call Number: West Academic Study Aids Subscription
ISBN: 9781634594431
Publication Date: 2018-07-09
These titles provide concise outlines, case illustrations, hypotheticals and questions to help clarify points of law, and examination tips.
Explanations of the Law
Criminal Law by Wayne LaFave; Jens Ohlin
Call Number: West Academic Study Aids Subscription
ISBN: 9781685612337
Publication Date: 2023-06-14
Hornbooks explain the law in great depth and broaden students understanding with insights into not only the law’s historical development, but also its contemporary issues and future directions.
Criminal Law in a Nutshell by Arnold H. Loewy
Call Number: West Academic Study Aids Subscription
ISBN: 9781640201934
Publication Date: 2020-02-10
Nutshells provide a brief yet succinct summation of the law.
Mastering Criminal Law by Ellen Podgor; Peter Henning; Neil Cohen
Call Number: LexisNexis Digital Library
ISBN: 9781611638004
Publication Date: 2015-04-01
The Mastering series offers easy-to-read explanations of the law including key learning features like introductory roadmaps, checkpoints and topical checklists.
Principles of Criminal Law by Wayne LaFave
Call Number: West Academic Study Aids Subscription
ISBN: 9781683285359
Publication Date: 2017-02-17
Titles in the Concise Hornbook Series offer much of the information available in a hornbook only in a more convenient size and format.
A Short and Happy Guide to Criminal Law by Joseph Kennedy
Call Number: West Academic Study Aids Subscription
ISBN: 9781647084219
Publication Date: 2020-08-03
Titles in the Short & Happy series offer a concise yet economical explanation of the legal principles, practices, and policies relating to a subject.
Understanding Criminal Law by Joshua Dressler
Call Number: LexisNexis Digital Library
ISBN: 9781531021733
Publication Date: 2022-03-01
Problem-based Study Aids
Acing Criminal Law by John Burkoff
Call Number: West Academic Study Aids Subscription
ISBN: 9781647082925
Publication Date: 2020-07-07
The Acing Series titles utilize a checklist format that leads students through the questions they need to ask to fully evaluate the legal problem they are trying to solve.
Examples and Explanations for Criminal Law by Richard G. Singer
Call Number: Aspen Learning Library
ISBN: 9781543839364
Publication Date: 2021-09-08
Each book provides clear explanations of each class topic and features hypotheticals similar to those presented in class, with corresponding analysis which students can use during the semester to test their understanding.
Emanuel CrunchTime for Criminal Law by Steven L. Emanuel
Call Number: Aspen Learning Library
ISBN: 9781543822410
Publication Date: 2022-04-19
Each title in this series offers flowcharts and capsule summaries of major points of law and critical issues, as well as exam tips for identifying common traps and pitfalls, and sample exam and essay questions with model answers.
Exam Pro Essay on Criminal Law by John Burkoff
Call Number: West Academic Study Aids Subscription
ISBN: 9780314232953
Publication Date: 2010-02-03
Exam Pro titles contain sample exams (either multiple choice or essay) with detailed answers that help students understand the correct answer while building exam skills.
Exam Pro on Criminal Law (Objective) by John Burkoff; Nancy Burkoff
Call Number: West Academic Study Aids Subscription
ISBN: 9781636593098
Publication Date: 2021-12-27
Exam Pro titles contain sample exams (either multiple choice or essay) with detailed answers that help students understand the correct answer while building exam skills.
Friedman's Criminal Law, Second Edition by Joel Wm Friedman
Call Number: Aspen Learning Library
ISBN: 9781454827535
Publication Date: 2009-06-26
Friedman's Practice Series is keyed to exam preparation with real law school essay exams, model answers, multiple choice questions and academic analysis, and offers students insights into writing essay exams in core courses.
Glannon Guide to Criminal Law by Laurie L. Levenson
Call Number: Aspen Learning Library
ISBN: 9781543839302
Publication Date: 2021-10-21
Each Guide provides an expository review of key points of law and illustrative scenarios, followed by probing multiple-choice questions.
Questions and Answers by Emily Marcus Levine; Paul Marcus
Call Number: LexisNexis Digital Library
ISBN: 9781531022976
Publication Date: 2023-02-16
This study guide uses multiple-choice and short-answer questions to test students' knowledge of the nature and operation of the rules that govern procedure in the federal courts in the United States. Each multiple-choice question is accompanied by a detailed answer that indicates which of four options is the best answer and explains why that option is better than the other three options. Each short-answer question (designed to be answered in no more than fifteen minutes) is followed by a thoughtful, yet brief, model answer.

Subject Guide

Tom Keefe

Email Me