Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Access to Legal Scholarship Online and in Print
Most major U.S. journals specifically devoted to legal scholarhip are available via the Library's subscription to HeinOnline, or as otherwise indicated. To access HeinOnline from off campus you must have a valid Loyola user ID and password. There are a number of free portals to law journal content as well, as noted in the Free Electronic Journal Sources Section. Our print law journals are located on the 4th floor of the Law Library arranged alphabetically by title. Law School faculty can request that the Library’s copy of current issues of print periodicals be routed to them. Please contact your Library Liaison to arrange for a title to be routed to you.
Access to Law Review Articles through HeinOnline
HeinOnline provides access to more than 1,700 law and law-related periodcials. Coverage is from the first issue published up through the most-currently published issue allowed based on contracts with publishers. Therefore, in some cases the current issues are available, but sometimes a user will notice a one-volume delay. Searching can be done by title or author name, and full-text searching of the whole collection or selected periodicals is also an option. A key benefit is the ability to download, print and e-mail the archived articles in PDF format. For additional assistance, HeinOnline's Web site includes this Quick Reference Guide to the Law Journal Library (PDF).
Keyword, Author & Title Indexes to Law Review Articles
These indexes and databases provide author, subject and title access to the vast array of published and online legal scholarship.
Law Reviews and Journals - Westlaw
Clicking on this link will bring you to WestlawNext's database containing documents from law reviews and journals from U.S. and Canadian-based publications. You can search in all sources, or narrow sources by publication title. jurisdiction, topic or practice area. Use the "Law Reviews & Journals Index" (right side of the screen) to find a journal by its title.
Law Reviews and Journals - LexisAdvance
The easiest way to search law reviews in LexisAdvance is to run a search in the main search box on the initial LexisAdvance screen and then go to the filtering options on the left-hand side of the screen and then narrow results by category "law reviews and journals". To see a list of all law reviews and journals, choose "Browse" pull-down from the top black ribbon on the initial screen, and then choose sources by category and then "secondary material". From there, go to the left-hand side of the screen and select "more" under the category box. Finally, select "Law reviews and Journals".
Law Reviews and Journals - Bloomberg Law
To view a list of law reviews available in Bloomberg Law, from the "Search & Browse/All Legal Content" page (linked above), click the plus sign for "U.S. Secondary Sources", then click "Law Reviews & Journals". To search a journal (or journals), click on its title.
Legal Resource Index (Electronic Companion to Current Law Index) (LRI)
The Westlaw LRI database contains documents from the Legal Resource Index, which contains cover-to-cover indices to articles that have appeared in over 850 journals from the United States, Canada, Great Britain, New Zealand and Australia. The print version of this publication, Current Law Index, is available in the Reference Area on the Third Floor of the Law Library at Call No. K 33 .C87 for dates prior to June 2009.
Social Science Reseach Network
The SSRN Legal Scholarship Network is an electronic archive of legal scholarship which aims to facilitate the distribution of scholarly information related to law, economics, and business scholars.
Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals
The IFLP is a multi-lingual index to some 500 legal journals published worldwide. It provides in-depth coverage of public and private international law, comparative and foreign law, and the law of all jurisdictions other than the United States, the U.K., Canada, and Australia.
Legal Blogs ("Blawgs")
A blog is a log or journal of chronological entries (called “posts”) by an individual, a group or an institution, made available at a particular site on the Internet. (N.b. Legal blogs are sometimes referred to as “blawgs”). Blogs or blawgs may include a variety of types of articles such as commentary on recent decisions, analyses of legal issues in the news, or lists of the author's favorite web links. In any event, a consensus is emerging that blawgs are having a transformative impact on the world of legal scholarship, due to their ability to allow for the rapid, unfiltered dissemination of legal ideas. When a “hot topic” legal issue erupts, bloggers are the first to provide reactions, suggest lines of inquiry and provide perspective. Because many blawgs allow comments, they also serve as a virtual “faculty lounge” or coffeeshop, where ideas can be floated, inflated, debated and punctured, sometimes in raucous, freewheeling fashion.
ABA Journal - Blawg Directory
A comprehensive directory of continually updated law blogs. Searchable by topic, author type, region, law school, or court.
Justia Blawg Search
A directory of popular law blogs, with links to blogs by category, a list of most popular blogs, and a legal blog search engine.
Law Professor Blogs
Law Professor Blogs is a network of web logs ("blogs") designed from the ground-up to assist law professors in their scholarship and teaching. Each site focuses on a particular area of law and combines both (1) regularly-updated permanent resources and links, and (2) daily news and information of interest to law professors. Our editors are leading scholars and teachers who are committed to providing the web destination for law professors in their fields.
The Legal Scholarship Blog
The go-to site for listing conferences, calls for papers and workshops.