LibGuides: Study Aids, Study Skills, &amp; Exam Preparation Resource Guide: First Semester Subjects

First Semester Classes

This page contains information about study aids available for 1L required classes. Note that this page only contains information for the most up-to-date versions of study aids as found in the three Law Library subscription platforms: West Academic Study Aids, Aspen Learning Library, and LexisNexis Digital Library. All titles are listed in alphabetical order.

Study aids for Legal Writing can be found on the Books tab (and subtabs) of the Legal Writing Guide.

If you need a description of what each of the commercial titles contain, Click back on the 1L Study Aids homepage for an introduction to commercial study aids.

This page includes study aids for:

Civil Procedure

The following titles are divided by category: case briefs, commercial outlines, explanations of the law, and problem-based study aids. A brief description accompanies each title. Titles within each category are listed in alphabetical order.

Commercial Outlines
Black Letter Outline on Civil Procedure by Kevin Clermont
Call Number: West Academic Study Aids Subscription
ISBN: 9781647083441
Publication Date: 2020-10-22
Black Letter titles offer both a comprehensive outline and a capsule summary for review. They also help students prepare for final exams with true/false, multiple choice, and essay review questions.
Emanuel Law Outlines for Civil Procedure by Steven L. Emanuel
Call Number: Aspen Learning Library
ISBN: 9781454899280
Publication Date: 2018-07-18
Emanuel Law Outlines for Civil Procedure, Keyed to Yeazell by John T. Cross
Call Number: Aspen Learning Library
ISBN: 9781454878858
Publication Date: 2016-06-20
Gilbert Law Summary on Civil Procedure by Richard Marcus; Thomas Rowe, Jr.; Steven Gensler
Call Number: West Academic Study Aids Subscription
ISBN: 9781636595993
Publication Date: 2022-07-13
Titles in this series provide a comprehensive, easy-to-
understand outlines of law. They also include capsule summaries for a condensed overview of the entire subject, and help students prepare for exams with true/false, multiple choice, and essay questions.
Explanations of the Law
Civil Procedure (Concepts and Insights Series) by Samuel Issacharoff
Call Number: West Academic Study Aids Subscription
ISBN: 9781685610258
Publication Date: 2022-06-15
Civil Procedure (Hornbook Series) by Jack Friedenthal; Mary Kane; Arthur Miller; Adam Steinman
Call Number: West Academic Study Aids Subscription
ISBN: 9781647082697
Publication Date: 2021-08-26
Hornbooks explain the law in great depth and broaden students understanding with insights into not only the law’s historical development, but also its contemporary issues and future directions.
Civil Procedure in a Nutshell by Mary Kane; Arthur Miller; Adam Steinman
Call Number: West Academic Study Aids Subscription
ISBN: 9781685610142
Publication Date: 2022-08-17
Civil Procedure Stories by Kevin M. Clermont
Call Number: West Academic Study Aids Subscription
ISBN: 9781599413471
Publication Date: 2008-02-29
In the Law Stories Series students will find fascinating behind-the-scenes accounts of landmark cases found in their textbooks.
Mastering Civil Procedure by David Hricik
Call Number: LexisNexis Digital Library
ISBN: 9781531007140
Publication Date: 2017-04-01
Titles in the Mastering series offer an easy-to-read explanation of the law including key learning features like introductory roadmaps, checkpoints and topical checklists.
Principles of Civil Procedure by Kevin M. Clermont
Call Number: West Academic Study Aids Subscription
