New Books Guide: Summer 2024 New Books

BREAK THE WHEEL takes the reader through different solutions that will make way for a defining, generational moment of racial reckoning and social justice understanding. The murder of George Floyd sparked global outrage. At the center of the conflict, the controversy and the trial, Keith Ellison grappled with how to bring justice for Floyd and his family, and now, in the pages of this important book, aims to find the best approaches to put an end to police brutality once and for all. Each chapter of BREAK THE WHEEL works through a different spoke of the tragedy and its cause. hile it may seem like an unattainable goal, BREAK THE WHEEL demonstrates through Ellison's analysis of George Floyd's life, alongside rich historical context, that lasting change can be achieved with informed solution.

Special signed copy, donated by the author.

This book discusses equal access to justice and combines theoretical, empirical and practical analysis of procedural law.

In The Whiteness of Wealth, the author draws on decades of cross-disciplinary research to show that tax law isn't as color-blind as she'd once believed. She takes us into her adopted city of Atlanta, introducing us to families across the economic spectrum whose stories demonstrate how American tax law rewards the preferences and practices of white people while pushing Black people further behind. From attending college to getting married to buying a home, Black Americans find themselves at a financial disadvantage compared to their white peers. The results are an ever-increasing wealth gap and more Black families shut out of the American dream. Solving the problem will require a wholesale rethinking of America's tax code. But it will also require both Black and white Americans to make different choices. This actionable book points the way forward.

This handbook defines an approach to considering social justice in intellectual property law and regulation. Top scholars in the field offer surveys of social justice implementation in patent, copyright, trademarks, trade secrets, rights of publicity, and other major IP areas. Chapters define Intellectual Property Social Justice theory and include recommendations for reforming aspects of IP law and administration to further social justice by providing better access, more inclusion, and greater empowerment to marginalized groups.

This book brings 'voices from the street' into the debate over the legal and non-legal protection of street art and graffiti. Drawing on ethnographic research and fieldwork, the book highlights insider perspectives and examines how copyright laws are perceived within street art and graffiti subcultures.

This incisive and thought-provoking book examines the regulation of cryptocurrency trading by state and federal financial services regulators in the US, in order to understand why these statutes proved to be ineffective in regulating this new asset class. It further analyzes and evaluates pending proposals in Congress for more effective cryptocurrency regulation.

This book traces the evolution of consumer data privacy laws in the US through a historical lens, and then sets out the current state of play. The author describes how privacy laws benefit corporate interests, and highlights the deficiencies of the present approach to the surveillance economy. In looking to the future, the author advocates a radical new way of thinking about the goals and tools of privacy law and provides a roadmap for avoiding privacy nihilism by rejuvenating public governance and protecting privacy in the digital age.

The fourth edition of Housing Policy in the United States refreshes its classic, foundational coverage of the field with new data, analysis, and comparative focus. This landmark volume offers a broad overview that synthesizes a wide range of material to highlight the significant problems, concepts, programs and debates that all define the aims, challenges, and milestones within and involving housing policy.

Model Rules of Professional Conduct, 2024 Edition, is the resource for current information on lawyer ethics. Federal, state, and local courts in all jurisdictions look to the Rules for guidance in resolving lawyer malpractice cases, disciplinary actions, disqualification issues, sanctions questions, and much more.

The Great Canadian Art Fraud Case takes readers back to 1962, a time when forgeries were turning up on gallery walls, in auction houses, and (unwittingly) being hung in the homes of luminaries across Canada. Lavishly illustrated with more than 100 reproductions and archival images, this book unravels the mystery of the greatest art fraud trial in Canadian history. Along the way, it also tells the story of a talented artist whose career might have been so very different.

This book is a collection of voices that persist in a profession that still lags behind in hearing them. We share these stories because the profession is enriched by the stories and the lawyers who tell them. This book is a form of virtual mentoring to build up the next generation of woman advocates so that they, too, may add their stories. In this book, we provide information about the status of women in the legal profession, and stories about identifying and overcoming bias and the hidden hazards in the practice of law, for men and women, while addressing the business of law. The stories in this book then go on to explain the value of being true to ourselves, establishing unique career paths, and finding guideposts and beacons to help enlighten us along the way to success

In jury trials, the judge at the end of the trial issues jury instructions on the various charges that the jury has to consider in determining a verdict. These jury instructions can originate from official committees of the highest court of the state, state bar associations, or individuals. It is also possible for the lawyers in the case to present to the judge their own jury instructions that the court must determine whether they will use them or not. In this research guide, the author covers federal and state jury instructions.

In a conversational and descriptive fashion, DeStefano provides detailed instructions on how to get teams to proactively collaborate and innovate with a process she developed over the years. The 3-4-5 Method helps teams move from problem to innovative solution in 3 Phases, over 4 months or less, in 5 Steps. With real examples, this handbook brings to life how to help teams collaborate on solving problems or seizing opportunities of any kind and yield a higher level of collaboration, inclusivity, creative thinking, and actionable results.

What is "the waiter pivot"? It's an alternative approach to trial advocacy that embraces a paradigm shift in jury psychology and teaches attorneys how to surprise, disarm, and persuade modern jurors. In essence, the smart lawyer's attitude is, "Hello, I'll be one of your waiters for the trial. May I start you off with a helpful graphic?"

