Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
General Legal Information Sites and Resources
This research guide covers resources available in the Law Library and online which are either freely available, or when so indicated, available to members of the Loyola law school community with a valid Loyola ID and password.
General Legal Information Sites on the Internet
These helpful sites provide links to a variety of free and subscription databases granting access to a wide range of legal research resources, including primary and secondary authority at the state and federal level.
Google Scholar Legal Opinions and Journals
Google Scholar now includes U.S. Supreme Court opinions since 1791 and U.S. federal district, appellate, tax and bankruptcy courts since 1923 in its database. The database also includes U.S. state appellate and supreme court cases since 1950. Cases are cited in Bluebook format, include internal page numbers, and are cross-linked within the database. The service also crawls other free case law providers and provides links to cases on these sites. In addition to case law, Google scholar provide
Legal Information Institute - Cornell University Law Library
Cornell's Legal Information Institute site provides links to all three types of primary authority at both the state and federal levels. It also features access to uniform laws (inlcuding the Uniform Commercial Code) and world law. It also provides access by subject.
WashLaw Web provides users with links to law-related materials on the Internet. Generally speaking, the information is arranged alphabetically, by subject, and by geographic location. All links on WashLaw Web are maintained by staff members of the Washburn University School of Law Library.
Note - as of June 1, 2019, WashLaw Web is no longer being updated.
HeinOnline includes such valuable collections as: Legal Classics, Law Journal Library, U.S. Supreme Court Library, U.S. Federal Legislative History Library, Treaties and Agreements Library and much more! Also available in HeinOnline, are several unique a-la-carte collections, including: U.S. Congressional Documents, Foreign & International Law Resources Database, World Trials, Session Laws and many more. All are available for download in PDF format.
Access to this electronic resource is limited to users with Loyola IDs and passwords, or through on-campus access.
Wex - Free Legal Dictionary and Encyclopedia
Wex is a free legal dictionary and encyclopedia sponsored and hosted by the Legal Information Institute at the Cornell Law School. Wex entries are collaboratively created and edited by legal experts.
LLRX (Law Library Resource Exchange)
Legal Research news, and comprehensive research guides on a wide-ranging variety of topics.
Oriented to the pro se, legal do-it-yourselfer, a layperson's guide to legal problems. Free legal information, law books, legal software, and legal forms— and when you need extra help, Nolo's unique lawyer directory.