ISBN: 9781647083458
Publication Date: 2020-10-29
Titles in the Concise Hornbook Series offer much of the information available in a hornbook only in a more convenient size and format.
A Short and Happy Guide to Civil Procedure by Elizabeth Pendo; Erin Fuse Brown; Robert Gatter; Robert McCuskey
Call Number: West Academic Study Aids Subscription
ISBN: 9781685611873
Publication Date: 2022-06-01
Titles in the Short & Happy series offer a concise yet economical explanation of the legal principles, practices, and policies relating to a subject.
Understanding Civil Procedure by Gene Shreve; Peter Raven-Hansen; Charles Geyh
Call Number: LexisNexis Digital Library
ISBN: 9781531005429
Publication Date: 2018-10-01
This student treatise is premised on the assumption that the key to understanding the principles of civil procedure is to know why: why the principles were created and why they are invoked. The treatise is written to answer these questions as it lays out the basic principles of civil procedure.
Problem-based Study Aids
Acing Civil Procedure, 5th by A. Benjamin Spencer
Call Number: West Academic Study Aids Subscription
ISBN: 9781642427011
Publication Date: 2019-06-10
The Acing Series titles utilize a checklist format that leads students through the questions they need to ask to fully evaluate the legal problem they are trying to solve.
Civil Procedure (Friedman's Practice Series) by Joel Wm Friedman
Call Number: Aspen Learning Library
ISBN: 9781454827504
Publication Date: 2009-06-02
Friedman's Practice Series is keyed to exam preparation with real law school essay exams, model answers, multiple choice questions and academic analysis, and offers students insights into writing essay exams in core courses..Test your knowledge of key concepts and rules with comprehensive essay and multiple-choice questions.
Examples and Explanations for Civil Procedure by Joseph W. Glannon
Call Number: Aspen Learning Library
ISBN: 9781543839340
Publication Date: 2023-02-27
Each book provides clear explanations of each class topic and features hypotheticals similar to those presented in class, with corresponding analysis which students can use during the semester to test their understanding.
Emanuel CrunchTime for Civil Procedure by Steven L. Emanuel
Call Number: Aspen Learning Library
ISBN: 9781454899310
Publication Date: 2018-12-06
Each title in this series offers flowcharts and capsule summaries of major points of law and critical issues, as well as exam tips for identifying common traps and pitfalls, and sample exam and essay questions with model answers.
Exam Pro on Civil Procedure by Linda Mullenix
Call Number: West Academic Study Aids Subscription
ISBN: 9781634606837
Publication Date: 2016-09-16
This book consists of five objective exams in civil procedure, containing a total of 125 objective questions. Each exam consists of twenty-five objective problems followed by five multiple-choice answers. Also contains interactive questions via website
Glannon Guide to Civil Procedure by Joseph W. Glannon
Call Number: Aspen Learning Library
ISBN: 9781543805574
Publication Date: 2023-07-12
Each Guide provides an expository review of key points of law and illustrative scenarios, followed by probing multiple-choice questions.
Questions and Answers: Civil Procedure by William Dorsaneo; Elizabeth Thornburg; Brooke Coleman
Call Number: LexisNexis Digital Library
ISBN: 9781531023744
Publication Date: 2022-01-01
Q&A titles provide hundreds of multiple-choice questions and a practice final exam with answers to test a student's knowledge of the law.