This volume brings together the work of leading international scholars across criminology, sociology, political science, and law - along with contributions from reform-minded practitioners - to examine a variety of issues in prosecutorial performance and the institutional structures that frame their behavior. The power of the modern prosecutor arises from several features of the criminal justice landscape: widespread use of law and order political rhetoric; legislatures' embrace of extreme sentencing ranges to respond to voter concerns; and the uncertain or limited accountability of prosecutors to other units of government, the electorate, the bar, or other political and professional constituencies. The chapters in this volume identify the founding texts, discuss leading theoretical and methodological approaches, explain the scope of unresolved issues, and preview where this field is headed.

The First National Vaccine Law Conference: Papers and Proceedings contain manuscripts that reflect the spirit of the conversations and presentations featured at the National Vaccine Law Conference (NVLC), held in September of 2022. This book captures and shares the thought leadership of conference organizers, speakers, and other vaccine law and policy experts.

This book underscores the significance of arbitration, especially in contexts where specialist arbitrators are needed, or business secrets must be safeguarded. It delves into the nuances of arbitration for international parties seeking neutral forums, underpinned by the New York Convention's enforceable awards. It also notes the benefits and pitfalls of arbitration in more controversial areas like business-to-consumer and employment contracts. The book also sheds light on the emergence of online arbitration (OArb), catalyzed by the COVID-19 pandemic and advancements in technology. The text explores OArb's promise and pitfalls, including discussion of AI, blockchain, and the metaverse in arbitration. The book also includes an appendix of OArb protocols that have developed in recent years, as well as providing guidance for arbitrators and arbitration counsel navigating this technological shift, addressing concerns such as cybersecurity and uneven access to technology

All of us, including the most elevated, sometimes make unwise decisions related to conflict and difficult situations. Such choices can lead to missed opportunities, suboptimal agreements, and impaired relationships, and even to the fear, hatred, anxiety, polarization, and violence that infuse and infect much of today's world. In this book, Leonard Riskin—law professor, mediator, and mindfulness teacher—helps us understand how and why this happens and what we can do about it, through a new framework that integrates negotiation, mindfulness, and internal family systems. Drawing on decades of practice, research, and teaching, this book extends Riskin's influential writings and brings new insights to accepted ideas about negotiation. It could help anyone deal better with others, or with themselves.

The new revised and expanded 4th edition includes hundreds of legal research and legal bibliography terms defined with extensive cross-references.

Writing for Dollars, Writing to Please seeks to change public and legal writing—by making the ultimate case for plain language. The book gathers a large body of evidence for two related truths: using plain language can save businesses and government agencies a ton of money, and plain language serves and satisfies readers in every possible way.

Artificial intelligence (AI) is becoming increasingly more prevalent in our daily social and professional lives. Although AI systems and robots bring many benefits, they present several challenges as well. The autonomous and opaque nature of AI systems implies that their commercialisation will affect the legal and regulatory framework in the European Union. In this second edition various chapters have been updated to reflect recent developments in the field.

This book offers an insightful and essential guide to the scientific questions that are shaping humanity's present and future. Presenting a collection of academic essays written by prominent scholars, it addresses the major legal issues concerning AI: its impact on a wide range of human behavior and the general legal response, including questions on AI and legal personhood; responsibility, liability and culpability in the age of AI; the challenges AI poses for intellectual property regimes; human rights challenges; and AIs impact on jus ad bellum and jus in bello.

The Right to Identity and Access to Information on Genetic Origin and Parentage explores the right to identity from an international human rights perspective and compares the national regulations of states that have waived donor anonymity. It describes different legal paths to discover or establish one’s genetic origins. In addition to legal analyses, the book includes findings from psychological research on the experiences of (intending) parents, donor-conceived people and donors. Moreover, this book not only delves into the theoretical framework, but, additionally, assesses the practices of counselling, registration and providing information, and DNA databases.

The ABCs of the UCC is a series of primers, which cut out the convoluted discussion that often accompany legal literature to provide the basic concepts and operations of the Code articles' in a simple, straightforward style. This book explains in a simplified yet comprehensive way the law of letters of credit as codified in revised UCC Article 5.

Eighteen essays reflect diverse perspectives on the meaning of and policy about free speech and intellectual diversity at universities: whether the First Amendment applies on campus, what principles underlie free speech, does free speech matter without a diversity of intellectual perspectives, does free speech promote or inhibit inclusiveness?

This book provides a new conceptual model for considering constitutional rights from a comparative perspective. This book argues that constitutional scholarship and doctrine, across jurisdictions, has proceeded from an inarticulate premise called 'default verticality.' This is based on a set of underlying philosophical assumptions, which presumes that constitutional rights are presumptively applicable against the State, and need special justification to be applied against private parties. Departing from default verticality and its assumptions, this book argues that constitutional rights should apply horizontally between private parties where the existence of an economic, social, or cultural institution creates a difference in power between the parties, and allows one to violate the rights of the other. The institutional approach aims to be both theoretically convincing, as well as a providing a workable model for constitutional adjudication. It applies both to classic issues such as restrictive covenants, as well as cutting-edge contemporary legal problems around the regulation of platform work and the distribution of property upon divorce. This promises to be an exciting new contribution to the global conversation around constitutional rights and private power.

This study presents detailed data and commentary on library plans and operations from 43 law libraries in the United States and Canada. The report gives detailed data on the extent to which librarians and professionals in their parent organizations are working from home, on the impact of the pandemic on the flow of traffic to the library, and on communications methods for relating to online library patrons and staff.