LibGuides: Intellectual Property Research Guide: Trademark

Getting Started-Trademark

This page contains basic information about the primary sources for federal and Illinois trademark law.

For information about accessing cases, regulations, or statutes relating to trademark go to the "Databases" tab and select the relevant resource.

For databases for searching pending, registered, abandoned, or cancelled trademarks, go to "IP Applications/Registrations."

For secondary sources, such as books or articles, go to the "Books" or "Journals" tabs.

For websites of agencies or entities involved in, or websites about, trademark, go to the "Web Resources" tab.

Federal Lanham Act
15 U.S.C. 1051-1141
USCA, Call No. KF 62 .W4
USCS, Call No. KF 62 1972 .L38
For databases with the statute, go to the above link.
Illinois Trademark Registration and Protection Act
765 ILCS 1036/1 et seq.
West's Illinois Compiled Statutes Annotated, Call No. KFI 1230 1993 .A4
Lexis's Illinois Compiled Statutes Annotated, Call No. KFI 1230 1993 .A42
For databases with the statute, go to the above link.
Illinois Counterfeit Trademark Act
765 ILCS 1040/0.01 et seq.
West's Illinois Compiled Statutes Annotated, Call No. KFI 1230 1993 .A4
Lexis's Illinois Compiled Statutes Annotated, Call No. KFI 1230 1993 .A42
For databases with the statute, go to the above link.
Trademark Regulations
Title 37 of the Code of Federal Regulations
CFR, Call No. KF 70 .A3
The link above is to the eCFR at the Government Publishing Office (GPO). For access to the CFR through other databases, go to the "Databases" tab and select "Regulations."
Trademark Manual of Examination Procedure
Includes rules for filing and maintaining trademark applications and registrations.
Trademark Trial and Appeal Board Manual of Examination Procedure
Includes Trademark Trial and Appeal Board rules for trademark opposition and cancellation actions.