Property

Commercial Outlines
Black Letter Outline on Property by Roger H. Bernhardt; Ann Burkhart
Call Number: West Academic Study Aids Subscription
ISBN: 9780314275509
Publication Date: 2012-06-13
Black Letter titles offer both a comprehensive outline and a capsule summary for review. They also help students prepare for final exams with true/false, multiple choice, and essay review questions.
Emanuel Law Outlines for Property by Steven L. Emanuel
Call Number: Aspen Learning Library
ISBN: 9781454878551
Publication Date: 2017-05-24
Emanuel Law Outlines focus on the concepts and issues you need to master to succeed on exams.
They are easy to understand: Each ELO contains comprehensive coverage of the topics, cases, and black letter law found in your specific casebook, but is explained in a way that is understandable.
The Quiz Yourself and Essay Q&A features help you test your knowledge throughout the semester.
Exam Tips alert you to the issues and fact patterns that commonly pop up on exams.
The Capsule Summary provides a quick review of the key concepts covered in the full Outline—perfect for exam review!
Gilbert Law Summaries on Property by James E. Krier
Call Number: West Academic Study Aids Subscription
ISBN: 9780314286062
Publication Date: 2013-08-20
Titles in this series provide a comprehensive, easy-to-
understand outlines of law. They also include capsule summaries for a condensed overview of the entire subject, and help students prepare for exams with true/false, multiple choice, and essay questions.
Gilbert Law Summaries on Future Interests and Perpetuities, 5th by Gilbert Staff
Call Number: West Academic Study Aids Subscription
ISBN: 9780314181169
Publication Date: 2009-11-03
Titles in this series provide a comprehensive, easy-to-
understand outlines of law. They also include capsule summaries for a condensed overview of the entire subject, and help students prepare for exams with true/false, multiple choice, and essay questions.
Sum and Substance Quick Review on Property by Julian Juergensmeyer
Call Number: West Academic Study Aids Subscription
ISBN: 9780314180957
Publication Date: 2012-05-01
These titles provide concise outlines, case illustrations, hypotheticals and questions to help clarify points of law, and examination tips.
Explanations of the Law
The Law of Property (Concepts and Insights Series) by Christopher Serkin
Call Number: West Academic Study Aids Subscription
ISBN: 9781634592994
Publication Date: 2016-03-22
Moynihan's Introduction to the Law of Real Property by Sheldon Kurtz
Call Number: West Academic Study Aids Subscription
ISBN: 9781636591865
Publication Date: 2022-07-14
Hornbooks explain the law in great depth and broaden students understanding with insights into not only the law’s historical development, but also its contemporary issues and future directions.
Law of Property by Dale A. Whitman; Ann M. Burkhart; R. Wilson Freyermuth; Troy A. Rule
Call Number: West Academic Study Aids Subscription
ISBN: 9781640202375
Publication Date: 2019-01-22
Hornbooks explain the law in great depth and broaden students understanding with insights into not only the law’s historical development, but also its contemporary issues and future directions.
Mastering Property Law by Darryl Wilson; Cynthia DeBose
Call Number: LexisNexis Digital Library
ISBN: 9781611635652
Publication Date: 2016-05-25
Titles in the Mastering series offer an easy-to-read explanation of the law including key learning features like introductory roadmaps, checkpoints and topical checklists.
Personal Property in a Nutshell by Barlow Burke
Call Number: West Academic Study Aids Subscription
ISBN: 9781634603379
Publication Date: 2018-03-07
Nutshells provide a brief yet succinct summation of the law.
Principles of Property Law by Sheldon Kurtz; Thomas Gallanis
Call Number: West Academic Study Aids Subscription
ISBN: 9781634607018
Publication Date: 2016-10-06
Titles in the Concise Hornbook Series offer much of the information available in a hornbook only in a more convenient size and format.
Real Property in a Nutshell by Roger Bernhardt; Ann Burkhart
Call Number: West Academic Study Aids Subscription
ISBN: 9781634599207
Publication Date: 2015-11-20
Nutshells provide a brief yet succinct summation of the law.
A Short and Happy Guide to Property, 3D by Paula Franzese
Call Number: West Academic Study Aids Subscription
ISBN: 9781636592879
Publication Date: 2022-03-03
Titles in the Short & Happy series offer a concise yet economical explanation of the legal principles, practices, and policies relating to a subject.
Understanding Property Law by John Sprankling
Call Number: LexisNexis Digital Library
ISBN: 9781531021252
Publication Date: 2023-02-16
This student treatise provides complete coverage of all standard property topics, including landlord-tenant law, adverse possession, rights in personal property, estates and future interests, marital property, land sale transactions, servitudes, nuisance, zoning, takings, and other land use issues;

