LibGuides: Faculty Services Guide: Access to Subscription Databases

Subscription Databases at the Law Library

In addition to Bloomberg Law, Lexis-Nexis, and Westlaw, the Law Library subscribes to a number of licensed electronic legal resource databases. A complete list of these databases is available on our Law Library Electronic Resources A-Z page. Faculty can access these resources through the Loyola network, or remotely through proxy access. Please contact Joe Mitzenmacher at 312-915-6844, jmitze1@luc.edu, with any questions concerning access to our licensed databases.

This page contains links to:

Popular Law Library Resources

Below are links to some of the Library's most popular electrronic resources

Bloomberg Law This link opens in a new window
Bloomberg Law is a full-service legal research service that provides access to U.S. federal and state primary law, Bloomberg BNA commentary and analysis, news, company information, dockets, and more. Current Law School students and faculty are assigned individual passwords which permit full access to the site's content year-round (including during the summer months) and for six months after graduation, with no academic use restrictions.
CALI This link opens in a new window
CALI (Computer Assisted Legal Instruction) is a collection of interactive lessons authored by law professors and librarians. Over 1,300 lessons, covering more than 40 different legal subject areas, are included. To use CALI, you must obtain our Law School's "authorization code" from Joe Mitzenmacher, Reference and Electronic Services Librarian (jmitze1@luc.edu or x5-6844). Follow the "Not a registered user yet?" link on the CALI website, and use our authorization code to register for your own CALI username and password.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline is a searchable full-text, image-based collection of retrospective legal materials divided into distinct "libraries," which include the Law Journal Library, the Federal Register Library, the Legal Classics Library, and more. Documents can be viewed as high quality scanned images of the original print pages, and can be printed or downloaded and saved as PDF files.
Law eCommons This link opens in a new window
Loyola's Law eCommons provides free access to research, scholarship, and creative works created by the Loyola Law community for the benefit of Loyola students, faculty, staff, and the larger academic community. The Law eCommons will provide access to both published and unpublished works, including journal articles, conference papers, presentations, creative works, theses and dissertations, audio & video, and teaching materials.

Law Library Research Guides

LexisNexis This link opens in a new window
LexisNexis is a comprehensive legal research system consisting of innumerable legal and business-related databases, which are fully searchable. Primary and secondary materials, including case law, statutes, administrative materials, treatises and more are included. Consult the online directory for a complete list of holdings. Current Law School students and faculty are assigned individual passwords for legal research for educational purposes only.
Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
The Loyola Library catalog allows you to search for books, direct links to online journal articles (including articles in HeinOnline), and direct links to treatises in Westlaw and Lexis. You can also use the catalog to find materials that have been placed on course reserve, and to request books from the other Loyola Libraries.
Practising Law Institute - PLI PLUS This link opens in a new window
PLI PLUS is an ebook platform that provides access to treatises, course handbooks, and answer books on a variety of topics from the Practising Law Institute (PLI), a highly-respected non-profit continuing legal education organization. You can search the collection by keyword, book or chapter title, author, or subject. You can even create a free PLI account (using your LUC email address) to save favorite titles and to highlight and annotate content.
VitalLaw (Wolters Kluwer/CCH) This link opens in a new window
VitalLaw is the new Wolters Kluwer legal research platform, fully replacing Cheetah as of November 1, 2021. VitalLaw provides easy access to statutes, cases, administrative agency materials, and secondary source materials from the following practice areas: Antitrust, Banking & Consumer Finance, Bankruptcy, Energy & Environment, Government Contracts, Health Care, Intellectual Property, Litigation, Products Liability & Insurance, Securities, Corporate Law, and Transportation. VitalLaw usage is limited to current Loyola Law faculty, students, and staff for academic (i.e. non-commercial) purposes only.
For more information on using VitalLaw, you can refer to the VitalLaw Quick Start Card, available at https://tinyurl.com/vitallawquickstart.
Westlaw This link opens in a new window
Westlaw is a comprehensive legal research system consisting of innumerable legal and business-related databases, which are fully searchable. Primary and secondary materials, including case law, statutes, administrative materials, treatises and more are included. Consult the online directory for a complete list of holdings. Current Law School students and faculty are assigned individual passwords for legal research for educational purposes only.
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
WorldCat, a database within the OCLC FirstSearch collection of research databases, is a catalog of library holdings in libraries around the world. It contains millions of records and is an excellent source for identifying books, articles and other materials that you would like to request through interlibrary loan.

Westlaw, Lexis, and Bloomberg Law Password Help

Forgotten your password, or having access problems? Generally the fastest response will result from calling the Customer Support line at the appropriate service. For Westlaw OnePass (Username and Password) questions, the number is 1-800-WESTLAW. When prompted, select the option "Are you calling about your OnePass". For Lexis Username and Password questions, the number is 1-800-45 LEXIS (53947). For Bloomberg Law Username and Password questions, the number is 1-888-560-BLAW (2529). You can also contact our account representatives:

Elan Kleis (Westlaw), at elan.kleis@ThomsonReuters.com
Scott Bernstein (Lexis), at scott.bernstein@lexisnexis.com
Colin Caleb (Bloomberg Law), at ccaleb@bloombergindustry.com

Electronic Resources via LUC Libraries

The main Web page for Loyola University Libraries provides access to many additional subscription databases. You can search their listings by title (alphabetically), subject, or type of database (e.g. journal index, e-book collection). You can also use their e-journal finder to determine if electronic access to a particular journal is available through one (or more) of their database subscriptions.

Law Library

Image of third floor of the Law Library

Address

Loyola University Chicago
School of Law Library
Philip H. Corboy Law Center
25 E. Pearson Street
Chicago, IL 60611

Email

Access and borrowing questions:
Law-Library@luc.edu
Research questions: LoyolaLawReference@luc.edu

Phone Numbers

Main: 312.915.7200
Circulation: 312.915.6986
Reference: 312.915.7205
Interlibrary Loan: 312.915.7202
Fax: 312.915.6797