Analysis of cutting-edge topics, such as property rights in human bodies, current takings issues, the new Restatement (Third) of Property (Servitudes), rights and duties of homeowners' associations, and property rights in personal names and likenesses;
Problem-based Study Aids
Acing Property by Colleen E. Medill
Call Number: West Academic Study Aids Subscription
ISBN: 9781683284499
Publication Date: 2022-03-11
The Acing Series titles utilize a checklist format that leads students through the questions they need to ask to fully evaluate the legal problem they are trying to solve.
Emanuel CrunchTime for Property by Steven L. Emanuel
Call Number: Aspen Learning Library
ISBN: 9781454881650
Publication Date: 2017-06-13
Each title in this series offers flowcharts and capsule summaries of major points of law and critical issues, as well as exam tips for identifying common traps and pitfalls, and sample exam and essay questions with model answers.
Exam Pro Objective Questions on Property by Peter T. Wendel
Call Number: West Academic Study Aids Subscription
ISBN: 9780314180704
Publication Date: 2007-10-05
The book consists of eight examinations in property, containing a total of 200 objective questions. Virtually all of these questions are actual, final exam questions (some originally in essay form) which are being released for the first time.
Glannon Guide to Property by James Charles Smith
Call Number: Aspen Learning Library
ISBN: 9781543802979
Publication Date: 2022-11-01
Each Guide provides an expository review of key points of law and illustrative scenarios, followed by probing multiple-choice questions.
Examples and Explanations for Property by Barlow Burke; Joseph Snoe
Call Number: Aspen Learning Library
ISBN: 9781543857627
Publication Date: 2023-05-12
Each book provides clear explanations of each class topic and features hypotheticals similar to those presented in class, with corresponding analysis which students can use during the semester to test their understanding.
Questions and Answers: Property by John Copeland Nagle
Call Number: LexisNexis Digital Library
ISBN: 9781531021047
Publication Date: 2023-02-01
This study guide uses over 300 multiple-choice and short-answer questions to test students' knowledge of the nature and operation of the rules that govern procedure in the federal courts in the United States. Each multiple-choice question is accompanied by a detailed answer that indicates which of four options is the best answer and explains why that option is better than the other three options. Each short-answer question (designed to be answered in no more than fifteen minutes) is followed by a thoughtful, yet brief, model answer.

Torts

Commercial Outlines
Emanuel Law Outlines: Torts by Steven L. Emanuel
Call Number: Aspen Learning Library
ISBN: 9781454852377
Publication Date: 2015-07-28
Note: There is also an Emanuel Outline for Torts that is keyed toward the Prosser, Wade and Schwartz textbook
Gilbert Law Summary on Torts by Marc Franklin; W. Cardi; Michael Green
Call Number: West Academic Study Aids Subscription
ISBN: 9781685612528
Publication Date: 2023-05-26
Titles in this series provide a comprehensive, easy-to-
understand outlines of law. They also include capsule summaries for a condensed overview of the entire subject, and help students prepare for exams with true/false, multiple choice, and essay questions.
Black Letter Outline on Torts by Edward Kionka
Call Number: West Academic Study Aids Subscription
ISBN: 9780314275523
Publication Date: 2013-09-20
Black Letter titles offer both a comprehensive outline and a capsule summary for review. They also help students prepare for final exams with true/false, multiple choice, and essay review questions.
Quick Review of Torts by Lawrence Levine
Call Number: West Academic Study Aids Subscription
ISBN: 9781647083557
Publication Date: 2022-06-24
These titles provide concise outlines, case illustrations, hypotheticals and questions to help clarify points of law, and examination tips.
Explanations of the Law
Hornbook on Torts by Dan Dobbs; Paul Hayden; Ellen Bublick
Call Number: West Academic Study Aids Subscription
ISBN: 9781628101478
Publication Date: 2015-12-29
Hornbooks explain the law in great depth and broaden students understanding with insights into not only the law’s historical development, but also its contemporary issues and future directions.
Mastering Tort Law by Russell Weaver; Edward Martin; Andrew Klein; Paul Zwier, II; John Bauman
Call Number: LexisNexis Digital Library
ISBN: 9781531003623
Publication Date: 2023-02-01
Titles in the Mastering series offer an easy-to-read explanation of the law including key learning features like introductory roadmaps, checkpoints and topical checklists.
Principles of Tort Law by Marshall Shapo
Call Number: West Academic Study Aids Subscription
ISBN: 9780314285621
Publication Date: 2016-03-01
Titles in the Concise Hornbook Series offer much of the information available in a hornbook only in a more convenient size and format.
A Short and Happy Guide to Torts by Roger Schechter
Call Number: West Academic Study Aids Subscription
ISBN: 9781636591100
Publication Date: 2021-08-13
Titles in the Short & Happy series offer a concise yet economical explanation of the legal principles, practices, and policies relating to a subject.
Torts in a Nutshell by Edward J. Kionka
Call Number: West Academic Study Aids Subscription
ISBN: 9781684673261
Publication Date: 2020-10-12
A clear, concise, current, and authoritative explanation of all of the most important U.S. tort law doctrines, including those covered in first-year torts courses in law schools. Coverage includes tort law origins and objectives; causation; strict liability; negligence liability and defenses; intentional tort liability and defenses; special liability rules (premises liability, products liability, employers, etc.); damages; tort and contract; immunities; wrongful death and survival; defamation; privacy; misrepresentation.
Understanding Torts by John L. Diamond; Lawrence C. Levine; Anita Bernstein
Call Number: LexisNexis Digital Library
ISBN: 9781531023447
Publication Date: 2023-08-17
Comprehensive and up-to-date coverage of intentional torts, privileges, negligence, cause-in-fact, proximate cause, defenses, joint and several liability, damages, strict liability, products liability, economic torts, malicious prosecution, abuse of process, defamation, and invasion of privacy; Judicious use of footnotes to provide full, but not overwhelming, primary and secondary support for textual propositions; Clear organization and writing to enhance understanding of basic concepts and major cases covered in a torts course; and In-depth analysis of topics that generate the greatest confusion and controversy.
Problem-based Study Aids
Acing Tort Law by Shubha Ghosh
Call Number: West Academic Study Aids Subscription
ISBN: 9781647082956
Publication Date: 2022-08-10
The Acing Series titles utilize a checklist format that leads students through the questions they need to ask to fully evaluate the legal problem they are trying to solve.
Crunchtime: Torts by Steven Emanuel
Call Number: Aspen Learning Library
ISBN: 1454840951
Publication Date: 2015-08-07
Each title in this series offers flowcharts and capsule summaries of major points of law and critical issues, as well as exam tips for identifying common traps and pitfalls, and sample exam and essay questions with model answers.
Examples and Explanations for the Law of Torts by Joseph W. Glannon
Call Number: Aspen Learning Library
ISBN: 9781543817102
Publication Date: 2020-02-04
Each book provides clear explanations of each class topic and features hypotheticals similar to those presented in class, with corresponding analysis which students can use during the semester to test their understanding.
Exam Pro on Torts (Objective) by John Bauman; Ronald Eades
Call Number: West Academic Study Aids Subscription
ISBN: 9781647083816
Publication Date: 2021-03-29
Exam Pro titles contain sample exams (either multiple choice or essay) with detailed answers that help students understand the correct answer while building exam skills. It also contains interactive practice questions
Friedman's Torts, Second Edition by Joel Wm Friedman
Call Number: Aspen Learning Library
ISBN: 9781454827597
Publication Date: 2009-09-24
Friedman's Practice Series is keyed to exam preparation with real law school essay exams, model answers, multiple choice questions and academic analysis, and offers students insights into writing essay exams in core courses.
Glannon Guide to Torts by Richard L. Hasen
Call Number: Aspen Learning Library
ISBN: 9781543819885
Publication Date: 2020-06-10
Each Guide provides an expository review of key points of law and illustrative scenarios, followed by probing multiple-choice questions.
Questions and Answers: Torts by Anita Bernstein
Call Number: LexisNexis Digital Library
ISBN: 9781531005016
Publication Date: 2023-05-25
This study guide uses over 300 multiple-choice and short-answer questions to test students' knowledge of the nature and operation of the rules that govern procedure in the federal courts in the United States. Each multiple-choice question is accompanied by a detailed answer that indicates which of four options is the best answer and explains why that option is better than the other three options. Each short-answer question (designed to be answered in no more than fifteen minutes) is followed by a thoughtful, yet brief, model answer.